Chevron Left
Voltar para Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python da instituição Universidade Ludwig-Maximilians de Munique (LMU)

4.7
estrelas
247 classificações
93 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Interested in learning how to solve partial differential equations with numerical methods and how to turn them into python codes? This course provides you with a basic introduction how to apply methods like the finite-difference method, the pseudospectral method, the linear and spectral element method to the 1D (or 2D) scalar wave equation. The mathematical derivation of the computational algorithm is accompanied by python codes embedded in Jupyter notebooks. In a unique setup you can see how the mathematical equations are transformed to a computer code and the results visualized. The emphasis is on illustrating the fundamental mathematical ingredients of the various numerical methods (e.g., Taylor series, Fourier series, differentiation, function interpolation, numerical integration) and how they compare. You will be provided with strategies how to ensure your solutions are correct, for example benchmarking with analytical solutions or convergence tests. The mathematical aspects are complemented by a basic introduction to wave physics, discretization, meshes, parallel programming, computing models. The course targets anyone who aims at developing or using numerical methods applied to partial differential equations and is seeking a practical introduction at a basic level. The methodologies discussed are widely used in natural sciences, engineering, as well as economics and other fields....

Melhores avaliações

MF
26 de Nov de 2019

A fascinating teaching technique, delivering quality content with a well-thought quizzes system! It' hard to find better courses in the domain of Finite Difference and Spectral Element methods

RM
11 de Jul de 2020

This is an excellent course as I have found. The instructor has taught us many important concepts including the detailed codes. I would love to join further courses from Prof. Igel.

Filtrar por:

76 — 92 de 92 Avaliações para o Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python

por Richard A P R

19 de Dez de 2019

Great Teacher

por Souvik M

28 de Mar de 2019

GREAT COURSE

por ANKUR W

9 de Abr de 2019

GOOD

por Michail V

17 de Fev de 2021

The video lectures are very well made and great effort is made to present concepts in an understandable way. The existence of the Jupyter notebooks greatly compliment the course's objectives. There is a lot of content and the author gives initiative to examine the given code with the follow along videos. The material is quite extensive and if someone wants to get into more details in certain parts they might be unsatisfied. However the course gives a good outlook of the methods contained.

por Luca B

14 de Mai de 2020

Overall, a nice overview of numerical methods to solving PDEs. Most positive aspects of the course: relatively concise, implementation-oriented. Most negative aspects of the course: examples all focused on wave equation + some concepts introduced too fast in the second half of the course.

por Semeon A

27 de Mai de 2020

The high quality course - videos with thoughtful presentation at the background and well explained Jupyter notebooks in Python. Topics beyond the course are mentioned in the last video in the best traditions of a good serial season. Waiting for the next season!

por Robert H

27 de Out de 2019

Overall an excellent introduction. The Jupyter notebooks are a great format for these sorts of demonstrations. I do feel that the Finite/Spectral element segments would be more clear if they explained the mathematical derivations in more detail.

por Mike C

19 de Ago de 2019

It was a very interesting class on numerical methods. I think it can be improved if homework assignment were given to help reinforce the lectures. The material was taught in a logical order and I enjoyed the overview of each method.

por Christian C

21 de Out de 2020

As someone who had prior but not so strong introduction to numerical methods, this course helped me bridge the gap between theory and implementation in code. Personally, I think the programming exercises are too few.

por Kanishk B

5 de Jul de 2020

I liked how the course was structured and well curated. However I feel it can be improved with more intuitive explanations of the numerous mathematical concepts introduced.

por Nguyen D T

25 de Mai de 2019

A nice course for learning numerical methods. Though it requires a little advanced calculus but python codes are clear and understandable.

por Mauricio D V r

8 de Out de 2019

It was a great course. I think you should had included the lambda parameter into the elastic wave propagation.

por Peter D O

21 de Jun de 2019

Excellence course delivery with practical applications.

por Saul M

27 de Abr de 2021

Great, learner-friendly introduction to the subject

por Amine O

15 de Mar de 2021

some parts of the courses should be broken down into smaller steps or at least add links to a pdf document where the demonstration /solution is broken down into easy-to-follow steps. so videos had mistakes that were corrected after they were played, I found this distracting, you could just redo the video or edit it on the spot rather than later.

I liked the tone and clarity of Heiner explanations, I loved the visual interpretations of the mathematical concepts. I can see that there was much more knowledge he could deliver which was outside of the scope of this course. and I think he should, the beauty of online courses is that it could branches to as much fundamental concepts as the leaner is willing to take.

por Martin F J

10 de Jan de 2021

There should be some PDF notes of the equations, you cannot expect people to memorize and learn all the quiz topics. With PDF notes I would have given 2-3 stars more, sorry, but that's how it is. As an engineer with some background in the field and some training, I however completed. But this is what you need to do, if you want better satisfaction, sorry.

por EKANSH C

1 de Fev de 2021

The course could have been extended for longer duration so that the topics could have been explored in detail, specifically the math behind the Spectral element method. Further, having no coding background makes it really hard to implement the math into codes. Hence, the coding part also requires extended focus.