Chevron Left
Voltar para Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python da instituição Universidade Ludwig-Maximilians de Munique (LMU)

4.7
estrelas
246 classificações
93 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Interested in learning how to solve partial differential equations with numerical methods and how to turn them into python codes? This course provides you with a basic introduction how to apply methods like the finite-difference method, the pseudospectral method, the linear and spectral element method to the 1D (or 2D) scalar wave equation. The mathematical derivation of the computational algorithm is accompanied by python codes embedded in Jupyter notebooks. In a unique setup you can see how the mathematical equations are transformed to a computer code and the results visualized. The emphasis is on illustrating the fundamental mathematical ingredients of the various numerical methods (e.g., Taylor series, Fourier series, differentiation, function interpolation, numerical integration) and how they compare. You will be provided with strategies how to ensure your solutions are correct, for example benchmarking with analytical solutions or convergence tests. The mathematical aspects are complemented by a basic introduction to wave physics, discretization, meshes, parallel programming, computing models. The course targets anyone who aims at developing or using numerical methods applied to partial differential equations and is seeking a practical introduction at a basic level. The methodologies discussed are widely used in natural sciences, engineering, as well as economics and other fields....

Melhores avaliações

MF
26 de Nov de 2019

A fascinating teaching technique, delivering quality content with a well-thought quizzes system! It' hard to find better courses in the domain of Finite Difference and Spectral Element methods

RM
11 de Jul de 2020

This is an excellent course as I have found. The instructor has taught us many important concepts including the detailed codes. I would love to join further courses from Prof. Igel.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 92 Avaliações para o Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python

por Manuela B

16 de Out de 2020

Thank you very much! This was an amazing and very clear course. I will use the python codes in my research when possible.

por Revanth S K

8 de Mai de 2020

This course is really great, a great way to get a basic understanding and the differences between all the methods.

por Frederico T D

25 de Fev de 2019

I already know that I will learn a lot even though I am an undergrad. ( FTD from Colorado School of Mines)

por Muhammad L M

5 de Out de 2020

Great insight for the application of numerical approximation and improving the capability in programming

por ARIJIT C

23 de Ago de 2020

An excellent course towards gaining knowledge in the domain of computational physics. Must recommended

por Pradeep B

21 de Mai de 2020

It is a bit complicated but very effectively conveys the maths behind the computational simulations

por Vivek K G

2 de Abr de 2019

The course was highly enlightening. Go to learn a great deal from the course. Thanks to coursera !!

por sreenath

17 de Jun de 2020

Amazing and well-structured course. Theory, mathematical explanations, and python are well taught.

por Vadim K

14 de Mai de 2020

Very clear exposition of motivation of the numerical methods and of the corresponding mathematics!

por gil a

27 de Ago de 2019

Fun, interactive, and well explained. A very good introduction to numerical wave simulations

por Javier A L E

28 de Nov de 2020

Great course, more in depth than others and great way to introduce yourself into the topic

por Soumya S

26 de Dez de 2019

The course is very well structured and Dr. Heiner Igel explained the concepts well.

por Enkuneh C

11 de Ago de 2019

A two thumbs up coarse! I wish it continues!

Thank you Pr. Dr. Heiner Igel

por Bhuvneshwari S

31 de Mai de 2020

Great learning of numerical methods and wave simulation using python.

por Fahdi M

8 de Nov de 2019

Amazing as Prof Igel can make complex concept easy to understood.

por A G

21 de Jul de 2020

Very interesting course. Looking forward to more courses by LMU.

por Abhishek K

3 de Mar de 2020

i learnt many of the things which i don't know.Thank you sir

por Omar B

15 de Mar de 2020

I really loved the course. It is very didactic. Thank you!

por Pongthep

21 de Out de 2019

The most intuitive materials in numerical method in waves.

por Nithish V K

12 de Ago de 2020

Amazing And Learned a lot from this course

por Luis A D R

1 de Jan de 2020

Great class, teach by a great professor.

por B.VEGESH

15 de Jul de 2020

super I learnt a lot . good course

por Arijit S

18 de Set de 2019

very clear lectures...

por Angela S

12 de Jun de 2020

Excellent course!

por Akash K

6 de Mai de 2020

Excellent course