Chevron Left
Voltar para Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python da instituição Universidade Ludwig-Maximilians de Munique (LMU)

4.7
estrelas
246 classificações
93 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Interested in learning how to solve partial differential equations with numerical methods and how to turn them into python codes? This course provides you with a basic introduction how to apply methods like the finite-difference method, the pseudospectral method, the linear and spectral element method to the 1D (or 2D) scalar wave equation. The mathematical derivation of the computational algorithm is accompanied by python codes embedded in Jupyter notebooks. In a unique setup you can see how the mathematical equations are transformed to a computer code and the results visualized. The emphasis is on illustrating the fundamental mathematical ingredients of the various numerical methods (e.g., Taylor series, Fourier series, differentiation, function interpolation, numerical integration) and how they compare. You will be provided with strategies how to ensure your solutions are correct, for example benchmarking with analytical solutions or convergence tests. The mathematical aspects are complemented by a basic introduction to wave physics, discretization, meshes, parallel programming, computing models. The course targets anyone who aims at developing or using numerical methods applied to partial differential equations and is seeking a practical introduction at a basic level. The methodologies discussed are widely used in natural sciences, engineering, as well as economics and other fields....

Melhores avaliações

MF
26 de Nov de 2019

A fascinating teaching technique, delivering quality content with a well-thought quizzes system! It' hard to find better courses in the domain of Finite Difference and Spectral Element methods

RM
11 de Jul de 2020

This is an excellent course as I have found. The instructor has taught us many important concepts including the detailed codes. I would love to join further courses from Prof. Igel.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 92 Avaliações para o Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python

por ASHISH C

9 de Abr de 2019

Had a great time learning the concepts of numerical methods and how to apply them using python. This course gave an insight into many real world problems and how their solution can be approached using numerical techniques.

Thank you very much sir.

por M V S

25 de Jul de 2020

Such an amazing Instructor, hats of to you sir. It was such a nice experience to do this course, the lecture videos are very lucid and I am really happy to learn a wide variety of numerical methods along with the ability to code it in python.

por Tejas j

25 de Abr de 2021

This was a great introduction to numerical methods! Prof. Heiner Igel did a fantastic job of making the course the right balance between approachable and rigorous. The python labs were insightful and great learning tools. Highly recommended!

por Mohammad

4 de Ago de 2020

One of the best online courses I've ever had. It helped me to learn concepts of numerical analysis in the area of wave propagation , dynamics and seismology , special thanks to Dr.Heiner Igel and Coursera for this state-of-the-art course !

por Doreen B

9 de Jun de 2019

Very clear explanations, and visually striking. Python parts well thought out- both in their content, accompanying videos and notebook implementation. Of all the courses I have taken online, this makes the best use of the medium.

por Sergio Z

25 de Mar de 2021

A great course, substantial, rigorous, and highly enjoyable. A well-balanced mix of theory and practice, leading to the spectral element method in 1D. Nice Python implementations, an excellent presenter, highly recommended !!

por José A H d G

25 de Mai de 2020

A highly recommended course to enter in the basics of numerical simulation. Good explanations, clear Python codes and Prof. Igel always ready to answer the questions. Hope to see the next part (discontinuous Galerkin) soon.

por Дмитрий М

25 de Mai de 2019

Very good course as an introduction into methods used in solving wave equation numerically. As for me, there were too little maths, especially in the last weeks. Probably it's right, because not everyone is good at it.

por Esteban F G L

24 de Dez de 2019

An impressive and compelling lecture. meaningful introduction to different sort of numerical methods that could help to solve different real problems, it is really notewhorthy that is very dynamic and entertaining.

por Le L

8 de Jul de 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Professor Igel has done an great job putting all this material together. All concepts are very well explained . The python notebooks are well documented and completes.the theory.

Thanks!

por Malcolm W

24 de Jun de 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Concepts are explained simply and the Jupyter notebooks are a lot of fun to play with. One criticism is the few typos found in the course, but they are quite minor. Thanks!

por jorge g

2 de Ago de 2020

This is a very useful course that helps to wrap up the knowledge acquired in advanced lectures during the master's program. Professor Igel is a good lecturer who knows how to transmit his knowledge.

por Bin C

23 de Ago de 2020

Very good Course to get an Overview over Numerical Methods with a lot of examples and additional content! I highly recommend this course as a teaching assistant in fields of numerical methods!

por Alejandro V

20 de Ago de 2020

¡Fantástico curso introductorio! Muy bien explicado por parte del profesor, muy buenas libretas de Python y, no menos importante, despierta las ganas de aprender más.

Muy recomendado

por Rakesh m

12 de Jul de 2020

This is an excellent course as I have found. The instructor has taught us many important concepts including the detailed codes. I would love to join further courses from Prof. Igel.

por Yerson L

11 de Ago de 2020

An excellent course highly recommended, but be careful, its level is quite advanced, it requires knowledge of python, partial differential equations and advanced numerical methods

por Junyi L

29 de Mar de 2020

I really learned a lot of basic ideas and mathematical knowledge of numerical methods, and realized corresponding algorithms to solve research problems through python.

por gkkclouds

18 de Jun de 2019

This course teaches me systematically the all kinds of methods to solve the wave-equation of the derivative form. And I want to know the all answers of the tests.

por Alan D

17 de Jul de 2020

Excellent course for people wishing to learn about different numerical approaches for wave propagation. Python Notebooks really add to the learning experience.

por 葉政凱

21 de Dez de 2019

This course is a great introduction to numerical methods.

I hope that Dr. Igel will provide more courses on writing effective code for numerical methods.

por Juan Z

30 de Set de 2020

Truly useful and challenging due to the mixture of concepts. Really made me integrate knowledge I had before about numerical methods and mathematics.

por Thomas D

26 de Jun de 2020

A very practical introduction. The later weeks are very dense, but useful for those starting out with FEM methods and need a good primer.

por Yitao H

9 de Abr de 2019

This is a great course for intro to numerical course with additional bonus on python code, although a little bit too fast pace.

por Andre S

22 de Out de 2020

Although the mathematical formulation & codes are hard to grasp, I really enjoy and feel challenged by this course. Thank you!