Chevron Left
Voltar para Computer Simulations

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Computer Simulations da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.7
estrelas
32 classificações
10 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Big data and artificial intelligence get most of the press about computational social science, but maybe the most complex aspect of it refers to using computational tools to explore and develop social science theory. This course shows how computer simulations are being used to explore the realm of what is theoretically possible. Computer simulations allow us to study why societies are the way they are, and to dream about the world we would like to live in. This can be as intuitive as playing a video game. Much like the well-known video game SimCity is used to build and manage an artificial city, we use agent-based models to grow and study artificial societies. Without hurting anyone in the real world, computer simulations allow us explore how to make the world a better place. We play hands-on with several practical computer simulation models and explore how we can combine hypothetical models with real world data. Finally, you will program a simple artificial society yourself, bottom-up. This will allow you to feel the complexity that arises when designing social systems, while at the same time experiencing the ease with which our new computational tools allow us to pursue such daunting endeavors....

Melhores avaliações

QB
18 de Out de 2020

Very useful course for learning basics of ABM and NetLogo programming. We went over many variations of Sugarscape model and got some good insights on what ABM is.

TL
23 de Abr de 2020

Very good course with great explanations. The wordings on questions of the quizzes could have been clearer.

Filtrar por:

1 — 10 de 10 Avaliações para o Computer Simulations

por Miguel C

17 de Set de 2020

What a magnificent way to (almost) wrap up this specialization! While the first courses were a tad bit more theoretical, this is the one I've enjoyed the most. It was not only highly theoretical, but also highly functional in showing ways of modeling (in pretty accurate ways) social events and even societies. This will indeed prove to be a useful tool for my current and future jobs.

por Jesús P

28 de Set de 2020

Ha sido un excelente curso. Se complementa muy bien con los demás y permite la adquisición de conocimientos fundamentales y el comienzo de un entrenamiento necesario para los científicos sociales con una herramienta muy interesantes como lo es NetLogo.

por Ernesto E

20 de Out de 2020

I learned a lot from this course. This is the very foundation of AI and NLP and the most important course to really understand its relationship to the empirical, analytical, and theoretical areas of research.

por Quji B

19 de Out de 2020

Very useful course for learning basics of ABM and NetLogo programming. We went over many variations of Sugarscape model and got some good insights on what ABM is.

por Teshan L

24 de Abr de 2020

Very good course with great explanations. The wordings on questions of the quizzes could have been clearer.

por Mina S

4 de Nov de 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It was very interesting!

por Diego A P P

15 de Ago de 2020

Excellent course. A complex topic explained simply.

por Swarn

26 de Fev de 2020

Great class! I learned so much in this course!

por Efraim J R B O

9 de Out de 2020

Great Course!

por Zack K

21 de Set de 2020

The content and the insight from this course is amazing. I would strongly recommend this course for anyone working as a Data Scientist or working in theory in the social sciences. However, there are a couple videos and content that need to be edited and re-published, which makes some of the content hard to follow.