Chevron Left
Voltar para Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Computational Thinking for Problem Solving da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.7
estrelas
981 classificações
338 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Melhores avaliações

J
18 de Dez de 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW
3 de Fev de 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 337 Avaliações para o Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

por C D

25 de Nov de 2018

Excellent! Best computational thinking course and introduction to python that I've ever come across. I never imagined I would be able to grasp the concepts of Algorithmic complexity but was finally able to get it and so much more through this course. It covers all the essentials and is very well done.

por Anne

5 de Jul de 2021

This course noticeably expanded my approach to problem solving. I especially like how the courses uses real world problems, and then gives you the conceptual tools to be able to solve these problems on your own. The labs and peer reviews are a great addition to make sure you really know your stuff.

por Akash K B

23 de Set de 2019

The teachings that i experience here is way too different from Indian online education system .

Coursera is more developed and skill enhancer to the one who is beginner and want to learn with minimum pressure in a different way.

Thanks to Coursera (Computational Thinking for problem solving).

por EDGAR V

19 de Out de 2019

This was a great class to improve analytical thinking and problem-solving skills. I enjoyed the opportunity to learn a new logical way to see the world and to rewire my thinking process. Thank you for a compelling and engaging class. I look forward to keeping learning about computer science.

por Michael L

18 de Jan de 2019

An amazing course that teach the way of computational thinking behind our works of programming. It may not be the best and absolute way to analyze for every problems and difficulties, but at least it provide a way which how we use this sort of thinking to simplify and focus on the problems.

por Edward W

13 de Jan de 2020

Very well thought-out course. I have some experience with Python from other courses which definitely helped, but I found this course very interesting in 'stepping back & seeing the bigger picture' i.e. how to think about problems using algorithms. Highly recommended, I learnt lots.

por Samuel B

16 de Mar de 2019

Great Introduction to thinking about how to think about and structure basic coding structures like loops. I've learned syntax several times, but never quite understood the practical meaning behind it. The flow charts in this course are awesome for developing a great understanding,

por Jeremy R

4 de Jan de 2021

Fantastic course! I'm not a CS major but I've been in the industry several years and still took a lot from this. The way the breakdown in "computational thinking" was described was fantastic and is certainly something I will carry forward in my future problem solving endeavors.

por Kathleen O

29 de Mai de 2020

Really useful course if you are learning to code or if understanding how the coding process works would help you in your job or study. Generally teaches good problem solving processes too. The presenters are engaging and the activities are interesting. Good job, Penn.

por Monica C

3 de Jan de 2021

This was an incredibly helpful course and thorough introduction to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving. It was both challenging and rewarding. Because of this course, it inspires me to continue learning in this area and pursue opportunities in this field.

por Miguel S M

28 de Set de 2019

Very thorough starter course. I especially loved the composing algorithms , translating to pseudocode and coding into python exercises in the final week. While occasionally tricky, thinking through an exercise and finally solving it is satisfying. Thank you Upenn!

por jamcinty

28 de Ago de 2020

Great course! Ive got a degree in economics as well as nursing and wanted to get my feet wet as I'm thinking of switching careers. This course was fun and definitely a little challenging at the end. I would recommend it and can't wait to pick my next class.

por Carmen M

16 de Nov de 2018

To think what a difference just a few weeks can make… thank you for awakening a desire in us propelling us forward into the world as computational thinking evangelists!

Know that you will be challenged, but true satisfaction awaits at the end-- priceless!!

por Yan L

28 de Mai de 2019

Very excellent introduction course, especially for the concept of computational thinking. The contents are well-organized and easy to follow as a beginner. The MCIT program sounds like a good track to keep the learning process. I will definitely apply it!

por Mouad B

9 de Jul de 2020

This course really gave more confidence to write code, i even discovered that i can solve problems and detect bugs in my code with a little time and focus, one of the best courses i have taken online, and would recommend to everyone, literally everyone

por David R G

13 de Jan de 2019

The coding challenges were tough for me. I have some python experience from prior to the course but I’m really just still beginning to learn it. I don’t find coding to be intuitive yet, but I enjoy figuring out how to use it to solve a problem.

por Darran W

15 de Ago de 2019

Great introduction and application of computational thinking and dabbling in Python, the pacing was gradual to build upon the complexity required, and the instructors were both engaging and intellectually honest for this introductory course.

por Yongchao Q

22 de Jun de 2019

Fabulous course. I truly like how the content was structured and the instructor's approach of delivering theoretical concepts with real-life examples. Highly recommend for anyone who wants to have some basic understanding of computing:-)

por Ross T

7 de Jul de 2019

Great course! I highly recommend this to anyone who is interested in getting started with computer science or computer programming. This course provides a good introduction to the thought processes and concepts used in these fields.

por ZHAO Y

6 de Jul de 2020

I like week 4 particularly, because it compresses the basics of python into one week. I really like to see the outcomes of programming. In this way, I can see the outcomes immediately instead of starting with the "hello world" stuff.

por Alan R

30 de Mar de 2020

I thought this course was great. The progression from manual deconstruction of a problem all the way to coding the problems in python was great. The lectures were very interesting and were easy to relate to real world situations.

por marc l

15 de Jun de 2020

Sometimes you feel lonely, but this is a really agreeable experience once you figuring out, I recommend this introduction course for those who seek to catch a glimpse of the power of computer sciences and information technologies.

por Rushy R

24 de Set de 2019

A very good beginners course to learn how to take a computational approach to solving problems. For those who come from a non CS backgrounds and want to learn programming, this class is a great starting place, highly recommend!

por Xinyi C S

10 de Set de 2019

In the course, I learned how to solve real world problems with computational thinking principles. I feel that I have accomplished a lot since I was able to write a python program solving a complex problem after this course.

por Theodore P

9 de Jul de 2020

I very much loved the layout of the course and the method of delivery. As a deaf individual, I very much enjoyed the ability to read the lecture as the video played. A truly multi-dimensional sensory experience. Thank you!