Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Complex Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Complex Analysis da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.8
639 classificações
195 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course provides an introduction to complex analysis which is the theory of complex functions of a complex variable. We will start by introducing the complex plane, along with the algebra and geometry of complex numbers, and then we will make our way via differentiation, integration, complex dynamics, power series representation and Laurent series into territories at the edge of what is known today. Each module consists of five video lectures with embedded quizzes, followed by an electronically graded homework assignment. Additionally, modules 1, 3, and 5 also contain a peer assessment. The homework assignments will require time to think through and practice the concepts discussed in the lectures. In fact, a significant amount of your learning will happen while completing the homework assignments. These assignments are not meant to be completed quickly; rather you'll need paper and pen with you to work through the questions. In total, we expect that the course will take 6-12 hours of work per module, depending on your background....

Melhores avaliações

RK

Apr 06, 2018

The lectures were very easy to follow and the exercises fitted these lectures well. This course was not always very rigorous, but a great introduction to complex analysis nevertheless. Thank you!

GC

Mar 21, 2017

With this wonderful complex analysis course under your belt you will be ready for the joys of Digital Signal Processing, solving Partial Differential Equations and Quantum Mechanics.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Complex Analysis

por Mohammed F

Apr 11, 2019

VERY HELPFUL

por Sydney D L

Mar 30, 2019

Very good professor, explain things in details and make me understand many concepts.

por Kwag, N

May 14, 2019

Good and very helpful for letting me do my best. I knew lots of the complex analysis.

por Napoleon C

Jun 09, 2019

I loved this course! I wish there is following one with more advanced (research) topics!

por Antonio L I

Jun 26, 2019

Excellent teacher!

por Shift E

Jul 12, 2019

It wasn't too fast or slow, and the questions were nice and challenging!

por Peter K

Jul 14, 2019

I learned a lot of new things in this course, and it's fun

por guofei

Jul 23, 2019

Very helpful!

por Nobody A

Aug 03, 2019

This course was very enjoyable and I feel like I learned a lot about complex analysis. I just wish it were longer!

por Alessio E

Aug 12, 2019

Nice course. Teacher explains very well.

por Purvaash P U

Aug 10, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed the course :)

por Cyril C

Jun 15, 2019

Great course and great overall introduction to complex analysis.

por Arturo A S

Sep 02, 2019

It is been a helpfull course for me.

por Samopriya B

Jun 12, 2016

Wonderful. I have been waiting for this course for some time. It begins somewhat basic, and progresses really fast, to cover some deep topics in complex analysis theory. Also, the instructor, Prof. Petra Bonfert-Taylor, does a very good job at explaining concepts simply, by not being too pedantic (e.g., with the topological preliminaries). Overall, really satisfied and grateful!

por Marcin B

Nov 08, 2019

Petra Bonfert-Taylor did a great job constructing this course. Her video lectures are clear and easy to follow. I took this course because I had lousy instructors at the university and this course filled the gap. There are a lot of examples and exercises where you actually have to do a lot of counting and playing with mathematical expressions. Much less focus is put on proofs, although some simple proofs are presented and sometimes the instructor outlines the main ideas behind other formal proofs. It may be beneficial to follow a standard textbook on complex analysis along with the online course. Last thing, the course is not easy. Unless you already have substantial experience with complex analysis prepare to study intensively. My experience is that it is important to re-do on your own all material covered during lectures. And indeed, without a good background on calculus and some general mathematical fluency, this course would be hard to complete.

por Bojan B

May 07, 2017

Really good course, covers the topics I expected and wanted and at a depth that was good for gaining understanding without getting too deep. This is exactly what I wanted for the amount of time I had each week.

por Raymond M

Aug 21, 2019

Enjoyable. There seemed to be a few math rendering errors in some of the assignments. The homework assignments involving peer review were good.

You've got to appreciate how the originally recorded class needed more, but then the author added more! The lesson 7, Calculus of Residues was an appropriate addition, I didn't mind it being last, but it did not go into Branch Cuts.

por Ajit C B

Sep 05, 2017

Excellent course! I really hope there is a follow-up advanced version.

por Zeinab A Z

Jan 03, 2018

Awesome!

por EDOUARD L

Dec 11, 2016

Great course very clear and explaining well the motivations behind the results

por Alfred H

Oct 24, 2016

Great, informative introduction to complex analysis, really interesting.

por Alex G

Sep 07, 2017

loved this course, was exactly what i had hoped for

por Vishesh B

Sep 21, 2016

I hated Complex Analysis when I first encountered it. This course made me fall in love with Complex Analysis. Kudos to Prof. Taylor

por Jon W

Dec 10, 2016

Enjoyable and very solid course, excellent on all aspects. Great teacher.

por Matthew T

May 08, 2018

Challenging, really good course. Lectures were well presented.