Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Complex Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Complex Analysis da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.8
estrelas
952 classificações
317 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course provides an introduction to complex analysis which is the theory of complex functions of a complex variable. We will start by introducing the complex plane, along with the algebra and geometry of complex numbers, and then we will make our way via differentiation, integration, complex dynamics, power series representation and Laurent series into territories at the edge of what is known today. Each module consists of five video lectures with embedded quizzes, followed by an electronically graded homework assignment. Additionally, modules 1, 3, and 5 also contain a peer assessment. The homework assignments will require time to think through and practice the concepts discussed in the lectures. In fact, a significant amount of your learning will happen while completing the homework assignments. These assignments are not meant to be completed quickly; rather you'll need paper and pen with you to work through the questions. In total, we expect that the course will take 6-12 hours of work per module, depending on your background....

Melhores avaliações

RK
5 de Abr de 2018

The lectures were very easy to follow and the exercises fitted these lectures well. This course was not always very rigorous, but a great introduction to complex analysis nevertheless. Thank you!

YM
23 de Jan de 2021

Derivations are generally clear and easy to follow, some are abit less intuitive but Dr Petra Bonfert-Taylor makes the effort to explain it in a way that is easy for me to understand.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 315 Avaliações para o Introduction to Complex Analysis

por Doug K

8 de Jun de 2017

I had seen some of this material before, but I think it was a more clear presentation than I had seen. I enjoyed the fractal topics as well. Some of the material was really challenging, so I felt a big sense of accomplishment when I finished the course.

por Debjit P

16 de Set de 2020

A truly awesome course to learn complex analysis from scratch. I loved and enjoyed the course very much and recommend everyone to enroll in this course. Thank you very much for providing this course for which I learnt a lot of new things in this area.

por Alberto B

12 de Out de 2020

The course is very interesting and the exercises are challenging. I would be very glad to have more exercises to test my ability and to prepare myself. I would suggest to implement a series of optional exercises to test your ability.

por Tuesday K

14 de Abr de 2021

This course has been interesting and challenging on some topics like conformal mappings which I didn't do further at my undergraduate.

Otherwise I would like to be given sponsorship to take other master track course I will appreciate

por Yuri E

23 de Nov de 2021

I really enjoyed this course!! Wish there were sequels to this course, which deal with more advanced topics on complex analysis. Many, many thanks to Dr. Petra Bonfert-Taylor - her way of introducing new topics is superb.

por Zhu K

27 de Nov de 2018

Very helpful, focused on intuition and examples, maybe not detailed enough for a Mathematics student, but great for an Engineering student. Would be better if it could cover some material about Fourier transformation.

por Avinash M S

13 de Set de 2021

A teacher is wonderful, her explanation is intuitive. Structure, of course, are well sequentially organised. A GRAND Thank You to Dr Petra Bonfert-Taylor, Coursera, Wesleyan University.

Salute to all Contributors !!!

por Arturo O P

13 de Mar de 2017

Muy buen curso aunque sugiero un pequeño preambulo en los videos de youtube que tiene como titulo fractales la sexta dimension para entender con mayor claridad algunos conceptos a los que no acostumbramos en ingles

por Bojan B

6 de Mai de 2017

Really good course, covers the topics I expected and wanted and at a depth that was good for gaining understanding without getting too deep. This is exactly what I wanted for the amount of time I had each week.

por Etienne R

16 de Jan de 2017

I never took a course in complex analysis before and very much enjoyed this introductory course. I found that the material was presented in a very understandable way, with good and often illuminating examples.

por Suraj S K

5 de Mai de 2020

I wish Prof. Petra Bonfert Taylor teaches more courses. She has taught this course with lot of enthusiasm and has made this course a very interesting journey from the beginning till end. Thank you very much.

por Changyu G

17 de Mai de 2017

A good and clear introductory course for Complex Analysis! Cover the basic theory of Complex Analysis with rich examples.

And it's awesome to see the fractal geometry part (Julia set, Mandelbrot set, etc.)

por Johannse E

26 de Mar de 2017

Doctor Petra Bonfert - Taylor is out standing scholar and she knows how to deliver her deep knowledge in mathematics to her students. I remind her as great scholar in mathematics.

Sincerely,

Johannse

por Diwakar S

14 de Nov de 2018

it was very challenging course , not so easy to pass the assignments but if you have gone through lectures, it will helps a lot while doing the assignments especially the final quiz

por Simon S

12 de Dez de 2020

An excellent course on complex analysis. Videos were very well presented, course slides were clear, and quizzes, assignments and final exam were all pitched at the right level.

por Yao X

11 de Jul de 2017

Thank Dr. Bonfert-Taylor so much for delivering this course online at coursera. I've really learned a lot from this course. And I hope I'll take another course with her again.

por Grigory S

12 de Ago de 2020

Very nice and calm professor and a lot of illustrations. Although I didn't liked the last week. They've added this material later and it's covered not very deep and clear.

por Joe W

26 de Out de 2018

Love this course! Was VERY challenging, but I learned a tremendous amount. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to further their knowledge in this area of mathematics.

por Wesley R S

24 de Set de 2017

Wow, great introductory course on complex analysis, was hoping for a bit more analysis and a bit more actual proofs, but it's Coursera, can't expect a full-on course here.

por Luis M A V

5 de Mai de 2017

It´s a well structured course that gives a good glance of Complexe Analysis. The instructrice give a detaleled information aboute the themes of the course. Very good.

por Daniel E O C

7 de Ago de 2020

Excelente, una temática adecuada y muy bien tratada. Totalmente recomendado para aquellos que quieran aprender mas de los número complejos, y todas sus propiedades.

por Daniel C Z

1 de Ago de 2020

It is a really good course, for those who want to get closer to understanding complex analysis with a certain mathematical rigor and with interesting applications.

por JORGE E M L V

15 de Mar de 2019

EXCELENTE CURSO LO RECOMIENDO MUCHÍSIMO DE VERDAD QUE SE APRENDE MUCHO ACERCA DEL ANÁLISIS COMPLEJO ES MUY BUENO PARA AQUELLOS ESTUDIANTES DE CIENCIAS Y MATEMÁTICA

por Alejandro P

8 de Out de 2020

Very thorough course. From basic to advanced concepts, Petra does an amazing job of conveying you through all the concepts in a perfectly clear and robust manner.

por Rajesh J

9 de Abr de 2017

Helpful introduction to complex analysis. Sketches the intuition behind fundamental theorems without becoming too difficult for amateur mathematicians to follow.