Chevron Left
Voltar para Combinatorics and Probability

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Combinatorics and Probability da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.6
estrelas
364 classificações
75 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Counting is one of the basic mathematically related tasks we encounter on a day to day basis. The main question here is the following. If we need to count something, can we do anything better than just counting all objects one by one? Do we need to create a list of all phone numbers to ensure that there are enough phone numbers for everyone? Is there a way to tell that our algorithm will run in a reasonable time before implementing and actually running it? All these questions are addressed by a mathematical field called Combinatorics. In this course we discuss most standard combinatorial settings that can help to answer questions of this type. We will especially concentrate on developing the ability to distinguish these settings in real life and algorithmic problems. This will help the learner to actually implement new knowledge. Apart from that we will discuss recursive technique for counting that is important for algorithmic implementations. One of the main `consumers’ of Combinatorics is Probability Theory. This area is connected with numerous sides of life, on one hand being an important concept in everyday life and on the other hand being an indispensable tool in such modern and important fields as Statistics and Machine Learning. In this course we will concentrate on providing the working knowledge of basics of probability and a good intuition in this area. The practice shows that such an intuition is not easy to develop. In the end of the course we will create a program that successfully plays a tricky and very counterintuitive dice game. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Melhores avaliações

KB

Dec 26, 2019

Great course, lots of good info, not too long. Some of the coding assignments and quizzes are challenging, but the staff respond very quickly to questions in the forums.

PR

Aug 03, 2019

Had loads of fun during most part of the course. Frequent quizzes keep the learner on toes. Thoroughly enjoyed the final programming quiz to implement a dice game.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Combinatorics and Probability

por Nguyen K T

Sep 11, 2019

so useful

por Stefan D

Nov 18, 2017

Loved it

por Ganna S

Nov 22, 2017

Great!)

por HaotianWang

Jul 15, 2018

useful

por Vicky L

Mar 06, 2019

The course is structured reasonably well. I especially liked how the quizzes were setup, there were lots of them testing my understanding from different angles.

However, I felt some of the videos could do with a bit more editing (with the typos and etc.). While these errors were pointed out as quizzes inside the video, it gets a bit distracting. Furthermore, for some of the weeks (week 4 say), there were a lot more material comparing to others (week 6 say). It felt a bit strange with such a huge change in workload to me personally and would have been nice to be slightly more consistent.

Overall, I enjoyed the course and felt like I have learnt the basics for what I wanted. Thanks.

por Vincent L

Sep 12, 2018

overall great course and it was exactly what I was looking for. I deducted one star because there were multiple mistakes in the video which were caught immediately by the yellow bar notification, but still was somewhat disappointed because the mistakes were simple, which mean it was as instructors were blindly reading the script rather than thinking and doing the problem on the spot. With that being said though, I really really liked the course and would recommend this to anyone who is looking to have a primer on combinatorics!

por Anton M P

Dec 17, 2017

This course is indeed a very well taught introduction to combinatorics and probability theory, and it can positively ground the student in all the foundational aspects of the discipline with both intuitive-geometric explanations and more advanced formal definitions.

It has helped me consolidate various concepts of probability and combinatorics thanks to the different points of view and examples through which these mathematical objects are presented. Highly recommended.

por Trần C L

Nov 06, 2019

Quite hard to fully understand Combinatorics and Probability since it's a complicated aspect. The russian teachers have standard skill with ok English, sometimes I lost my focus and didn't pay enough attention because they lacks of appealing approaches. I am sure this course has brought me many very interesting topics and quizzes. Pretty average teaching quality but with excellent choices of content. This course deserves 8/10, good!

por Sudheera S

Aug 29, 2018

Good introduction to combinations. I enjoyed the programming while learning mathematics. The audio of Prof. Alexander Shen is not clear in many instances. The way the checks are done in between the video lectures helps keep going with course. The tests and well designed. Good job Coursera.

por Bryan W B

Nov 27, 2018

Much stronger than the first course in this series. I very much enjoyed Vladimir and Alexander's lectures. The weakest part, unfortunately, were Alexander Shen's weeks. I must credit him, however, for being very responsive on the forum.

por Umakant V

Jan 23, 2020

This course provided me with new ways to confront the problems of combinatorics. I am very grateful to the faculty for their content and coursera for giving me financial aid.

por Juan P Y

Mar 02, 2018

Awesome course, good topics. Easy to get help. Some topics weren't that clear at first, but you'll eventually understand.

por Malik T

Feb 18, 2020

In this course, the use of language is a huge obstacle for students to understand the teachers clearly.

por Ajit C B

Oct 19, 2017

I think the level could have been a bit more advanced. Overall a good course though.

por zhangjinqiang

Dec 16, 2017

it's good in general. But slightly too simple.

por Elton O d M

May 05, 2018

The probability section could be more visual.

por Michael K H E

Jan 22, 2019

Prof Vlad has really great examples!

por Ramesh

Dec 09, 2017

Probability section was little weak

por Luis M V F

Dec 30, 2019

This is course is informative, but the instructors in general are terrible. I do not like too much the approach the follow, and I cannot see a good mathematical background. In addition, some explanations are very vague. The contents of the course are great, but I strongly recommend reviewing materials by yourself if you really want to learn.

por Tarun M

May 20, 2019

This course really brought the best out of me in terms of logical programming. The last task needed hours of hard work, but was a fun challenge. However, I felt that the instructors could have been a bit more responsive on the forums to help us clear our doubts.

por Remy E F

Feb 07, 2019

Sometimes difficult to follow along with the accent for material that I already found new and challenging. Needed to supplement with Khan Academy and other sources.

por huda g

Jun 02, 2018

the course was so amazing but sorry it was little hard in weeks 2

the sum of tringle i didn't understand it !!

por Konstantin K

Dec 04, 2017

It is better to read slides and do not watch the videos

por Suman S

Feb 10, 2020

I liked the course, but it should have a disclaimer of the pre-requisite of good python knowledge required. The last assignment is 23% of the total grades. Unfortunately, instructors don't even teach any basics of python to tackle the assignments. This is the most unprofessional thing about the course. The rest of the material in the course is fun. I am giving the course a 2-star rating because of my deep struggle with the last assignment.

por Ryan B

Feb 21, 2020

Terrible instruction