Chevron Left
Voltar para Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.1
388 classificações
93 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to the Cloud Computing Applications course, the first part of a two-course series designed to give you a comprehensive view on the world of Cloud Computing and Big Data! In this first course we cover a multitude of technologies that comprise the modern concept of cloud computing. Cloud computing is an information technology revolution that has just started to impact many enterprise computing systems in major ways, and it will change the face of computing in the years to come. We start the first week by introducing some major concepts in cloud computing, the economics foundations of it and we introduce the concept of big data. We also cover the concept of software defined architectures, and how virtualization results in cloud infrastructure and how cloud service providers organize their offerings. In week two, we cover virtualization and containers with deeper focus, including lectures on Docker, JVM and Kubernates. We finish up week two by comparing the infrastructure as a service offering by the big three: Amazon, Google and Microsoft. Week three moves to higher level of cloud offering, including platform as a service, mobile backend as a service and even serverless architectures. We also talk about some of the cloud middleware technologies that are fundamental to cloud based applications such as RPC and REST, JSON and load balancing. Week three also covers metal as a service (MaaS), where physical machines are provisioned in a cloud environment. Week four introduces higher level cloud services with special focus on cloud storage services. We introduce Hive, HDFS and Ceph as pure Big Data Storage and file systems, and move on to cloud object storage systems, virtual hard drives and virtual archival storage options. As discussion on Dropbox cloud solution wraps up week 4 and the course....

Melhores avaliações

SP

Feb 18, 2017

Well structured course. Gives a good overview of the basics of cloud computing. couple of typos in the transcripts. will flag errors in future courses

UN

Apr 10, 2018

Understanding of this course will help you to know more about Cloud Computing and the technologies that drive Big Data

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

por Edwin B

Aug 26, 2018

An ok survey, but it covers too many topics, without going in depth on any of them; despite using a lot of time informing about how great each technology is.

If they cut out 1/2 of the cheerleading about how great everything is, and how flexible everything is, then perhaps there would have been time for presentation of examples, so we could see how easy it is instead of just hearing about it.

por Zhikun L

Aug 05, 2017

This is so far the worst course I take in this specialization. Professor Roy H. Campbell doesn't seem to really understand what he is doing. It gives me a sense of feeling that he is just reciting slides (sometimes he even can't recite the slides in the right way). He can hardly make one complete sentence without destroying the grammar. His mind just keep wanders around, and I simply can't follow him. I took this course out of curiosity of how bad it can be, and it didn't fulfill my purpose. I am not trying to be harsh here. This is my comparison of this course and the cloud computing concepts course. However, I think Reza Farivar did a really good job at explaining topics.

por Jörg S

Feb 05, 2017

Mr. Campbell's presentations are quite boring and consist of a handful of phrases repeated over and over again. The subjects are treated very superficially and the presentation style is confusing. I recommend to other students to read the Wikipedia articles about the subjects instead. Several times it feels like Mr. Campbell has never before seen the slides he is reading from and he is simply inventing stuff. Some information presented is plain wrong. Also, there is repeated talk of practical exercises to come, but that never happens. To Mr. Campbell's presentations, I would only award ONE STAR.

On the other hand I really liked the presentations from Mr. Farivar. He obviously knows what he is talking about and presents the material in a clear and understandable way. He should take over the whole course and let Mr. Campbell do some research back in his office. I would award 4.5 STARS to Mr. Farivar.

The homeworks of this course are simply checking for a very basic understanding of the topics. E.g. "To do this and that, would you use technology A, B, or C?" Where the answer are some quite different technologies.

The course needs more involvement of the students by going more in-depth and adding some practical exercises.

Had the cloud computing specialization started with this course, I would probably have aborted it.

por Erdem Y

Jun 20, 2019

A chart of comparison between technologies and storage systems would be nice to have with frequent quiz. You need to digest and remember loads of terminology then start a graded quiz, which makes it hard to pass, if you pause the course for a day or two

por Suresh V

Jun 16, 2019

I am disappointed with this course. The course content was designed and developed in a hurry as it seems to me.

por Zhaoyang L

Jun 09, 2019

Like Wikipedia on some popular cloud products.

por Debasis D

May 14, 2019

Good Course provided by Coursera. Thank you

por Cenxui L

May 07, 2019

good to learn about cloud

por Austin Z

Apr 25, 2019

Not what I expected after the last two courses in the cloud specialization. A lot of the information has already been covered in the last two courses from a more detailed theoretical level. This is more of a non-technical level overview of some popular and some random cloud tools covered at a level that is not technical enough to gain anything from but in too much tedious detail to be consumable for the parts that are interesting. This course could be condensed into a few page tradeoff table of the services and applications covered.

por Manasvi N

Apr 22, 2019

-

por pranav v

Mar 26, 2019

Course was good

por lowell s

Mar 10, 2019

Great course on the foundations of the cloud. Excellent Lectures

por Iga R

Feb 15, 2019

interesting topics but explanation is sometimes unclear

por Amit P

Feb 10, 2019

The course covers lots of areas and you hear lots of keywords. But it doesn't cover any of the aspects in depth. For me it was very basic course and having some practical aspects would have made it a much interesting course.

por Kamath S S

Feb 06, 2019

very good and insightful course for beginners

por Rizwan H

Dec 22, 2018

its Best course for me i'm very satisfied and get knowledge, its better for my future

por Dronesh D

Nov 29, 2018

A really good course to present the entire landscape of Cloud Infrastructure in a concise format. Course provides a good comparison of all the latest technologies and offerings. This will really help anyone working or aspiring to work in this space to make better decisions and choose the optimal solutions.

por Vinayaka R C

Nov 12, 2018

nice

por Anurag D

Nov 12, 2018

great course

por Luis F P

Oct 20, 2018

The flow of the course was so natural and well explained.

por Nguyen C T

Oct 16, 2018

Very good

por 黄亮

Oct 16, 2018

Provider a lot of materials on cloud application, infrastructure and storage service, not deeply enough to known the inside.

por LAKSHAYE V

Oct 11, 2018

Excellent videos with appropriate quizzes to check the analyse the depth of learning

por Hugo A A S D

Sep 28, 2018

Nice course but too much theory.

por Luis R

Aug 14, 2018

Great course. Looking forward to completing the whole specialization!