Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics da instituição Universidade da Cidade do Cabo

4.8
estrelas
2,824 classificações
853 avaliações

Sobre o curso

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Melhores avaliações

AM

15 de dez de 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

28 de jul de 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 855 Avaliações para o Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

por Nguemeni C

31 de mai de 2017

Great course. I enjoyed taking it and the instructor really explained complex concepts with elegance. He makes everything very easy to understand by providing step-bystep reasoning and appropriate examples. Thanks also to the amazing mentors.

por gamuchirai t

12 de fev de 2016

Great course-really helps to gain insight into all the statistical info when reading the literature. This course has been particularly good in terms of understanding study results and how I can apply research findings to my clinical practice.

por Alessandro V

19 de out de 2021

Dr Klopper is the stats teacher I wish I have had as an undergraduate student... clear (apart from the Honors part on Odds and Risks, that one is not as sharp), concise and understandable. Not advanced, but excellent for a refresher. Thanks!

por Ramón A R P

5 de mai de 2020

I learned a whole bunch! i feel like i can do a complete research with the knowledge i gained. Thank you Dr. Koppler! I promise i will put all of your teachings to good use and maybe the next research to appear on the course will be mine!!!

por Lilian G

21 de jun de 2020

Very clear and useful content. The course is well organized and the lessons have applicabel concepts. I think it is a good course to beginners, so students can realize if this is one path to follow, in order to get professional new skills.

por John N T N

22 de jan de 2019

Just an excellent refresher in biostatistics that put many things into perspective. I'll be looking more keenly and with a more critical eye at research papers and now I have more ammunition for doing my own research and writing papers.

por Vladyslav F

17 de jul de 2020

Probably, one of the best courses to start dealing with medical statystics.

If you're interested in evidance-based medicine and want to improve your knowledges and start reading medical articles properly - this is exectly what you need!

por Nathan E

23 de abr de 2022

I found this course very helpful and informative, reading the literature critically with a better understanding of the statistical analysis and results is going to improve my practice going forward, thank you.

Regards, Nathan English.

por Angelina C W J

27 de mai de 2020

Appreciate Dr Koppler and team that provided this course! As a dummy for statistics this is course really great and helpful. It starts from explaining the basics of research and slowly zoom into the statistics part. Love this course!

por Bryan C C

21 de jan de 2021

Es un excelente curso, realmente lo recomiendo. Aprendes cómo interpretar correctamente un artículo, por lo que en base a esto poder dar una opinión más acertada sobre los ensayos clínicos o diferentes artículos que podamos analizar.

por Adriana M

22 de jan de 2017

I highly recomended this course, the explanations and the material are so clear. This a good way to understand the basic topic of stadistical aspect in clinical research if you don´t have a great knowledge of the mathematics aspects.

por Jamal E

26 de jun de 2021

It was a great experience for someone who hates math and can't understand it very well. This course came just in time when I'm studying for my master's in Clinical Pharmacy and it helped me a lot. Dr. Juan is such a wonderful tutor.

por Yadav S M

10 de jul de 2020

It was well organized and learnt the basics of the statistics used in medical literature. Case study was very informative and gives a overview of all that was discussed. The excel spreadsheet demo was very useful and informative.

por Isabel S M W

15 de abr de 2020

Great introductory course with concise descriptions on commonly used statistical tests. Allows students to gain comprehensive foundational understanding of both research methodology and statistical tests used for data analysis.

por Tryambak P S

16 de mai de 2020

This is one of the best courses on the clinical statistics for biomedical researchers. After this, you will be way more confident in the statistics behind your research and in the material and methods section of a publication.

por Martin N A

29 de out de 2020

This is a really good course in statistics used in clinical research. It gives a good foundation for understanding which statistics to use on a given clinical dataset. Furthermore, the teacher is good at explaning the tonic.

por Henoch C

26 de mai de 2020

C'était hyper intéressant le cours de recherche clinique avec le formidable Dr Klopper. Merci à l'équipe Coursera. Je sais actuellement quoi, comment et pourquoi faire n'importe quoi en recherche clinique. Go ahead the team!

por Ganapathy P

23 de mai de 2020

Excellent course and Excellent coaching by Dr. Juan H Klopper. I am a Chartered Accountant. I had put in additional efforts, by repeating some of the lessons and got certified today 23rd May 20. Thank you very much Doctor

por ezgi t

29 de mar de 2020

For people who cannot know where to start learning basic statistics, it is a great course! it definitely gave me a comprehensive overview and I think that I'm not going to skip the chapters on methods and statistics anymore.

por Jeffrey R

19 de ago de 2020

Very easy to follow and instructive teaching. I have a much better understanding of the statistical analyses being performed (as well as their underlying assumptions and limitations) in clinical research. Thank you so much!

por Agnieszka L

13 de fev de 2016

A thoroughly enjoyable course that explains fundamental statistical concepts in an accessible, common-sense way, illustrated by examples from medical research literature. If you're intimidated by statistics, Dr Juan can hel

por Phillip H

4 de jun de 2021

This course is really well structured with good explanations of tests and decision making processes. You can learn at your own speed and I feel more confident with analysing and selecting analysis techniques in the future.

por Andrés J C T

13 de ago de 2020

Excelente curso, estoy completamente agradecido, he aprendido bastante y ahora me siento capaz de analizar mas a fondo y con mas confianza los articulos cientificos necesarios para mi desarrollo personal como futuro medico

por Ashraf I E S A

15 de mar de 2019

It gives me a greater pleasure to attend this valuable ,concise and easy understanded course and I would like to thank everyone contribute to make this work came to the light special thanks to Dr.Juan Klopper

best regards

por Ian W

30 de jul de 2018

After this course, you'll understand the basic knowledge, common statistic methods and which one to use for different data types. Note that the detailed math calculations behind the methods are NOT the aim for this course.