Chevron Left
Voltar para Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries da instituição Universidade da Cidade do Cabo

4.6
232 classificações
73 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course challenges you to consider how one might lift societies out of poverty while also mitigating greenhouse gas emissions. We explore the inherent complexity of developing country governments wanting to grow their economies in a climate friendly way. You will be introduced to an approach with which to address this challenge. The approach consists of a facilitated process whereby academic researchers and high-level influential actors within society co-produce knowledge. You will track this process in four Latin American countries - Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru, and South Africa. You will hear from various professionals about their contexts and the different challenges and opportunities the process includes. This course will cover topics such as facilitation process techniques, energy modeling, scenario building, innovation and policy making. You will have the opportunity to respond to these topics with ideas and reflection from your own context. Whether you are a climate change practitioner, work in development or are simply curious about how climate mitigation is understood, this course will give you insights into the complexity of how countries from the South pursue development goals while addressing climate mitigation. The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion, which you become eligible for if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Melhores avaliações

MG

Oct 04, 2016

Super-awesome course that taught me about the super-wicked problem of our time and how to effectively achieve climate change mitigation and development objectives from developing countries context

CO

Nov 10, 2017

The course has been very insightful to me as a climate change scientist. It has been very detailed and it has given me input that from a perspective that i had not thought of before. Thank you.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries

por Rocio T d L

Dec 20, 2017

Nice course, well explained.

por Takahiro O

Oct 10, 2016

This course was very comprehensible and I learnt the complexity and excitement to tackle with climate change and economic development at the same time. Episodes from many countries are also introduced by kinds of stakeholders were interesting too. I recommend this course if you're interested in climate change issues.

por Donna S

Nov 12, 2017

This course was exceptional! This is a very engaging course. I enjoyed learning from others in the course about climate change and development in their countries.

por HoangTrongNam

Aug 31, 2016

Good course for Climate Change learners

por Olaleye A

May 30, 2017

Simply Awesome!

por Christopher M I

Jun 04, 2017

This course was a very enjoyable and informative experience. I learned more about climate mitigation in developing countries and particularly more about the M.A.P.S program. Courses like these provide valuable knowledge for our current and future efforts to combat our changing climate in a sustainable and economically profitable way.

por Selene M G

Apr 03, 2017

Positive and rich learning for all lives on Earth, congratulations.

por Uyen-Chi O N

Mar 24, 2017

LOVED THIS COURSE! Taking this course has truly shaped how I plan to pursue my career and gave me a much better understanding of the current ecosystem of climate change in developing countries. Everything about this course was just great - I really learned a lot, and even reached out to one of the speakers/professors for further guidance. Thank so much for making this course available!

por Cynthia O

Nov 10, 2017

The course has been very insightful to me as a climate change scientist. It has been very detailed and it has given me input that from a perspective that i had not thought of before. Thank you.

por Tangem E P

Jul 27, 2017

This was a very informative and professionally developed course, I probably learnt alot more than expected.

The MAPS approach and the 'modus operandi' will go along way in enhancing my work. I am already thinking of applying the MAPS approach in developing Sustainable Land Management scenarios for the Great Green Wall Initiative that I coordinate. Will like to have contacts with the MAPS team.

My address : elvispaulT@africa-union.org

por Mohammed T M

May 16, 2017

Great course, most of the information in a project though.

por James N

Jan 20, 2017

I really Enjoyed the course

por Lauren H

Jan 03, 2017

Very interesting and unique approach to tackling these problems together! Great course

por Mukesh G

Oct 04, 2016

Super-awesome course that taught me about the super-wicked problem of our time and how to effectively achieve climate change mitigation and development objectives from developing countries context

por Jesse C M

Jan 07, 2018

Nice course, lots of great information and nicely laid out.

por Roman H

May 27, 2017

The course structure was very good and the real experience cases made the material look alive. Furthermore the essay writing part was very good, as practitioners had to get really involved.

por Bart S

Jun 14, 2016

outstanding, do it again

por Olivier C P

Jul 26, 2016

I enjoyed very much this course.

por Gabriel E Z

May 24, 2017

A well explained course, although it could be complete with another course about the specific modelling programas that they use on MAPS or a specific example of the projected scenarios.

por Waqas K A

Nov 01, 2016

Interesting course especially in the context of Pakistan

por Dr A A

Dec 06, 2016

It is very useful to develop knowledge on climate change. Climate change matters and that's how the course reflects.

por Noxolo K

Oct 17, 2016

learned so much and will recommend this course to others!!

por Elvira R V

Mar 26, 2019

First, thank you for having the chance to express my warmest thanks for the course(s) I recently completed. This of course had given me the opprotunity to broaden my knowledge on the why and how about the problem enveloping the Climate change. Not only that, where there is a problem, there will be always possible solution. The readings, videos and the forums, enhances my thinking on the so called global warming and who are the best contributors and what might be our next move on the current climate situation. As I one of the contributors in the increase of gas emissions, will be guilty and therefore would seek more and more on how to help lessen this global challenge.

por Adeline C J

May 16, 2019

This was a brilliant course.

por Matovu B

Jul 15, 2019

The course content not only matches current global dynamics for sustainable development, but also increases the zeal and momentum of all people-participants to initiate positive climate change mitigation and adaptation strategies now, then later. The factual and practical case studies are a launch pad for systematic and coherent development of feasible mitigation strategies to boost livelihoods especially in rural communities; who are the most ignorant but extremely vulnerable groups.