Chevron Left
Voltar para Climate Adaptation in Africa

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Climate Adaptation in Africa da instituição Universidade da Cidade do Cabo

4.8
estrelas
72 classificações
32 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course explores why climate change adaptation is important in the African context. Africa is considered one to be one of the most vulnerable regions to climate change. Historically, climate-related hazards such as drought, flooding, pest and disease outbreaks, coastal storms and heat waves have had devastating impacts on people and the environment in which they live. Often the damage knocks back progress that has been made in social and economic development, slowing down the achievement of development goals. Climate models suggest that many of these climatic hazards will intensify as the global climate warms. Building resilience to climate risks, through adaptation, is critically important for future development in Africa. The course will examine adaptation in theory and in practice, through a focus on four sectors that are critically important for climate resilient development in Africa: Water Security, Agriculture and Food Security, Ecosystems and Ecosystem Services and Resilient Cities....

Melhores avaliações

TM
6 de Jul de 2020

i learnt a lot from this course. not only do i know more about climate change impacts on the environment, but also how to mitigate risks related to climate change and how to adapt to those risks.

SN
30 de Out de 2018

This was an amazing relevant course, now i can take action to climate adaptation in Africa having a clear understanding on how to choose and implement the best option suggested.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 32 Avaliações para o Climate Adaptation in Africa

por Etienne K K

4 de Mai de 2020

Very good course. Very knowledgeable tutor. Mark was very clear, each point presented fitted very well with the content being discussed. The examples used were very practical and very informative.

This was a very excellent course and highly recommended for even African leaders.

However, the grading of peer reviews could be improved. The points could be better distributed to cover various scenarios. For example, if a question requires a list of 3 items and an explanation of each, it needs to have pointing systems that range from 6 to 1. meaning if 1 is missing from the list, then we can score 4/6. Or if 1 is listed without explanation, then it is a 5/6 score. In many cases, grading was easy, but assigning a score was not so easy as in-betweens were needed.

por Farman

3 de Jun de 2021

This course was good for me as well as learn a lot of thing are described in all the videos lecture. I'm feeling so much comfortable while learning the thing and speakers/lecturers was excellent for summerizing things or matter discussed in the video lecture. One more thing is that make us understand direct to points to points. Well this was very easy course to get knowledge about climate adaptation in africa.

por Andrew J C

14 de Jul de 2020

Mark's clear and well layered explanation of the present climate situation in Africa, the predicted climate and ways to adapt to it are excellent. Mark puts the continent under a microscope for us, as he says Africa is the sharp end of climate change so this really opens our eyes to what will happen elsewhere the world and what can be done about it. The material he provides is easy to understand even if the ideas are complex. His guests provide a well balanced picture of the whole of Africa. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to understand climate change and adaptation.

por Jasmin R

4 de Mai de 2020

I found this course super interesting! It discusses a wide range of different adaptation issues, taking into consideration both the environmental and humanitarian aspects of climate change. Even though the focus is on Africa, the information can be adapted to other contexts as well. I was fairly well educated about climate change before taking the course, but I feel like it really boosted my knowledge of the adaptation and development aspect. I would definitely recommend it!

por Fazla Z A

22 de Ago de 2020

This was an amazing relevant course, now i can take action to climate adaptation in Africa having a clear understanding on how to choose and implement the best option suggested. i learnt a lot from this course. not only do i know more about climate change impacts on the environment, but also how to mitigate risks related to climate change and how to adapt to those risks.

por ABHAY K J

5 de Mai de 2021

The course is very helpful to know the real value of the resources around us and how we have to use and save these for entire population. Instructor of this course has also good tongue which make it mores easier to understand. The best part of the course is the case study done by the peoples familiar to African conditions.

por David M G

16 de Fev de 2021

Course is comprehensive with well-structured presentations and easily understandable explanations. Both theories and study cases are relevant to global climate change, beyond Africa, thus would recommend in renaming the course as simply 'Climate Adaptation.

por Andrea C

24 de Ago de 2020

Thank you so much Coursera, UCT and ACDI. The course content is informative and well structured. I have thoroughly enjoyed working through the material and feel that I have developed a good base understanding in this field.

por Jessica A

27 de Mar de 2020

So well presented, great content and useful exercises. Professor New has created a must-have course for anyone starting out in climate change adaptation, or those who need a refresher. I recommend it widely.

por Tanaka M

7 de Jul de 2020

i learnt a lot from this course. not only do i know more about climate change impacts on the environment, but also how to mitigate risks related to climate change and how to adapt to those risks.

por Sizwe N

31 de Out de 2018

This was an amazing relevant course, now i can take action to climate adaptation in Africa having a clear understanding on how to choose and implement the best option suggested.

por Mouloukou K

29 de Jun de 2020

Very good course to understand Africa`s current & future challenges related to climate change and what could be possible to do in the African context. I highly recommend it.

por Carl A S

31 de Ago de 2019

A comprehensive introduction to the current and potential long-term effects of climate change on the socio-economic well-being of the African continent.

por Thabisile N

31 de Out de 2019

Very informative course for people who want to learn fundamental issues of climate change adaptation in the African context. Highly recommended course.

por Anuradha

12 de Out de 2021

I gain tremendous knowledge about climate change economy vulnerabily and environment and development very impressive fascinated and tons of knowledge

por Alexander B

21 de Mai de 2020

Extremely good and insightful content on an equally pressing issue providing countless examples and progress markers to ensure your understanding.

por KOUASSI K T B

24 de Out de 2019

Super ce cours. Je suis bien outillé pour comprendre les questions relatives au climat et les stratégies d'adaptation dans les pays africains.

por Renelle

3 de Jun de 2020

This is an excellent course. I learnt so much that I can start to apply in my current work environment. Thank you.

por Chun-Heng, L

15 de Mar de 2021

For basic knowledge of climate change, this is a very good and useful course.

por Danny A

27 de Out de 2020

It was very informative, timely and relevant in my country, the Philippines.

por Thembekile D

16 de Nov de 2020

Very informative course, well-planned lectures and content. Thank you

por Bengt B

16 de Abr de 2021

I am fully satisfied , as some of the tasks can be challenging.

por Iviwe M

28 de Mai de 2020

Very informative and eye-opening

por Lily M

30 de Jun de 2020

Really interesting course!

por Winston A W

28 de Dez de 2020

Excellent, thank you.