Chevron Left
Voltar para Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.8
estrelas
748 classificações
279 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Melhores avaliações

MS
30 de Jul de 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

NW
28 de Out de 2020

I learned so much. I am a hobby farmer with a small flock, but I really enjoyed learning about all aspects of chicken welfare as it pertains to both small and large scale operations. Thank you!

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 277 Avaliações para o Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte

por Edie L

26 de Dez de 2016

Fascinating general information on commercial and backyard chicken welfare and behavior course.

por SG

12 de Out de 2020

Quiz in French please

More information on organic breeding would be better..

por Patricia E

28 de Nov de 2020

Recommended for people interested in starting poultry production

por Alexis B

6 de Mai de 2020

was a little repetitive but i learned a lot over chicken welfare

por Omar H

10 de Nov de 2017

Good course, a little eurocentric but useful none the less.

por Santiago E d

18 de Abr de 2020

buen curso, pero le falta un poco de informacion tecnica

por Andy W

10 de Mar de 2018

Very interesting course for the home chicken-keeper

por Diego F R D

15 de Fev de 2019

Great information i learned a lot. Thanks everyone

por Muhammad Q

26 de Fev de 2020

That is very helpful and good learning platform

por K S

13 de Fev de 2018

Very well explained and pleasant to watch

por Anne b

12 de Abr de 2018

Very interesting, if a bit short.

por Elizabeth W M

22 de Jul de 2020

Great course! Very informative

por JUSTO G S C

10 de Mai de 2017

Good course. Congratulations

por Simone P

24 de Fev de 2017

Informative and interesting.

por Richard K

18 de Ago de 2017

very informative

por Marie J

29 de Abr de 2020

Very intere

por Colin C

1 de Ago de 2017

I would say this is a very helpful course for those interested in intensive/ factory farming chicken production. It touches on the basics of keeping backyard chickens, but does not offer many recourse on this topic. I would like to see a course similar to this one but more information on small scale organic/ free range set ups. I would also have appreciated a more in depth look into the economics and marketing of chicken products. Why is it that large scale operations tend to be more economically viable than their small scale counter parts. I would like to hear from more small scale produces and the problems/ benefits of their systems. Thank you for the free course non the less it was interesting to see how the different style and size of the operations operate and perform!

por Emma W

14 de Set de 2017

I learnt a great amount about chicken behaviour (except their calls which I would like to know more about). However the course is too aimed at commercial breeders, so it wasn't as relevant to my backyard chickens as I would have liked. Weeks 1, 2 and 3 are quite relevant and helpful to backyard breeders (week 3 particularly for those who want to breed chicks). Weeks 4 & 5 I feel like they are justifying factory farms, more than educating about chickens. More information about backyard housing and specifics about diet (percentages of protein/carbs/fats & where to get these) would be appreciated. Well worth paying for if you would like proof of knowledge for the industry. Or even for weeks 1, 2 and 3, if you'd like a certificate to show your girls.

por Ana B

26 de Abr de 2017

Se trata de un curso bastante general sobre el B.A. que recomiendo a gente que se quiera informar sobre el tema, pero no necesita profundizar en ello. Lo que más me gustó fueron los primeros temas para aprender a diferenciar los tipos de picaje que presentan las aves.

Agradecería se profundizara más en algunos temas, como actualmente la polémica existente sobre la matanza de los pollitos macho de un día, el corte de picos, los sistemas en jaulas... Y se centra mucho en UK, en vez de en general.

por dell s

20 de Out de 2016

pretty basic information with lots of repetition. course is short and really can be completed in an evening or two. instructor is knowledgeable. video of lecture doesn't add to presentation. there are few examples or interactive sessions and most of the time the instruction just speaks in front of a chicken cage. if i evaluate this course dispassionately then i don't think there is much difference between watching this course and reading a 5-10 page article.

por Sarah H

27 de Ago de 2017

The first few weeks were good - where it was actually about chicken behaviour. Not interested in the continued justification of industrial ag and the vilification of free range and home raised chickens.

por Kelly L

26 de Mai de 2017

This is geared more to the industry than it is to breeders and back yard flock keepers. Still has good information i

por Claire C

18 de Jan de 2017

nice teacher but the course is too succint.

Each lecture is very short and theoritical with little visual content. the course could/should be more detailed and a section of the course should relate to backyard chicken farming as well. i wish there also had been a section on how to recognise different illnesses in chickens and demonstration on how to humanely kill a chicken for example.

I enjoyed the course for what it was but i wish it had been taught with far more depth and breadth

por Christine Y

22 de Jun de 2020

I'm a backyard chicken flock owner in the US, much of this was not useful to me.

por adeleke s

21 de Set de 2020

Is not ok at all, because I can't attempt my quiz