Chevron Left
Voltar para Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.8
estrelas
788 classificações
294 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Melhores avaliações

MS
30 de Jul de 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

NW
28 de Out de 2020

I learned so much. I am a hobby farmer with a small flock, but I really enjoyed learning about all aspects of chicken welfare as it pertains to both small and large scale operations. Thank you!

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 290 Avaliações para o Comportamento e bem-estar dos frangos de corte

por Tara

20 de Mar de 2018

This is an extremely interesting course. Practical material is presented in a straight forward manner. It is excellent to see real life footage of laying and broiler hens and the environment they are kept. This course is useful for those interested in learning more about their backyard chickens and the type of conditions they require. It is also use for those with an interest in animal welfare in general.

por Matthew Y

29 de Jan de 2020

I come from a family of farmers (both sides) and had not the slightest idea that health issues could arise from raising chickens in a free range, or even organic, system. Fantastic course for anyone looking to get into agriculture/farming, such as myself. The University of Edinburgh should be proud of how well their faculty and partners assembled this course. Thank you!

por andrew s c

17 de Abr de 2019

This was brilliant for me as I struggle with reading and a lot of this was done by audio.

I have gained even more knowledge to help me maintain my flock and hope to use this knowledge to progress in the future.

Many thanks to all the staff and teams that made this online course available and flexible.

No doubt ill be back to learn some more :)

por Heather R

28 de Fev de 2017

I LOVED this course. I don't have chickens, nor do I have much experience with them, but I want to keep them in the future for our own personal egg production (not commercially). This helped me really understand what I'm in for, and helped me understand different parts of poultry anatomy, behavior, and what I need to do to care for them.

por ABDUL H A K

22 de Ago de 2020

THIS COURSE WAS AWESOME , AND GAVE US A NICE EXPOSURE TOWARDS BIRD LIFE AND THE WAY IT IS BEEN TAUGHT TO US WAS EXTRAORDINARY , SPECIAL VOTE OF THANKS TO MY INSTRUCTOR SHE TAUGHT US SO WELL AND GAVE MAXIMUM INFO , THANKS TO COURSERA FOR PROVIDING US THIS SPECIAL PLATFORM TO LEARN AND EXPLORE.......

THANK YOU THANK YOU VERY MUCH

por Andrew P

29 de Abr de 2020

Having just commenced a role as a weekend poultry worker,with absolutely zero pre employment knowledge & understanding of chicken welfare this course has really fulfilled my immediate needs. The delivery was clear and the content and quiz sections are challenging enough to make you really take note of the information.

por Simon V d b

25 de Jan de 2019

The course consisted of a smart alternation between lecture videos, demonstrative videos, interviews and documents. The instructor spoke clearly and at a thoughtful pace and I appreciate how the videos were filmed on-site. The course also provided tips for anyone keeping chickens in a backyard coop.

por Troy S

15 de Fev de 2017

I enjoyed the fact that the background was the real environment. The material was short and to the point and easy to follow yet offered deeper learning with the extra articles that were offered. I was amazed at some of the statistics and that gave me more appreciation of chickens. Thank you.

por Sandra S

23 de Jul de 2020

Excellent cours pour ceux et celles qui désirent n apprendre plus sur l'élevage de poules et leur mieux-être. J'aime qu'on ait des exemples de plusieurs parties du monde, pour pouvoir appliquer à notre contexte. C'est un must pour tous ceux et celles qui ont des poules à la maison.

por Kelsey M

5 de Jul de 2017

The woman who does the lectures for this course is thorough, well spoken, clear, and consistent. I also felt the the course information was relevant and tailored the the needs of the participant. Take it, even if it's just for fun. It wasn't terribly time consuming whatsoever.

por Leslie S

12 de Jun de 2016

Very worthwhile. Great overview of pertinent behavioral, environmental, physiological and biological factors influencing chicken behavior and welfare. Good videos with supplementary materials that added value to the course. Thank you for making this available through MOOC.

por Cynthia C

7 de Jan de 2018

I learned a lot! I only wish that there is a section that focuses solely on keeping chickens in the backyard (comparison of breeds, examples of coops, types of feeds, etc.), although I'm not sure if that would fall under chicken behavior and welfare :) Thank you!

por Kimberly M

26 de Nov de 2016

I started this course knowing nothing about caring for chickens and have completed it feeling like I now have the knowledge required to properly care for a flock. I have also answered some of my friends questions, leading to the improvement of their flocks lives.

por Tamsin C

1 de Fev de 2018

Excellent information on how chickens see the world and interact, the problems that can occur when keeping them and how to resolve these problems. Also the stark reality of modern farming. Recommended and required knowledge for all chicken owners and consumers.

por Susan E E

18 de Fev de 2018

Second time taking the course. It's that good. Practical information and very well presented. I have put into practice (for my backyard flock) many of the practices covered. Videos great, reading material great, recommended book a super reference. Thanks!

por CIRO A

17 de Ago de 2020

Cordial saludo.

El contenido del curso cumplió con mis expectativas, les agradezco que me haya permitido participar en el mismo.

Solo hablo español, pero pude acceder a los contenidos del curso usando el traductor de Google.

Atentamente

CIRO ALFONSO DÍAZ GALVIS

por Anna P P C

20 de Ago de 2018

If you are looking for very a very detailed knowledge about behaviour this is not what you are looking for, but if you want to have the general idea to start to get involved deeper in poultry farming is ideal, although it is perfect to start a backyard flock.

por Maho C

1 de Ago de 2017

The course is very easy to follow and informative. The advice I received was timely and clear, so my learning experience here made it so easy. The course structure was very good, and the videos were helpful. The instructor is clear on her explanation.

por Michele

4 de Jun de 2017

I've raised chickens all my life. This course has given me much insight into the rearing of chickens for egg production and/or meat. I have been given a more in depth view of problems with raising chickens and their behaviors and causes.

por Patricia R

2 de Jan de 2021

Very informative and easy to understand. I've gained knowledge and confidence that will benefit me and my backyard flock. I believe everyone that has a flock or is interested in getting a flock of any size would benefit from this course.

por Jill M

6 de Dez de 2020

Excellent class! Really enjoyed the material. I would love to take a class that covers common chicken ailments and treatment at home (as well as when to consult a vet) - geared towards backyard chicken owners. Thank you for the course :)

por Melinda C

10 de Set de 2020

This is a very thorough course for the small amount of time it takes to complete. This course gave me alot of information that was not only useful to myself but to my clients as well. It allows you to take better care of your chickens.

por Belen V

6 de Abr de 2020

This course taught me everything about chickens. I always wanted to start a farm and raise my own chickens but had no idea how, this course explains everything in detail on what a chicken is and the many ways to care for one or many.

por Chris K

8 de Jul de 2020

Great course, very informative - I learned a lot of very useful information.

The format of the course material and delivery is brilliant, and enables quick, easy learning and retention.

Thank you for this and all your other courses.