Chevron Left
Voltar para Chemerinsky on Constitutional Law – Individual Rights and Liberties

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Chemerinsky on Constitutional Law – Individual Rights and Liberties da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Irvine

4.9
estrelas
67 classificações
26 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Chemerinsky on Constitutional Law: Individual Rights and Liberties will highlight the construction and interpretation of the U.S. Constitution through the centuries with an emphasis on protections of individual liberties and the evolution of equal protection. You'll learn the history behind the Constitution, cases that formed important precedent, and how changes in interpretation have been dependent on shifts in cultural and political climate as well as the composition of the Supreme Court. In this course we will investigate the protection of individual rights and liberties and take a look at what rights are and are not protected and investigate several important shifts in jurisprudence. We'll begin by examining the structure of the Constitution's protection of individual rights. We'll then examine the circumstances under which, various rights and liberties can be regulated by the federal, state, and local government. We'll examine when the government can permissibly treat people unequally and when it can't. In our final two lectures, we'll take a close look at what is probably the most famous amendment to the Constitution, the First Amendment. Join me as we look at the questions both raised and answered by the Constitution and those that interpret it! By the end of this course, you should be able to: - Describe the individual liberties protected by the Constitution and account for the history and structure of their protection - Illustrate compromises found in the Constitution by citing examples and historic background - Articulate the importance of key cases such as Brown v. Board, Lemon v. Kurtzman, and Lochner v. New York - Explain how the outcome of cases is often dependent upon the current cultural and political climate as well as the composition of the court by citing particular cases and important shifts in the court's jurisprudence - Assess the relative suitability of various approaches to constitutional interpretation and analysis...

Melhores avaliações

DK
19 de Set de 2021

This is by far the most fruitful course I found on Coursera! I am so lucky and you are doing such a favor for me that I can listen to The Real Prof. Chemerinsky class in my house. Thank you so much!

NB
19 de Out de 2017

Thanks to the excellent presentation of the course material I have acquired an idea of my own regarding the subject of Constitution and its purpose. Constitution is a remedy for moral turpitude.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 26 Avaliações para o Chemerinsky on Constitutional Law – Individual Rights and Liberties

por James B

2 de Dez de 2020

Erwin is an experienced professor who has a way with the law. He explains in a way that would be easy for a lay person to understand. I hope to learn with him again in the future.

por Susan F

9 de Abr de 2020

Chermerinsky's classes were the best that I have taken. Very interactive and the fellow students really participated which made the class worth attending.

por Lea B

12 de Dez de 2018

Very informative and told in a very easy way. The professor is excellent to show examples and explain points so the meaning of the Constitution becomes less difficult to understand

por Sheranne S

27 de Abr de 2017

Excellent. Continues lectures on American Constitutional law and covers freedom of speech (in its many forms) and freedom of religion. I paid for this courses as a donation to the school, professor, Coursera though I knew I would be unable to complete the exams to get certification. Though I did get a certificate for Course 1 in this duo of courses. I would like to see a donation box for each course, if you want to contribute but cannot take exams. I want to financially support Coursera et al.

por Vi T

5 de Jul de 2017

The subject matter has not always been the easiest to learn, even for law students. Yet, being explained by Prof. Chemerinsky, everything became clear and comprehensible. I would recommend this course to all of those who want to know more about the rights and the principles which our nation rests its values upon, as well as to those who wants to learn about civil liberties and individual rights from all over the world.

por Angela R

2 de Abr de 2017

I thought that this was a fabulous course. It went beyond the standard coursework I had on Constitutional Law in law school with some different cases than I had read before. It really helped to have someone who had real life experience before the Supreme Ct teaching the course rather than someone who had gone from practice experience to a university position pretty quickly. I highly suggest both parts of this course.

por ACHYUTA N M

19 de Ago de 2020

It was a very good learning experience and I enjoyed learning from a very eminent Professor like Professor Chemerinsky. Further, I learnt a lot from the Course.

I heartily thank Coursera for providing me the platform for learning and Prof. Chemrensky for his analytical explanation of Individual rights and liberties under the Constitution of America.

por Bill P

20 de Set de 2018

This is part 2 of Professor Chemerinsky’s course on Constitutional Law. Both were excellent and I would very much like to go foward with additional courses in law from UC Irvine. His experience in the practice of law and the Supreme Court cases he argued were tremendously helpful.

por MAJID K

1 de Fev de 2019

I really thankful to our mentor Sir, Chemerinsky, who has left no stone upturned to deliver at his maximum, along with it, I am highly thankful to coursera to give me this sort of wonderful learning experience. It definitely enriched me with knowledge, skill and exposure.

por Hilde K

25 de Jan de 2017

The course was interesting and well presented. The only drawback is that if you are not pursuing a verified certificate you cannot submit the quizzes or the peer assignments. Even so, I would still take another course offered by Prof. Chererinsky.

por Jovita D L

11 de Dez de 2017

Loved the informative lectures. Hated the gavel. Didn't have time to stay for the assignments but looking forward to reading 'The Conservative Assault on the Constitution' when I have a chance. Thanks for your efforts.

por Dawn K

20 de Set de 2021

This is by far the most fruitful course I found on Coursera! I am so lucky and you are doing such a favor for me that I can listen to The Real Prof. Chemerinsky class in my house. Thank you so much!

por Neringa B

20 de Out de 2017

Thanks to the excellent presentation of the course material I have acquired an idea of my own regarding the subject of Constitution and its purpose. Constitution is a remedy for moral turpitude.

por Mayrine F

30 de Dez de 2018

I was incredibly excited to be able to study the Constitution of the United States, and I am so humbled to be able to do so!

por Virginia C

14 de Jul de 2017

Fantastic course. Interesting subject and great lecturer. I learned a lot and would take any course from Dr. Chemerinsky.

por PUNEET D

23 de Jun de 2020

This course is really awesome and give you deep insight into American Constitutional Law and I loved it.

por Marat P M

5 de Jul de 2017

A really wonderful course of one one the most brightness minds of the Constitutional Law in the World!

por Iris S

29 de Jul de 2017

DEFINITELY TO TAKE if interested by American law...For now, I'll audit the 1st part.

por Stephen B

4 de Jul de 2017

A necessary companion to Chemersky's Constitution I course!

por Emilio R P

17 de Jun de 2020

Great course and awesome Teacher!

por Pete H

3 de Jun de 2017

Great course content and prese

por Tracy S

4 de Jan de 2021

Great course but not easy

por Anabel K A

14 de Jan de 2021

I really like it!

por Dr. A B

12 de Mai de 2020

nice experience

por Robin B

13 de Jul de 2017

Excellent!