Chevron Left
Voltar para Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court da instituição Universidade de Lausanne

4.8
estrelas
293 classificações
89 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The aim of this course is to promote critical thinking with regard to forensic science. Today, in general, most people are dazzled by the technical possibilities offered by forensic science. They somewhat live in the illusion that forensic evidence is fool proof and brings factual findings with 100% certainty. This course – given by specialists in the field – goes beyond the conventional image that is promoted through TV series such as CSI. It alerts (without alarming) the public on the limits of the techniques in order to promote a sound administration of forensic science in the criminal justice system.  It allows participants to understand the importance of probabilistic reasoning in forensic science, because uncertainty is a constitutive part of forensic science. The course is constructed as a series of causes célèbres that could or have led to miscarriages of justice. Some of these cases have been part of case reviews carried out at the School of Criminal Justice of the University of Lausanne....

Melhores avaliações

AM
20 de Fev de 2021

Very interesting course developing an understanding of forensic science and its use in various criminal cases as well as highlighting the limitations and challenges associated with its use in court.

JR
26 de Mai de 2020

The instructors are very helpful and accessible. The course is enlightening and very important in the effective interpretation of forensic science. Thank you for preparing this course!

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 88 Avaliações para o Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court

por Germán E C H

12 de Ago de 2020

Very important course to clean and use an appropriate language in court.

por Clene A O

12 de Abr de 2020

Very educative and eye opening course.

I enjoyed it thoroughly.

por Diego N A

14 de Out de 2019

Excellent course

por Yohana S

3 de Jan de 2019

Very nice course

por MURTAZA M

11 de Set de 2019

Great

por MICHAEL K B

18 de Jul de 2020

This course has opened my mind. It has challenged my training as a fingerprint examiner. I do not want to take away anything from the presenters. I think they gave their best however the presentations of the lectures can be explained more clearly. I struggled to understand the quizzes.

por Sally P

10 de Nov de 2020

Learnt a lot and really enjoyed the course and the way it was presented.

por Crystal S

29 de Mai de 2020

Some of the translating needed work - but an enjoyable course!

por Marvin J D V

27 de Jul de 2020

I would like to congratulate the teachers and the University of Lausanne for making their knowledge available to the world. As a Latin American, there remains a feeling of uncertainty because "the fallacy of the prosecutor" and the "fallacy of authority" are what serve to base a judicial decision, ignoring the fact that there is a universe of probabilities that must be studied, included and evaluated in a case.

I think that if in this region we deepen in the way you evaluate and make "speak" Forensic Science, much of the scientific literature that we still use will have to be examined and rewritten.

Thank you very much for this excellent experience. Congratulations to the teachers and all the team who worked to connect our senses to the "new world" of Forensic Sciences.

por Lenett Y H

18 de Out de 2020

Very informative and a great help to how a testify in court in the future. I did have a little problems to understand the “language” sometimes, and I don’t mean language literally, just that the wording was a bit confusing to me and sometimes I noticed the translation to English might have been a bit off. But regardless, I was very impressed with the content and it really made me think about how we here in the US testify. I will definitely explore more on line courses from the University of Lausanne. Thank you!

por Teresa C

7 de Out de 2020

The course provides an interesting perspective in marrying forensic science with judicial system. As a layperson to forensic science, certain concepts and techniques such as analysing DNA seems too difficult for me to grasp, but learning the recommended practice and framework of evaluative reporting of forensic science have enhanced my knowledge and crushed my entrenched belief that forensic evidence is certainty!

por Vaishnavi C R

4 de Jul de 2020

Very well explained. well organised videos. It was great to have the interviews watched with the people directly linked to the cases, to know their point of view. Forensic science is infallible is a myth and care has to be taken to combat the wrong doings in the analysis and evaluation.Well presented and can be recommended. Thank you so much

por Devika E

25 de Jun de 2020

Before I was learning this I thought that , forensic evidence is the ultimate certainty that a person committed a particular crime but now I am aware of what are the things that can go wrong and how to analyse a forensic report.

Thank you so much for such an initiative to enlighten students from all over the world

por Becky H

21 de Dez de 2020

By far the most organized and professionally produced course MOOC. It got a bit technical at points but they bring you back in the section reviews. And, of course, “technical” is my own subjective analysis. I quite enjoyed this course and the discourse on forensic science was useful for my area of work.

por Vivienne H

21 de Mai de 2020

This has been an extremely enlightening and interesting course. Well constructed and delivered, so everyone can learn at their own pace, within a structured environment and supported by experts who were accessible if you needed further help or clarification. I would definitely recommend it!

por Madhur T

8 de Ago de 2020

wonderful platform to gain knowledge with certification. learnt about the value of evidences when it comes in the form of interpretation to deal with probabilities and uncertainty. learnt about the ethics of how science should speak in court with forensic evaluation.

por Carlos B

31 de Ago de 2020

Hi, I take this course from Lima, Peru with the intention to improve and organize my practical concepts on Forensic Science and, in the end, I got more question that certainties, like 20 years ago when I was ending my Microbiology Major. Thanks for the opportunity.

por Roza Z

26 de Out de 2020

The teachers in an accessible, clear and understandable way explained to us the most difficult problems in forensic science. The course materials helped me in working with students. Many thanks to the brilliant course. I will recommend it to students.

por Ademola A

24 de Jun de 2020

It's just wonderful, the case studies even made it better and more relatable. I'm glad I found this course, I wonder how long I'd have continued with some strange beliefs acquired from CSI movies if I hadn't enrolled in this course.

por Alfonso R M

14 de Nov de 2020

Truly useful and necessary for a forensic medical doctor. Very good level, excellent teachers and a relevant participation of guests. You start the course with a certain curiosity and you finnish with passion. Congratulations.

por Rizki N A I

25 de Ago de 2020

This course keep asking me to think logically and consider every options. It's applicable in other topic too, not just in forensic. The explanations are easy to digest, especially for a beginner like me. Thank you.

por ADAMS M

21 de Fev de 2021

Very interesting course developing an understanding of forensic science and its use in various criminal cases as well as highlighting the limitations and challenges associated with its use in court.

por Jasrah N S R

27 de Mai de 2020

The instructors are very helpful and accessible. The course is enlightening and very important in the effective interpretation of forensic science. Thank you for preparing this course!

por Maria G C

30 de Mai de 2020

Excelente! no solo el diseño y estructuracion de las actividades semanales, sino el esmero en la presentacion de las entrevistas. Uno de los mejores cursos que he reazlizado.

por Brigita Z

17 de Nov de 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. The team is very professional. I am still new to forensic science but all information was given clearly with examples.