Chevron Left
Voltar para Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court

Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court, Universidade de Lausanne

4.9
28 classificações
10 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

The aim of this course is to promote critical thinking with regard to forensic science. Today, in general, most people are dazzled by the technical possibilities offered by forensic science. They somewhat live in the illusion that forensic evidence is fool proof and brings factual findings with 100% certainty. This course – given by specialists in the field – goes beyond the conventional image that is promoted through TV series such as CSI. It alerts (without alarming) the public on the limits of the techniques in order to promote a sound administration of forensic science in the criminal justice system.  It allows participants to understand the importance of probabilistic reasoning in forensic science, because uncertainty is a constitutive part of forensic science. The course is constructed as a series of causes célèbres that could or have led to miscarriages of justice. Some of these cases have been part of case reviews carried out at the School of Criminal Justice of the University of Lausanne....

Melhores avaliações

por BP

Mar 21, 2019

Terrific course. Excellent instructors with essential guest participation and interviews. I'd very much like to see followup courses.

por GP

Jan 11, 2019

Excellent Course, The transcripts should also be translated to other languages for the sake of non english speaking participants.

Filtrar por:

10 avaliações

por Coreen Steenkamp

Apr 13, 2019

Great Course, learned a lot on evaluative report writing and how forensic science should speak to the course. However, it would have been interesting to see how offender profiling in a expert witness context should speak to courts.

por Bill Piety

Mar 21, 2019

Terrific course. Excellent instructors with essential guest participation and interviews. I'd very much like to see followup courses.

por Jan De Kinder

Jan 30, 2019

Well done Christophe, Alex, Tacha and Franco. The explanation regarding the different cases was very interesting to read. I wasn’t aware of all the impact and only know part of the stories behind the forensics.

This course is also very interesting to non-scientists and I am curious to see if the prosecutors understand the concepts of it. In our common previous experience, I was very disappointed in our attempt to explane the ENFSI guideline to Eurojust.

I look forward to see more of the same stuff here on coursera. Take care, Jan DE KINDER

por Caroline

Jan 21, 2019

This course is a great introduction into the hierarchy of propositions and our duty to the court as expert witnesses. It discusses in length the importance of reporting two alternate hypothesis in a balanced and transparent manner. It also drills home the risks involved, and uses several real life case studies to demonstrate what happens when science isn't followed or communicated correctly – that is, the associated dangers of misrepresentation and misinterpretation of results by both practitioner and judiciary. If you're skeptical and still questioning the importance of improving current state reporting and testimony (particularly within the pattern matching disciplines), then watch the interviews of victims affected by high profile erroneous fingerprint identifications (McKie/Mayfield). It not only humanizes what we do, but reminds us that we have a duty to the court, to the science and to public safety. It was a great privilege to be taught by leading forensic practitioners! Their collective wealth of knowledge is evident and I admire the large amount of behind-the-scenes work that would have been put into producing this course. I highly recommend this to people interested in strengthening forensic science, and I look forward to the next installment.

por BOUZAID

Jan 12, 2019

Cours vraiment intéressant, qui a un intérêt autant pour les scientifiques que les magistrats, et permet de mieux comprendre l'interprétation des données scientifiques en forensique. La forme du cours est idéale : des vidéos courtes et qui reprennent plusieurs fois les notions importantes. Merci aux créateurs (des pointures du domaine forensique) du cours et vous qui hésitez encore, lancez-vous !

por Gaston Pezzuchi

Jan 11, 2019

Excellent Course, The transcripts should also be translated to other languages for the sake of non english speaking participants.

por Alexis M. Cepeda

Jan 07, 2019

It is a course to pay close attention because of the type of information taught. Forensic Statistics was difficult for me. I did learn a lot and believe I could use this information in my own Criminal Cases here in Yucatan, Mexico.

por Merisa Cenanovic

Jan 03, 2019

Beautifully designed course, interesting and on point lectures, creative and motivating lecturers. Loved included real cases. I enjoyed very much taking the course. Thank you for such constructive and helpful course!

por Yohana Sudwijayanti

Jan 03, 2019

Very nice course

por massimiliano stabile

Jan 02, 2019

I found in this course all the things that one forensic scientist must be aware about! Thank You