Chevron Left
Voltar para The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Truth About Cats and Dogs da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.8
estrelas
1,623 classificações
467 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

HR
26 de Mar de 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

LD
5 de Abr de 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. The lectures were very informative and I learned a lot from this course. I definitely recommend this course for anyone who is interested in dogs and cats. :)

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 463 Avaliações para o The Truth About Cats and Dogs

por Serena F

30 de Jul de 2020

Muy bueno, aunque sería ideal un curso para hablar de las técnicas para reducir la sobrepoblación canina y felina

por RASHED S M M A

21 de Jun de 2020

دوره ممتازة جدا لمحبين تربية الحيوانات القطط و الكلاب تزيدهم معرفه اكثر عن حيواناتهم الأليفة و كيفية الاعتناء بها

por Ruby B

3 de Jul de 2020

Really interesting and enjoyable course that was engaging and well-structured, with useful additional resources

por karen l b r

17 de Mai de 2020

muy buen curso, abre los ojos sobre como debemos tratar a nuestras mascotas y como entender sus comportamientos

por Patricia A W

21 de Set de 2017

Thank you very much, very well organize and also helpfull information. Continue doing it...more courses please

por akbara

28 de Ago de 2017

Great MOOC for pet lovers and professional. As a dog/cat behavior consultant, I find this course highly useful.

por Sally A

26 de Fev de 2019

Useful overview of dog and cat communication, of their lifetime needs and rationale for reward based training.

por Ella S

28 de Set de 2020

This was an amazing course! It was easy to understand, and it was fun and interesting. Thank you, Edinburgh!

por William A

3 de Mai de 2019

Really great stuff, valuable material to scientifically support what 'gentle-trainers' have known all along!

por Natashia J

10 de Set de 2017

It's an excellent course! Packed full of great information. Outline and format of course is very well done.

por Aradhya B

7 de Jul de 2020

This was really useful I learned a lot, I also could make connections with my cat after doing this course.

por Cortés F d A N

16 de Mai de 2020

I like this course and I hope you have many more, I would love a training based on the behavior of the dog

por Malekith D

19 de Jun de 2017

An excellent course, well-fitted for those who take animal wellfare and care close to heart, thank you!

por Deanna K H

8 de Ago de 2017

This course gave me much insight into my cats and dogs in my life, and I thought I knew a lot already!

por Carrie D V

9 de Jan de 2019

I have a greater appreciation for dogs and what we as humans mean to them and what they mean to us.

por Marina V

10 de Out de 2020

Incredible and very useful for every pet owner Actually I would recommend it before having the pet

por MR. P J

16 de Jun de 2020

very good information and knowledge is gained and you will come to know very much about your pet.

por Victoria F

27 de Mai de 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I found it interesting how we can impact the behaviors of our pets.

por Maymoonah B O

11 de Fev de 2018

It was a very good course and I learnt things I didn't know about and the videos were very good

por Sansanee A

6 de Out de 2017

I enjoyed taking this course because it provides useful information that I can use with my pet.

por Shumya A

9 de Out de 2020

Thank you so much to coursera for this nice platform and cordially thanks to the moderators.

por Alfred C A

4 de Ago de 2020

Very Informative and you can apply everything that you learn in giving your pets a happy life

por Pannuchit P

4 de Mai de 2020

Very good course. As a dog trainer, it is worth to know everything about cat too. Now, the kn

por Lucille G V P

28 de Jun de 2020

This is a really informative course. I learned a lot on how to better take care of our pets.

por Mohamed E

27 de Out de 2017

very great and fantastic course .... go on waiting more courses in animal clinical behavior