Chevron Left
Voltar para The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Truth About Cats and Dogs da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.8
estrelas
1,621 classificações
465 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

HR
26 de Mar de 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

LD
5 de Abr de 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. The lectures were very informative and I learned a lot from this course. I definitely recommend this course for anyone who is interested in dogs and cats. :)

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 463 Avaliações para o The Truth About Cats and Dogs

por Erin S

29 de Abr de 2017

Excellent. Good for pet owners and interested persons. Not as helpful for experienced animal professionals, but I learned a few new things regardless.

por Chern H Y

12 de Mai de 2020

Really learnt more about both cats' and dogs' behavior. very informative, insightful, and interesting. Love how it is being presented by animal owners.

por Joseph W

24 de Abr de 2020

I rate this course a five-star course because it really helped me understand the way that not only dogs communicate with us but with each other as well

por Zlata K

29 de Jun de 2020

Great content and fantastic lecturers. I wish I could join the class in the real world. I am in New Zealand though so online is the next best thing :)

por Robyn H

12 de Mai de 2017

Clear, concise, and informative. I particularly appreciated the de-bunking of myths such as the 'alpha' and pack theory. A very enjoyable course.

por Gina H

17 de Jun de 2020

This course was easy to use and understand. I learned so much and loved all the videos and extra resources available. The professors were great!

por Wioleta S

17 de Set de 2017

Very good and informative course. I would recommend it to everyone who has a contact with dogs and cats, from vet proffessionals and pet owners.

por Chung Y L C

22 de Jul de 2017

Detailed and accurate pet-oriented discussion to pet welfare and proper interaction. Every to-be pet (cats/dogs) owners should take this course!

por Theresa-Marie M

21 de Mai de 2017

A must for all new pet owners and old supposedly 'knowledgeable' owners. I've had pets all my life and learned a lot, including what I do wrong.

por Юлия

26 de Nov de 2020

I gained knowledge about animal behavior and health. The information is presented in a beautiful and convenient format. Thanks for the course.

por Gabriela Á L

23 de Out de 2020

I loved this curse. It was very entertained. I understood a lot of my cats' behaviours and I am sure I will ensure their well-being. Thanks :3

por Tamsin C

25 de Jun de 2017

A well-presented and easy-to-follow course about the latest research into dog and cat needs. Highly recommended for all pet owners and carers!

por Angeles V

25 de Jul de 2020

Excellent course. If you want to know more about our pets and improve your relatioship and your bond with them, you should take this course.

por Reynaldo L M J

28 de Nov de 2020

I really love this course! They talked about the myths, the common attitudes of cats and dogs, and the proper way to care for them. Kuddos!

por Sonia C d M

20 de Mar de 2018

With this course you will be aware of absolutely everything that your pet dogs and cats really need to live happy and healthy in our world.

por Shannon C

16 de Jul de 2017

I loved this course! All the subtle ways my cat and dog communicate have been explained and I now have a better understanding of the what's

por Michael

20 de Fev de 2018

Very well assembled and presented throughout. I learned a lot about a topic which I considered myself to be fairly well versed beforehand.

por Jaqueline W G M

7 de Jul de 2020

Very informative, a good resource for anyone who keeps pets at home and is interested on providing them with a better quality of life.

por Bernadette R

10 de Out de 2017

Awesome course, even as a vet its a great reminder on how to improve pet welfare for your patients and your own pets. Great ressource!

por Kiều D

16 de Jul de 2017

Very useful this course , thank you all amazing team who has support all owners can understand more abut ther pets. Thank you so much!

por Marieta C

10 de Out de 2020

A very useful eye-opening course for pet owners and animal lovers alike. Charming lecturers, well structured, easy-to-follow content.

por Sarah H

31 de Ago de 2017

It was a great course with lots of important information. I knew most of the things about dogs but it still was very valuable for me.

por Renato G

24 de Mai de 2017

Great course for all those who are cat and/or dog owners and wish to deepen, in a very relaxed way, one's knowledge of these animals.

por Loralee B

7 de Jul de 2017

A must-take for all cat and dog owners! I learned a lot and have been able to use the info to provide better conditions for my cats.

por Estibaliz S G

25 de Nov de 2020

Un curso realmente interesante en el que se aprende mucho, incluso teniendo una profesión ligada al mundo animal. 100% recomendado.