Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Career Development

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Career Development da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
12,206 classificações
4,661 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

TT

12 de nov de 2021

I enjoyed this Course English for Career Development and learnt a lot .The instructor were so helpful and proactive that it was easy for me to learn and I was able to reach clear all the assignment ..

R

20 de jul de 2020

AN EXCELLENT COURSE. THE TEACHERS ARE OUT STANDING. THERE IS A CLARITY OF THOUGHT AND EXPRESSION IN THE TEACHERS. EVERY ONE WHO IS SEARCHING FOR JOB SHOULD DO THIS COURSE. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE TEAM.

Filtrar por:

4201 — 4225 de 4,679 Avaliações para o English for Career Development

por Ghazanfar A N

10 de ago de 2021

it helped me very much as it increase my knowledge and will be helpful in future job search process. but there are few areas which can be improved. in all test quiz/ flash card quiz 2-3 questions are from future lecture which effect on result. Secondly I have issue with assignment grading as most of reviewers/ candidate does mark your work honestly and mark it in fun with mostly giving low grades and give useless feedback to your work which demotivates the learner. In my opinion there should be someone from the website who should review the grading as well.

por Sharmin A

19 de ago de 2020

I really thankful for the course. I've learned so much from the course. I got to learn about U.S job sites and their process though there aren't all similar in my country. Now I know how to write a great resume along with cover letter and the most important thing how will I going to face the interview with confidence. I really wanna give a special thanks to our instructors of this course they were so good and for them it was actually became very easy for me to understand the course. Now that I've gained enough confidence I think I'll do better to get a job.

por Mohammed A S

5 de jul de 2020

I got a very good opportunity to improve my English for future career developing and improve way to communication in organization to staff which are team members manager and others. I am got one more opportunity to in future career improvement increase growth my career in other field also. And how to prepare resume and covering letter and how to speak colleagues & staff to like taboo(not ask anyone religion,politics & salary) etc. thanks to this course design and presented professor & university

por Rose B

6 de abr de 2020

An interesting, well-organized course, with helpful examples and engaging teachers (in some reviews, people complain about the speed, but you can easily regulate that, I watched most videos on +1.50). It emphasizes both the process (from job seeking to final interview, step-by-step) and the vocabulary & grammar basics needed for descent writing in English. Many quizzes are too easy, but overall it's a great course, especially if you are a high school student and you don't know where to start from.

por Deleted A

19 de abr de 2020

Good to learn resume and cover letter writing. Can learn strategies to appear in interview. It helped me to present myself smart in resume and cover letter. And added values on how to appear and prepare for interview. Overall good course but did not include English language learning. This course is much more about career development rather than language learning. But still learn new phrases and verb that improved my English language as well. Thank you for developing this course.

por Birendra B

3 de jul de 2020

Yes i find this course very useful as the English grammar that has been used is not that hard and complex to follow. But what i find more meaningful to attend this course is that using the proper way of finding the job, preparing resume,cover letter ,and elevator speech. I am satisfied and have broaden my perspective and knowledge while going for job search process in future. Instructors were very good as well and the course was well structured .

por Manilal _

22 de jul de 2020

EXCELLENT. I could able to learn the things here may not able to Learn outside at all. But the one thing which discourage me, it is. It was first said that it's free course and will offer certificate after completion. But as I completed this course and then it was showing that I have to purchase, so I am not... happy with your way.... which makes other to .... show what you are going to offer...otherwise don't show that it is.....😔😔

por Paul F

10 de out de 2020

Thanks for the course. For me, it was great to refresh my resume and cover letter knowledge. Also to use English to study a topic and learn some new words it was great. Some parts o the course like the use of the media to promote me I really do not feel comfortable following your instructions. Also, some examples of doing and not doing were a little obvious. In general, I liked it. Regards, Paul.

por Mohamed N

7 de set de 2021

I am really happy to attend this course and I benefited so much from it. I also like to thank this nice couple of lecturers (Prof. Brian McManus & Prof. Robyn Turner) who conveyed the course topics in a very friendly and harmonized way, my special gratitude to Robyn for her word by a word speaking especially for me, as English is a 2nd Language to me.

I recommended this course all people in all ages.

por Fanny R

18 de fev de 2018

El curso es excelente, explica claramente el proceso que conlleva a ser contratado por una empresa u organización. Sin embargo para mejorar el aprendizaje del estudiante es importante tener una valoración de las tareas de cada sesión por un experto y no solo por otros estudiantes, esto permitira que cada alumno conozco sus debilidades (gramática, vocabulario etc) y poder trabajar en ello

por Abhi V J

13 de set de 2019

Great Course for someone looking to know about entering a job market.

great stuff and really useful and helpful.

thanks to all the professors and to The University of Pennsylvania and Us Government for providing such a course and thanks to Coursera for providing such great platform for people like us to learn and grow.

also thanks to everyone else who contributed towards this Cours.

por Bionny A

22 de set de 2020

I loved it, I learned a lot, it seems very good for people who just recently got to the United States, I have lived in the States for over 25 years and I have worked for corporate America, however I learned a lot since I haven't had to look for job in many years, this helped my with learning what is important nowadays. I would love to see a course for more senior workers.

por Rachna

12 de abr de 2020

prepare person properly before applying job . I m Undergraduate and have no plans of joining job before completing my graduation but i think it was very important to learn all these things at this point of time so that we could also work on resume building.

I deducted one star because price of this certificate is high according to me.

por Yasunori S

15 de ago de 2020

Teachers speak slow. Scripts for all videos could be seen (I found this function after I had passed the half). So, it is ideal for learners of basic English. The initial course looks start early, but some materials have added until recently. If you are interested in career development in the States, why not take this?

por Juan R V C

13 de jul de 2020

It was an interesting experience overall. Even though I knew most of the topics, there was always something new I didn’t know about. I feel better equipped and more confident when preparing my resume, networking or coping with a job interview. Thanks to the instructors, very well articulated and professionals.

por Rupali

8 de set de 2020

I am really happy and updated after completing this course. This course taught me to how to upgrade your self while looking for jobs, how to write Resume and cover letter. It also taught me how to prepare for facing the interview and prepare interview questions.

Thank you Iam really oblige

por Vytautas L

4 de mai de 2021

Great course. Several language learning disciplines combined into one main topic. Also specific areas covered provided in deep aspects. Few minor shortfalls while attending course on mobile device. Great teaching techniques used. Informative as well. Overall grade would be 4.6 out of 5.

por HILAL I K

5 de mai de 2020

Thank you for teaching me what I do and don't in interviewing. I gained lots of new experiences and abilities in this course. Teachers are really helpful and their videos are understandable and clear. Videos, readings, quizzes, and practices are useful to learn for career development.

por jyoti p

7 de mai de 2020

It is a wonderful course for every one who really want to do something different in their life and for those who are worried about there jobs and career.

We all have potential to do something special in life but there is need of some step to take those steps are here.

Great job!😊

por Franziska H

13 de nov de 2018

After first steps in the course (Problems with the peer) I got along very good. I found out that I didn't need always that much time as optionally supposed. So I was glad to finish a bit earlier. Anyway a great possibility online learning - this was my first experiance. Thank you.

por Heba S

2 de mai de 2021

Actually, the course is very interesting and informative; it serves the key elements for starting your career. Also, the teachers are very friendly, enthusiasm and perfect. Literally, I got the most from this course, and I recommend it for who loves to develop their career life.

por Amina G

4 de mai de 2020

This course helps us how to write Resume in proper way,and how to talk with people when we meet other peoples specially in gatherings /meetings.Learn about Verbs,past present and perfect tense.Lots of learning in Day to day life,got confidence.Thanks for everything.

por Ramón G G

24 de mar de 2019

I have learned so much, about how to develop a resumen, cover letter... in USA, it is very similar in my country, and is very interesting the using media to let you know. Personaly, I wanted to learn English and above all listening to undestand beter.

por André L B d F

5 de mai de 2020

A good course for people without professional experience or few years of experience. For experient workers is a perfect opportunity to practice english, if you are an experient worker with advanced level in english, the course could be a little weak.