Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Career Development

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Career Development da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
12,004 classificações
4,591 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

EB

3 de jul de 2020

Thank you for letting us to use this opportunity at this pandemic situation.\n\nI find this course has a lot example which is unstandable and illustration and so efficient for newcomer and job seeker.

DI

24 de ago de 2019

It is the very useful course for learning, this course provides videos for better understanding. A part from that there are exams like quiz, games, video recording, review of classmates work and all..

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 4,605 Avaliações para o English for Career Development

por Amnuaysak T

29 de jun de 2020

One of the good English course I ever attended. I learnt how to properly write resume, cover letter, preparing ourself for a job interview , and norm commonly accepted and practice in the U.S. and many other countries.

University of Pennsylvania and Coursera have created a good course which is useful and beneficial to all job seekers.

Thank you all people concerned to make this course available to many people who need good , constructive, beneficial in finding jobs or even who just want to improve his English language skills.

por Hasan A

10 de ago de 2020

I thoroughly and rigorously loved this course. I'm very glad to have completed this course. I got to learn a lot regarding the job interviews and how to make a professional resume and cover letter. Although this course was simply amazing, it was pretty easy for me. In fact I had no troubles at all completing all the assignments before the deadline. I was expecting more of a challenge. In the future, I'd like to know the difficulty level of a course before enrolling in it. I hope coursera helps make it pretty clear.

por Chrysavgi P

1 de fev de 2020

As non-native English speaker this course helped me to develop certain skills such as following the right steps to job search process, application and interview. In addition to this, I have enriched my English Vocabulary with regards to Career Development and related terms and definitions. One of the things that I liked most was the combination of interactive features and relevant knowledge especially the instructors' videos because they were pleasant and beneficial at the same time. I do recommend this course.

por NAGA V S

22 de abr de 2020

After taking the course ,my perspective view about online courses have changed , the course was made in such a way ,it was simple to learn and understand , i really enjoyed the journey ,my resume is now set to one page ,and I clearly follow the instructions while applying for job interviews , separate resumes are prepared , And ensure covering letter has been sent out for every job application , if required i come back for any clarification

i have put a recommendation of the courses available in my circle .

por Diego S

15 de set de 2020

That's a good opportunity to increase the writing, understanding, and learning new subjects, sentences and words. Don't underestimate the tittle "English for Career". You really need all of those explanations, even if you are not a job seeker or an employer.

I also could found many specific and important information so different from my country

I am looking forward to the next course made by this institution.

Thank you all, specifically to my teachers Brian McManus and Robyn Turner!

Cheers from Brazil!

por Bojana P

25 de mar de 2018

I am so gratefull for being a part of this great course. As a 24 young person, who is looking for a job, it was so important to learn about job applications,CV-s,cover letters and the most asked questions by employers. All those things i found here, and the most important thing i learned it.

Thanks you for organising this course, and to be a part of professional development of young people.

You are great, and i will continue with the next part, more complex and more advanced on your site.

por Amare A

4 de jun de 2020

The course English for Career development is the most useful to improve the challenge on the dynamic job search. The course bring a lot of learning from the simplest to more challenging move. This course also link with other professionals in the glob with different background to review assignments, and this also a good learning each other. The instructors and their education methodology, language and procedure is very smart and I'm not tired even reading long for this training.

Thanks,

por Tharindu D

4 de set de 2021

I learned English language and a lot of things related to developing my career within this course. I am truly grateful for Coursera for offering this great opportunity to me. With all my heart, thank you instructors for making this course interesting. This is a truly amazing course for people who want to develop their skills in English language and career development. I recommend this course for everyone who is willing to learn and improve their knowledge on English. Thank you!!!

por Lucas F d C M

2 de mai de 2019

This is a great course to better understand the hiring process and the skill the candidate should develop and explore.

It's good for people who live in the US but also for who does not because of the exchange of information between students the teachers promove, and also because many lessons are focused about the candidate her/himself that does not matter much where the person is.

I appreciate the opportunity and strongly recommend this course for those who are seeking for a job.

por Nay L A

2 de out de 2020

This is very awesome English for Career Development and I've learned a number of knowledge about grammar, communication, creating writing, resume, cover letter, interview, and many more in this course. This course is well designed and develops many videos, games, and quiz. Both lectures are specialist for career development that can able to understand clearly. From my personal perspective, this could take the person who is actively looking for a job or fresh graduate student.

por Steve S

19 de ago de 2021

Designed primarily for English as a 2nd (or further) language, this course slowly works through the process of creating a resume', cover letter and the interview process. Its slow and gradual and gets in between the teeth of the opportunity to get ready and apply and find and ask for a job. Its all directed for the job search and aquisition.

More English for foreigners would help but this course focuses on the job aquisition process and is clear for what it says it is.

por Baddegamage O K

25 de nov de 2020

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I learned a lot from this course. This course is really very valuable for my career. And this course was well explained to us by those two teachers. I studied with great interest. I would like to thank those teachers and the organizing committee and Google for this course again. I successfully completed English Career For Development course.Again thank you very much..I highly recommend this course for everyone...

Best regards,

Oshadie kanisha.

por Mrcelebratelife

10 de jul de 2021

This is a really useful course! Thank you instructors for your dedication in the preparation of this course. Complex concepts are simplified for easier understanding. Video duration are great for easy viewing. In a time where job stability is compromised to a rather large extent, I would encourage job seekers or even any working professionals to attend this online course as they would reap the benefits long after the course has ended. Once again, a million thanks!

por Aleksandr S

13 de mai de 2020

It was interesting experience to try this course. I had known many new things about job-searching process in US in comparison with my country. All material from this course was easy to perceive. I didn't have any problem with English in this course, it was easy and understandably for non-native speakers like me. My level of English between B2-C1. I definitely recommend it for everyone especially for someone who thinks about job in US. Thanks to the authors!

por Krishna P P

28 de mai de 2020

Among many courses, English for Career Development is a course designed so carefully keeping the learners in mind. This is an excellent course if you are the beginner and if English is not your mother tongue. If you are searching courses and feeling difficult to choose one, this is the best of the bests. Missing this course is missing blood in body in regard to online courses. So I recommend you to involve without any delay.

Krishna prasad prasain

Nepal

por melesse t

25 de nov de 2021

Hello ,i have followed these course efficiently for more than two months in that i have got astonishing skills , grammar and speaking improvements and more else. Finally i have completed the course today. So as you said initially these course is free course with certificate , that you help me by sending certificate to use for several scholar applications. Dear/sear please help me i have scholar application soon on way. You great helps needs me now.

por DANIELA-IONELA A

31 de mai de 2020

Thank you so much for this great course that increased my english knowledge,made me understand what are the employers views and what essential skills,hoit should be a correct resume,cover letter or interview that can help me get the job I want to apply for.Wish all of the team best of luck and I will definitely reccomend this amazing course to my friends,family and other people looking for a great solution to improve English for Career Development!

por Gavrila A

18 de mai de 2020

Hi!

I enjoyed the activities involved in this Career Development course.

I have to thank Robyn and Brian for their professional presentations. Also, mixing and alternating the content -text, videos, quiz, puzzles - helped to fix what has been presented.

Great achievements, in a professional manner! I hope I will encounter many other interesting courses on the Coursera site!

I recommend this site to all people interested to keep learning and active!

por M H

3 de mai de 2020

It was fun going through each part of the course and I learnt a lot from the course.Right from knowing the basic teminology used in job seeking to writing a resume and cover letter followed by ways of networking to tips on presenting good interview to make a good first impression,the course is well built with every small detail required.Also presenting subtitles to videos helped the students like us who are not well versed with US english.

por Pedro A A C

17 de jul de 2020

Me gusto mucho -ECD- porque todos los audios y ejercicios vienen en idioma Ingles, los audios avanzan a la par de las oraciones escritas, te advierte y ejemplica con tips en el uso de frases y gramatica, te enzeña como presentar un curriculo de forma profesional en Estados unidos, y te da una guia para la entrevista de trabajo, requiere disciplina, su contenido es robusto, yo aprobe la version gratis pues no califique para financiamiento

por Hina M

19 de ago de 2020

This is a course that even the most basic level speaker of English can easily comprehend and actually learn everything about finding employment. It takes you through all the baby steps until you can be finally ready to face an interview. A great help to people who have been out of the job market as well.

I would like to thank the instructors for preparing such detailed lessons. Thank you so very much to everyone behind making this course.

por Bahadur A T

5 de abr de 2020

I am wholeheartedly thankful to coursera management who gave us such an amazing online learning platform to gain our expected training programs and courses. And I must say that courses compilation is a magnificent and way of teaching is also excellent. I have interest in some other courses I hope so I will keep continuing them soon, but currently, world is suffering from corona pandemic, I believe that soon we will overcome on it.

por ROBERTO V R

16 de jul de 2020

Hi!!! My name is Roberto Villena, I was born in Mexico City and I graduated for Business Administration, the I got another specialization in Economics, Finance, Risk Analysis and Marketing, for the course was very interesting and useful even though I am retired, so now I play Golf, travel, read and spent time with my family, but it is important to keep up dated, congratulation for the course to the School and the Instructors.

por Kim N L

18 de out de 2020

What a great course for beginner to intermediate. Thank you for creating an amazing course and it is complete free to enrol. I only begins to my university studies a week ago and have no work experience or any knowledge about how to write a appropriate résume what so ever. I've just completed this course today and I would say now I have a proper knowledge about job seeking. Once again, Thank you so much for this free course.

por María E N R

9 de jul de 2020

Es un curso adaptado para que cualquier persona que este aprendiendo ingles pueda entenderlo, esto con conocimientos previos y con la motivación requerida para lograr alcanzar el objetivo de desarrollar nuestras habilidades y poder ingresar en el campo laboral. No me queda si no agradecer a los profesionales que participaron y participan para que todos podamos desarrollarnos profesionalmente. Muchas Gracias y éxito.