Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to the Biology of Cancer da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrelas
6,506 classificações

Sobre o curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Melhores avaliações

AH

17 de mar de 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

13 de jan de 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtrar por:

1226 — 1250 de 1,257 Avaliações para o Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por Lukas P

16 de abr de 2016

I think that the course itself is very interesting and useful, but unfortunately you have to purchase the course straight away to be able to do the tests.

por Liliana C P M

28 de set de 2017

Superficial information/knowledge and boring presentation.

I think we should be able to do the graduate tests and purchase the course in the end of it.

por FATHIMATHUL F V

26 de mai de 2020

Superb💯 first time idont know about cancer &its process but now it is really easy able....thanks for ur commitment tnks all professors 🥰😍

por Shakira

16 de mai de 2017

Very interesting content, some of the lectures good have made more effort in bringing across the content in a more exciting manner.

por ray .

26 de set de 2020

The course provides a good introduction to cancer and how it can be treated, very informative and easy to keep up with

por Randy C

19 de mai de 2016

Tough call on this. The course itself is excellent [5] but the "money grab, you must pay attitude" is horrible [0].

por Alicia C

25 de ago de 2020

Hello, my finish the course and I do the honors extra questions but I didnt get my certifícate with honors

por Aarjvi J

28 de nov de 2020

Well explained and a good one if you are just starting with MOOCs

por Charandeep J

18 de nov de 2018

Videos could be better, too short and narrated robotically

por Abhi B

18 de jul de 2020

There is a problem with receiving the honors certificate.

por Keith L

11 de nov de 2019

Nice introduction. Statistics could do with an update.

por Deleted A

23 de jun de 2016

I would prefer to see the speaker during the lecture.

por Ivan S

21 de fev de 2019

Too simple for that price. For very beginners.

por Lev R S

23 de mai de 2017

excellent course for beginners and biologists.

por Esraa M A M n

6 de set de 2020

it was a good experiment and I learn a lot

por Shivani M

3 de jul de 2018

The lectures can be more interactive

por ARIJIT A M P I ( V

14 de dez de 2020

excellent basics concept of cancer.

por IJAZ A

16 de abr de 2020

realistic and advanced knowledge

por Sufia B

30 de mai de 2020

good course. i enjoyed so much.

por Nur A A P

26 de mai de 2020

Neither best nor worst!

por Jade B

4 de set de 2016

Not done... All 5?

por Sakina S S

16 de ago de 2020

very informative

por Ken S

27 de jun de 2021

There are many courses that raise your opinion of an institution. This is to be expected; think about why a university might offer an online class for free. But to my surprise, my opinion of Johns Hopkins went down - way down - as a result of completing this course. Why? "Experts" who couldn't pronounce words ("genome", "radionuclide") used in their own area of expertise. Factually incorrect information, like "both copies of a gene must have a mutation for cancer to occur", which is not true for many genes. Also, a strong tendency to use words, abbreviations, and acronyms that have never been defined, which is not appropriate for an "introduction" to something. I'm not saying there wasn't any good information - there was some - but overall, this class was disappointing.

por Mariya L

19 de mar de 2017

Too basic knowledge, not enough information about targeted therapy, everything is explained without going into any details

por A A

24 de nov de 2020

Not engaging at all. Did not enjoy and I don't think I will retain much information due to how it was presented.