Chevron Left
Voltar para Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.8
384 classificações
81 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course provides an analytical framework to help you evaluate key problems in a structured fashion and will equip you with tools to better manage the uncertainties that pervade and complicate business processes. Specifically, you will be introduced to statistics and how to summarize data and learn concepts of frequency, normal distribution, statistical studies, sampling, and confidence intervals. While you will be introduced to some of the science of what is being taught, the focus will be on applying the methodologies. This will be accomplished through the use of Excel and data sets from many different disciplines, allowing you to see the use of statistics in very diverse settings. The course will focus not only on explaining these concepts, but also understanding the meaning of the results obtained. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Summarize large data sets in graphical, tabular, and numerical forms. • Understand the significance of proper sampling and why you can rely on sample information. • Understand why normal distribution can be used in so many settings. • Use sample information to infer about the population with a certain level of confidence about the accuracy of the estimations. • Use Excel for statistical analysis. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Melhores avaliações

DA

May 15, 2018

The separation of the concepts and Excel skills made the lessons very easy to navigate. Although I knew the concepts from a previous statistics course, the Excel skills made everything feel like new!

RD

Jun 02, 2019

Very useful for beginners as well as anyone interested in learning some basics. Highly recommended for managers and people trying to figure out what insights can be obtained form data

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making

por Vasvi M

Apr 10, 2018

For a novice in Statistics such as me - This course has done wonders in adequately aiding me in understanding the basics as well as prepared me to delve deeper into the subject! The professor in this course has done a fantastic job of simplifying otherwise complex ideas . I would strongly urge those who'd like to foray into exploring and producing data and making sense of data to take this course.

por Eliane D

Mar 11, 2018

It's a lot of theory. Thank's

por Zimuzor O

Apr 23, 2017

I gained useful insight on data analysis from this course that directly applies to work that I am doing on assessing the accuracy of a new measurement method.

por Ifeanyi N

Feb 25, 2018

It was really good. Gained deeper insights into statistics than I have ever done before.

por Céline F

Jan 13, 2018

Great teacher, very clear in her videos and Excel tutorials

A résumé of the formula and main calculations might be useful to use this knowledge afterwards; I don't know if she provides one somewhere (?)

I was just deceived by the first 2 weeks as I had experience in statistics, it was too easy; so I would recommend the course's summary to be more clear

por Vivek B

Apr 07, 2018

Excellent Course - Great learning!

por Viktoriia G

Apr 23, 2017

Well done!

por Vusal T K

Aug 23, 2016

Great explanation!

por Michael R

Apr 22, 2018

Great course and structure. Professor was great.

por Renier S

Feb 01, 2017

I had audited so many courses until I found this one. The best!!!

por Heidi M

Apr 11, 2018

Prof Fataneh is amazing!!

por Pierre L

Jun 17, 2018

Excellent course.

por Juan T

Nov 15, 2017

Great course. Conductor is exceptional, knowledgeable and professional.

por Anil P

Sep 19, 2017

A well-planned course for beginners in Decision Support Systems, I would recommend this course to my peers and students !

Thanks

por Keith M K

Jan 17, 2017

Good instructor. Straight forward material.

por Sudhan K

May 09, 2018

Well organized !!

por Romain V

Jul 27, 2016

Love data analy

por Mauro S

Nov 18, 2016

Excellent

por José T

Jun 28, 2016

One of the best course I have taken in Coursera so far. The subjects is absolutely interesting and the teacher succeeds in making the course both rigourous and fun. There is plenty of practice material to consolidate the knowledge.

por Laleen D

May 02, 2018

This is truly a great course. Anyone in a business program or a working professional will be very thankful that they took statistics with Professor TAghaboni-Dutta. She is a remarkable teacher and consistently ranks as one of Illinois' best Professors. The two class sessions break down statistics into easy-to-understand lessons. Professor Taghaboni-Dutta incorporates contemporary interesting problems and issues into her lessons, which make statistics much more interesting!. Another feature of this class, which I considered a wonderful value, are her extra instructional videos showing how to use Excel to solve statistics problems. These videos are better than anything else I've found. I'm serious, even MSFT doesn't have instructional videos that are as good and easy to understand as the ones in this class. If they were posted on You-Tube, she'd probably get sponsors quickly.

I don't mean to sound like a cheerleader, but I know what it is like to take Statistics from a bad teacher. I took Statistics a long time ago, before Excel existed. I remember trying to understand a professor who spent all of her time writing out proofs and never answering questions. It was one of the most frustrating depressing classes of my undergraduate experience. Professor Taghaboni-Dutta's classes are enjoyable and educational. She is highly accommodating and yet thorough. Heck, I'm even considering taking more classes in statistics. and probability. Bottom line, this class is a total home-run and a significant value for the money!

por P. D K

Apr 22, 2017

Teaches some good applications of statistics with plenty of real world examples, and hands on experience with Excel.

However, be aware that this class heavily depends on Microsoft Excel, so in order follow this class exactly, you will need a copy of Microsoft Excel and a computer and operating system that can run it. You can mostly get by with alternatives but you will be on your own to figure out how to apply the concepts in this class to LibreOffice or other statistical software.

por Michael

Jan 08, 2018

Clear direction and easy to follow. Great intro to implementing a statistical approach in data analyses.

por Charlotta S R

Jan 17, 2017

superinteresting

por Libor T

Jul 23, 2017

hard but interesting

por Tamara M

May 24, 2017

Exceptional instructor and concise, useful teachings.