Chevron Left
Voltar para Monte um computador moderno usando os primeiros princípios: de NAND a Tetris (curso com base em projetos)

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Monte um computador moderno usando os primeiros princípios: de NAND a Tetris (curso com base em projetos) da instituição Universidade Hebraica de Jerusalém

4.9
estrelas
2,945 classificações
915 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Melhores avaliações

AI
13 de Jun de 2021

Undeniably one of the best computer science courses. The advertising isn't false! This course permanently changed my perspective on hardware and software along with the relationship between the two...

RD
22 de Mai de 2021

Thanks to the instructors for bringing forth such an amazing course. The way the course is strucured makes it very interesting and easy to learn. Loved and enjoyed the course and learnt a lot from it

Filtrar por:

851 — 875 de 914 Avaliações para o Monte um computador moderno usando os primeiros princípios: de NAND a Tetris (curso com base em projetos)

por S V k

11 de Dez de 2017

good

por JY

8 de Fev de 2020

极好!

por Jorge R

12 de Nov de 2020

si

por Aalap S

2 de Mai de 2020

Being a student of Electrical Engineering (with background in programming), this course helped me fill the gap between combinational/sequential digital circuits and a full-fledged computer that can run assembly programs. The instructors have put in a lot of effort in developing this course, and it shows in the course assignments (esp. the sheer amount of supporting software), the structure of the course, and most importantly the elegance of the computer architecture designed for this course. The assignments have a nice balance between being challenging yet completely do-able after just watching the lecture videos. I also liked the perspectives unit at the end of each week, though I wish they covered a bit more there. Maybe I'll start with Princeton's Computer Architecture course after this one.

Things that can be improved: There was some overlap of content between week 4 and 6 and also within week 6 itself (unit 6.4 and 6.5 seem like basically the same thing said by different instructors). Also, maybe a bit more focus on electronics during the first few weeks wouldn't hurt. Concepts of delay (which ultimately govern clock frequencies) could have been covered while discussing sequential circuits.

por Michael K

30 de Ago de 2020

This course is amazing! I really enjoyed working on those projects and learning how to build a real computer. Even though I took Computer Organization course in the Open University, and knew most of the concepts taught in this course, it was really inspiring and exciting, to actually get to build the projects and get the feeling of building a real computer. Having said that, I believe the tooling provided, should be updated, to give a better user experience, and fix some of the UI glitches, that it has.

por Dan M

11 de Abr de 2016

Good starting point but very slim on the 'why's and the hardware is quite unlike anything you'd find in real life. In addition, I feel they leave too much unsaid and rely on visual comprehension far too much. I had to use the book to figure out the last two weeks. Overall, I did learn the more practical sides of hardware that other textbooks failed to convey. If they would add a Status register and break 'branching' into a separate instruction then I'd be happy with the CPU.

por Gerardo

10 de Jul de 2017

The program takes you step by step into the development of a functional model of a computer. It delivers everything it promises and is very well integrated. I put 4 stars because 4 and half is not possible, and I feel that you need to be a little bit familiar with logic and computers in order to do progress at the rate the course requires, because although every chapter is formidably explained, it can take much more time for anyone to fully understand the concepts.

por Sonya L

8 de Jan de 2019

Took more work and effort than expected (except for the last project which was surprisingly easy going), and although there were (many) moments of frustration, there was always a sense of accomplishment at the end. Everything ties together in a very satisfying way. But I would prefer if the course provided more support than just the forum for questions and queries, because I found it hard to find help when I most needed it.

por James P

20 de Mai de 2016

Fantastic course. I found it challenging enough to keep me interested, but not so difficult that I got annoyed or frustrated. However, a lot of the material I found to be a re cap of concepts I was already vaguely familiar with having worked in IT for 20 years. A true beginner would most likely find some of the concepts difficult to start with - but keep at it!

por foreverip

29 de Dez de 2016

I loved this course. Some criticism though is that the course doesn't go into detail on the architecture of modern day computers. Also, some things were simplified in the course, which is a little disappointing. However, I did get to build my own computer, and I learned quite a lot from this course, so it was definitely worth spending time taking the course.

por SATHVIK S

8 de Abr de 2020

Digital Design could have been included as a part of the curriculum which would have explained the inner workings of all the memory modules. A more deeper understanding of the clock could have been provided. The fact that we have a different clock for the the execution of the micro instructions could have also been explained.

por Ricardo

12 de Jul de 2018

This course is amazing! just the fact that the teachers can explain something that is very difficult and make it feel that is easy, it's pretty impressive and helpful. The only reason why a don't give all starts is because the teachers sometimes repeat the same thing over and over and make the videos feel a little bit slow.

por Chris K

26 de Jan de 2017

The HDL syntax I felt was a bit fiddly, and sometimes hard to find the relevant technical details such as language definitions in the videos, but overall a very interesting and enjoyable course. Happy to pay for it despite it essentially being available free.

por Enrique S

30 de Set de 2019

O curso tem a proposta de servir para qualquer pessoa que deseja aprender arquitetura de computadores sem ter nenhum conhecimento prévio. Creio que um leigo completo no assunto talvez tenha dificuldades. Fora isso, é uma excelente ferramenta de aprendizado!

por Alex M

19 de Jun de 2016

I was skeptical of HDL at first, and wished that the course had used a more industry-friendly language. I'm glad the instructors addressed this in the course. The HDL language used in the course is simple enough that hardly any time is "wasted" learning it.

por Lexter S

2 de Mai de 2021

Amazing course! I learned a lot. A bit of a downside: It is much harder than you might think if you are not in a STEM background. Getting my head wrapped around the binary inputs and outputs is driving me crazy. But to finish it is very rewarding!

por Ben D

15 de Ago de 2020

A thoroughly enriching and illuminating tour of the fundamentals of computation. After completing this course I am now able to better understand how computers function which provides a tangible benefit when writing software.

por Kit B

21 de Nov de 2019

I've really enjoyed this course. It was a lot of fun and I'm looking forward to part 2.

It can be a little tough to simply write HDL though and without the Nand Game (nandgame.com) I would have found this much more difficult.

por Manogna

6 de Abr de 2017

The course was very informative and interesting , I had a tough time doing the assignments but it was worth learning.Definitely a interesting insight into the building blocks of a computer.

por Aniswar S K

19 de Mai de 2019

Great course to know about the fundamentals about the hardware of the computer is built. Though most of it is abstracted out, you still get a better picture than just doing programming

por Sanjeev S

17 de Ago de 2016

one of the best courses one can take to understand how computers are build from ground up

The course is organized in such a way such that its very easy to understand and relate

por Edwin H

20 de Nov de 2016

Fun course to take. Makes you realize how much we depend on abstraction in our world. A few notes on documentation (your own code) and version-control would complete it...

por Jonathan G

27 de Mai de 2021

Very informative book, although does not seem to go into great depth. The projects were not super difficult either. A great way to start learning how computers work.

por Sergio J G O

19 de Abr de 2021

Muy interesante, me gustó mucho. Sin embargo, siento que en las tareas más difíciles debería haber otro tipo de apoyo. Pero en general, excelente curso.

por PLN R

15 de Fev de 2019

It is an amazing course for people at any level!! The instructors go right from basics, until the high level stuff. Definitely recommend the course!