Chevron Left
Voltar para Blockchain Basics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Blockchain Basics da instituição Universidade de Buffalo

4.6
estrelas
6,667 classificações
1,653 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Melhores avaliações

TT

18 de nov de 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

U

31 de dez de 2019

One of the Best course for Absolutely Beginners :-) Discussed Core Fundamental Factors of Blockchain of Bitcoin and Ethereum. Amazing Resources & Really Helpful Content. Thanks Bina Ramamurthy Ma'am.

Filtrar por:

1601 — 1625 de 1,677 Avaliações para o Blockchain Basics

por Leon H

16 de dez de 2018

The transcript text should be spell checked

por Nanda K

3 de out de 2018

Good material but course is not taught well

por Vlad S

20 de fev de 2021

The explanations were rather superficial.

por RAKESH P

6 de mar de 2019

its good to knowinng about the blockchain

por Avijit G

22 de fev de 2022

Good content but lectures are too short.

por Hemant k

12 de jun de 2020

course in well but need more explanation

por Akash S

26 de jun de 2020

Its very basic without much hands-on.

por Aditya M

6 de jun de 2021

C​ould have been more detailed

por Chaithali B

20 de jun de 2020

Good experience as a beginner.

por JIAN C Y

22 de jun de 2020

It quite hard to understand

por Ruiming D

28 de jul de 2018

Maybe too high level for me

por Mayank M

23 de abr de 2020

nice course for beginner

por Nam H

18 de jun de 2018

Ok, it's a good overview

por Md. F M

19 de jul de 2020

It's a good course.

por Dake L

15 de jul de 2020

... Too simple

por Clot J

11 de fev de 2021

Basics only

por Joerg F

2 de mar de 2021

After terminating another Coursera course (Applied Machine Learning in Python) which I found too difficult to be considered a medium difficult course, I found this one too easy.

Also, I didn't like the mixture between very short videos with a - sorry - strange tutor that most of the time didn't look at you (because of the camera angle, I found this very disturbing) and a whole bunch of reading material where a lot of the links didn't work anymore. It gave me the impression, that this course has been compiled without putting very much effort into it and there is no regular checking whether the linked material is still available.

The tests were a joke, they often just had 3 or 4 questions.

Then - in the final "programming exercise" you had to install a virtual box in the commercial software VirtualBox. VirtualBox as a prerequisite to successfully complete this course was never mentioned in any of the previous sessions. Luckily I already had a working VirtualBox installation on my private PC. (On my company PC, the admins would never install VirtualBox due to security reasons.) It would have been very frustrating if I had found out in week 4 that I was not able to complete the course. At least the environment in that "Ethereum" virtual machine was working fine and was very convinient to use.

por Robert S

31 de out de 2021

If your going to have someone just read an English script, why select someone who you can't understand? It's extremely frustrating. Videos are incomprehensible and it goes from 0-100 extremally quick. Download the suggested reading material first and study it before going to the videos. I ended up just re-typing the video scripts and reading them myself instead of trying to comprehend the reader. This course explains everything you need to know about the blockchain, but you have to do a lot of work to put it in order and actually understand what their trying to explain. It's obvious that that there was no case studies on how effective this course was put together or arranged before making it public. I gave it two stars instead of one, only because the material is there, its just a mess for the user to decipher it all. If the course instructor could speak clear and concise English, I would of bumped this up to 4 stars.

por Khalid A A

20 de jun de 2020

This is a good attempt of an online course. There were lots of broken links on the reading information. In addition, I saw many questions that are not answered by the course moderators. Furthermore, the last part of the course which was the final assignment was methodical in the first part but after that, the information was not provided on what to do next, so I had to relay on my background information to finish the assignment, which is not the correct methodology in my opinion for a fair evaluation. Minor improvement is required in my opinion. Thank you for the information and good luck.

por matteo b

3 de mai de 2021

Lessons take 10 minutes only and students have to ready everything by them self. Video lessons are not enough to give a good understand of the topic (they shouldI

99% of the time is spent reading documentation and paper (no written by Professor). Time to read documentation is under estimated. Usually a course helps to speed-up the learning process. That's not the case of this course.

The list of documentation is enough, in this case Professor support (lessons) is useless.

por Akshat A

6 de mar de 2021

The. study material is good, but that's about it. Several links in in the course and quizzes are dead. The final assignment is a nightmare to set up and run (I'm using a 2.6GHz i7,16GB macOS), but is a piece of cake to actually get graded. I think if as an alternate to setting up the whole VM etc we could also get the code repo to actually run and tinker with on our own, I'd give it another 2 stars.

por MohammadSaied A

27 de abr de 2020

Although I respect the lecturer and the effort they have made to make this a useful course but compared to many other courses on Coursera, I don't think this is a good course. The teaching material is not well-organized. The teaching method is not smooth and fluent. The accent of speeches is a bit Indian and the speaking intonations are awful. It's like she is reading from a PowerPoint presentation.

por shahar k

25 de jul de 2019

all this "Module Objective" and "summary" on each session is very old fashioned, specially as many of the goals are "Be able to discuss...". while next to the goal follows just elaboration of some specs...

I think the course is ok if you want a glimpse about the field and get familiar with the technical vocabulary, but for really learning I would advice looking elsewhere.

por Noah D

25 de jul de 2021

While video lessons were helpful, assignments/quizzes were pretty bland and final assignment did not function properly so was unable to submit. A bit misleading on assignment/quiz time - 4 multiple choice questions shouldn't be listed as 30 minutes of work. Overall, it's an ok starter course but needs some work.

por Vinit K P

24 de ago de 2021

Some of the terminologies used in the video are directly used without prior explanation which makes it really difficult to understand. I had to frequently visit the web to understand the technical terminologies that were used directly. Anyways, the resources attached with the course are awesome.