Chevron Left
Voltar para Blockchain Basics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Blockchain Basics da instituição Universidade de Buffalo

4.6
estrelas
6,587 classificações
1,633 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Melhores avaliações

TT

18 de nov de 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

AU

24 de dez de 2020

A comprehensive and clear course that summarizes the basic concepts to understand blockchain technology. Also, the resources and contents included are very valuables. I totally recommend this course.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 1,657 Avaliações para o Blockchain Basics

por Sergio A M

3 de jun de 2021

Really bad. Lots of links are outdated with 404. Even in one of the tests it is not possible to answer one question because of that. The total video time is like 1 hour and the rest is just links to pages.

por Babak B

19 de nov de 2021

very bad design. Without giving the basic understanding of blockchain structure (with just some general information which could be found in wikipedia) dives into UTXO!

por jessica o

25 de abr de 2021

The part at the end of the course where I tried to download the 2gb software was not possible for me.

por Mo

3 de out de 2020

Many of the links in the course material have expired. It definitely needs an update.

por Sanjay P

21 de jun de 2019

Pathetic

por Sean T D

26 de ago de 2018

Very helpful basic understanding to Blockchain technology. I have a background in Economics / Statistics and found the course accessible despite not having much technical experience in computer science. It was a good first look under the hood of a pretty interesting new technology. For anyone who is looking for additional resources, I'd recommend checking out the Podcast Unchained with Laura Shin. I selected at least one episode a week on my own and felt it complimented the content so I was able to connect contemporary projects or headlines with the foundational concepts in the course.

Thanks for teaching Prof. Ramamurthy and thanks for offering Coursera. Would love to see more specializations built out in this area particularly some related to learning higher level concepts and build more advanced skills.

por Chetnathelife T

2 de abr de 2019

Most important course with all the information required to understand the Blockchain Basics from Beginner to Intermediate level.. Its very important to take time and go through all the exercises and the Resources file for additional reading - only then one can take complete advantage of the course and have the concepts crystal clear. Must really appreciate the Instructor to provide really awesome curated list of resource websites, that really help get connected with what is exactly going on in the real world of Blockchain as of now.. Loved the course - totally worth the time! I was able to talk to my Sr. Director after completing this course! Was able to explain him about different Consensus protocols and use cases! Wow - that felt surreal! Thx Ms. Bina R!

por Pablo M V C

9 de fev de 2022

This course is great for anyone looking to learn more in detail how blockchain works. Ideally, you have already some (non-technical) knowledge of blockchain/bitcoin/ethereum, as it'll be of great help if you're already familiarized with some of the concepts. The course was made around 2018, so it's not fully updated. But to be fair, this is a field that evolves really rapidly and it's hard to find a course that covers everything (that being said, this is the best course I've seen on the topic, and it quickly helped me finally understand some concepts I didn't quite get). This course is a great step to understanding the tech at a deeper level, and it comes with many helpful links and resources to complement your learning.

por Subhrajit R C

29 de fev de 2020

Very well structured course that comprehensively builds up all the foundational knowledge required for understanding blockchains with emphasis on Bitcoin and Ethereum, but not just restricted to them. The course has short lectures followed by exhaustive optional reading, which I thought should have just been made required reading, given how they work towards both expanding and cementing the knowledge imparted in the lectures. I initially signed up to test the waters with this course to learn the basics, but now that I have completed it, it has piqued my interst in what lay ahead. I am moving on to the rest of the courses in this specialization. Thank you for a great course that was well delivered.

por Yeşim E

12 de jul de 2020

For a fifty-something, it was a matter of etching in a new corner in the mind to even begin to understand what it's all about. I probably spent 10 times the time a more competent person would spend trying to understand the concepts and the mechanism. I even think I learned a new language, since techno-speak is quite another matter in any language. The short videos covered the most important key points, the quizzes matched the teaching with clarity, and all the additional reading and video links were well selected, well placed and extremely helpful. Thank you; you've given me faith that I can function within the 21st century.

por Akash H

27 de abr de 2020

Thank you Bina Ramamurthy mam for this course. I am a Mtech student from WestBengal, India. I have got my final year project named "Blockchain for IoT". Two weeks before I have no knowledge about Blockchain but I have heard lots about Bitcoin in internet. Now after completing this course I have understand about Blockchain technology. I think i will pass my exam..Thank you mam. I also Thank you to coursera team for giving this oppurtunity for such facility where students can learn from different famous universities from different parts of the world.

por Aneesh K

29 de jul de 2020

The course is certainly a good way of understanding what block-chain is and it also encourages us to explore cryptocurrencies such as Ethereum and Bitcoin (so as to see how a transaction chain is built). The given exercises certainly helped us understand how a block-chain works. All assignments were good, but the final assignment of this course puts our patience as well as our skills and willingness to the test in an incredible manner. I sincerely thank University of Buffalo as well as the State University of New York for the course provided.

por Tanish J

16 de abr de 2022

Content covers the basics properly. Some content is repeated when necessary. Overall, it is a great introduction to blockchain.

If some higher difficulty content was added, it would have been even better. Maybe that content will be there in the next courses in the series.

The project is something that someone spent a lot of time creating, I didn't face any issues at all. But here too, there could have been some more difficult problems. The infrastructure for that is already there, just need to add new problems.

por Georgios N

7 de jun de 2021

Good course that provides a good introduction to the student. In some cases poor articulation and pronunciation of the lecturer that even the automatic English subtitles are wrong. In some cases poor presentations with very few illustrations and a confusing background. Sporadically outdated material. Some links of the material for further reading are a dead link. Even in a quiz that one needs to pass for getting a grade, there are dead links. Please update urgently and respect Your customers.

por Nicholas D R C

29 de jul de 2018

I know a lot of people will not give this 5/5 because it is very simple. However, I believe this is what a true "basics" course should be. The course introduces learners to the core concepts and the common terminology used in the industry so that learners can converse properly with others about Blockchain applications. Without this underlying knowledge it is difficult to discuss new ideas with others. For these reasons I believe the instructor and team deserve 5 stars. Well done.

por Sergey G

11 de out de 2018

I love this course on Blockchain Basics and highly suggest to take it! It is a very good starting point for any person, interested in blockchain technologies. Moreover, it has a continuation on Coursera within this same Blockchain specialization from University at Buffalo and State University of New York. Bina Ramamurthy is a great Teacher, she explains many complex Blockchain concepts in a very clear, concise and intuitively understood manner. I enjoy her lectures. Thanks a lot!

por Shankaranand L

15 de set de 2020

A well thought and crafted introduction to Blockchain technology course. What I liked the most was the strong fundamentals that the course offers, which helps the learner to gain solid ground in understanding the technology.

I recommend everyone who is taking this course to mandatorily go through the optional reading after the video clip and before the quiz section in the course. This helps a lot in learning and having a strong understanding of the fundamental knowledge,

por Muhammad Z M

5 de jun de 2020

The content was very basic and demanding but i was disappointed by the last project. It was enhancing course concepts but even though I already had Ubuntu installed, still I had to install virtual box on a windows laptop, then download ethereum ubuntu ova which you provided and then install ubuntu (again) to get project instructions. I know those 2GB are not much, but I am from a small city and reliable internet is not so cheap here.

Thank you for the curse by the way :)

por Hannan S

12 de abr de 2020

Before starting this course , I knew some few things about Blockchain, but they were not arranged rather randomly perceived. Now I understand the basics. This course have helped me with short but effective videos, good web materials and an awesome tool. Although I am from CS background but I recommend it for everyone who are interested in Blockchain because the course is designed in such way so that everyone can take it.

por Alejandro A O

7 de abr de 2021

Very good basic course to get to know the fundamentals of blockchain. The suggested readings are very informative, but some of the are not online anymore, I think someone should update those links. Only the last exercise requires a bit of computer knowledge, but I think is appropriate since it is a basic approach to the blockchain and I guess the next courses of the specialization could be more difficult in this regard.

por Muhammad U S

17 de set de 2019

Comprehensive course with informative content and practice exercises that gets you acquainted with the blockchain technology. Just one suggestion, I would have preferred a basic programming assignment as well that might enable the learners to imitate a general blockchain. Apart from that, the approach adopted by this course, to use visualizing tools for better understanding of the concepts serves the desired purpose.

por Regina T

5 de ago de 2018

The instructor was extremely organized and well presented. Although completely new to this topic, I was able to follow, learn, and do well. I wish all courses were presented this clearly!

The voice-to-text translation of the script was not always accurate; listening to the instructor was better. The diagrams and slides were extremely useful in clarifying concepts. You also learn from tests and labs!

por Leung W T

2 de nov de 2019

Very good ! After having this course, you could have a basic understanding of how the bitcoins, how the blockchain works technically. You can try to make a transaction of ethreum in the model provided by the university. It was really interesting and practical as in real life, we gotta spend some money in order to have such an experience. But , in this course, you can have a try with the simulator.

por Deavyansh G

27 de abr de 2019

Here on Coursera, I would love to say that this has been the best ever knowledge gaining experience of mine. Whether it's the content or the quality or the representation, everything seemed just perfect. The instructor explained each and every concept in a very comfortable manner. You need not to think twice for any of the topics covered. Really honored to be a part of this platform.

por VEDANT A D

30 de nov de 2020

Basics are so clearly explained, all the process oriented examples and the mechanism behind the working blockchain of Bitcoin and Ethereum, explained so well.

All the optional resources helped to understand each topic in depth and gave an nice idea about all the basics. Plus Self check exercises time to time helped to revise the old topics.

Knowledgeable and amazing Course Instructor.