Chevron Left
Voltar para Biology Everywhere Foundations

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Biology Everywhere Foundations da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.6
estrelas
118 classificações
26 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, we will explore the nature of science and biology. We will discuss what the “biology everywhere” philosophy means and the history of the “biology everywhere” project. We will also discuss what science (and biology) are as a discipline of inquiry and how chemistry is foundational to understanding biology....

Melhores avaliações

DE
10 de Fev de 2021

This actually makes Biology fun. It's a great start to this Specialization, no doubt. The assignments are engaging and the reading material is really good.

MN
24 de Out de 2020

It is very informative and interesting.Students interested in biology can opt this course.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 26 Avaliações para o Biology Everywhere Foundations

por zibo c

22 de Fev de 2021

I have to say this course is below my expectation: It requires too much peer-review tests while what I've learnt/the teacher taught was limited.

por Pasquale D S

31 de Out de 2020

Definitely not what I expected. It was announced as a course to 'explore the nature of science and biology, to discuss what science and biology are as disciplines of inquiry and how chemistry is foundational to understanding biology'. I basically expected an innovative way yo teach and stimulate interest in 'biology for non-biology students'. Well, the biological content of this first four weeks of course reduces to five criteria to define life (homeostasis, organization, energy use, reproduction, evolution), introduced in 9 minutes in week 3. The chemical basis (week 4) is a reminder that 'chemicals' are not synonym of 'bad things' and a 5 minutes introduction to four classes of biological macromolecules (carbs, proteins, nucleid acids, fats). The rest is mostly a report on the teacher's experience with 'common misconceptions on science and the scientific method'. If you have a high-school basis in biology (or even less than that...), you learn nothing. If not, the course provides little more than a few names and examples that, in the bast case, give the illusion of understanding rather than true understanding. The ratio of peer-reviews assignments to quizzes is too high and does not assure that you learn the notions, it's a case of blind leading the blind. Maybe things change with the following courses, but I hesitate to take them, I found this one too boring and basic. Perhaps it is mostly useful for teachers when covering the 'common misconception' aspects; it also has a honours track that seems almost exclusively targeted to educators (not at college/university, though!), since you need to devise pedagogical strategies and the like. If you are paying for this course, think twice and be sure that it's what you're looking for.

por RAFAEL A O

8 de Nov de 2020

Too little information and a lot of quizzes to take

por Paula M R C

3 de Jun de 2021

This course promises it is an introductory biology course. It is not. It will be helpful if you are in middle grade or if you are taking classes at University of Colorado Boulder. the content is very dull and basic. The professor makes the clases slow and not engaging. This course discouraged me from taking the full specialization because the content is so easy and unprepared. You waste a lot of time reviewing other's peer assignment and these assignments are not challenging but have questions like "Answer what is science and what are the dangers of people not knowing science". Don't waste your time on this course. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS IF YOUR GOAL IS TO LEARN BIOLOGY.

por missy D

4 de Jan de 2021

If you are going to take a biology course for credits or you will be going into a field where biology is constantly used, take this course and the specialization! This specialization and course are both fantastic

por Alejandro V

8 de Set de 2020

I learned, enjoyed and got inspired to continue with biology.

por tammy t

21 de Jun de 2021

I really enjoyed the course content and structure. What I did not enjoy is the lack of feedback I received from my peer-reviewed assignments ... the grades they gave me felt arbitrary without any kind of comments to put them in context. As an example, I received a .5 score on my first assignment (an average of a 1 and 0 rating), which I felt was absurd. I resubmitted the same exact assignment and magically received a 3 that second time.

por Diego M E

10 de Fev de 2021

This actually makes Biology fun. It's a great start to this Specialization, no doubt. The assignments are engaging and the reading material is really good.

por Kevmor

21 de Set de 2021

Annoying having to wait for others to review assignments, it can take quite awhile sometimes but otherwise good

por Akmullayeva A

12 de Out de 2021

for me, this course was very useful. Thanks a lot for the valuable information .

por Andy W

14 de Abr de 2021

This course is very useful. I thank you for the tutor so much.

por DEEKSHITHA S

10 de Nov de 2020

It was amazing course with extraordinary information.

por T.

20 de Out de 2020

Informative and easy to follow. Thank you very much!

por Yasmine S

21 de Mar de 2021

Because I love everything about science and biology

por Sanjay b

24 de Jul de 2021

simple words Biology in a differenyt way

por Saleela K

21 de Out de 2021

​good and educated stuff for students

por Dr. P M B

12 de Nov de 2021

wonderful course thank you

por Carlos N R P

9 de Out de 2020

Was a very useful course.

por Shah Z K

18 de Out de 2021

The course was fantastic

por Martínez G X J

8 de Mar de 2021

muy completo el curso

por Dr. C M M

17 de Mai de 2021

Its a good course

por 121910308046 V U S K

28 de Jul de 2021

nice content

por Dr M

25 de Set de 2020

good

por MARIA E L R

3 de Out de 2020

me gusto mucho el curso porque es muy interactivo, con los cuestionario sy las tareas para enviar.

por María E L B

6 de Out de 2020

me gusto muchoo