Chevron Left
Voltar para Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.3
estrelas
1,241 classificações
375 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Melhores avaliações

DL
17 de Abr de 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
14 de Abr de 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

Filtrar por:

301 — 325 de 375 Avaliações para o Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

por Joseph B

23 de Out de 2019

This is billed as a course for beginners, but it leans heavily on one's prior skill in programming. If you're not familiar with Python syntax or you are a coding neophyte, a lot of the concepts will likely go over your head. The biology is fairly cursory and easy to pick up along the way, or simply ignore if you don't have a strong background in molecular biology/genetics.

por Johannes K

18 de Fev de 2021

the course is ok, but there were technical problems, It was very annoying that the graphics on the stepik pages were not displayed. I tried several browsers but it was only possible to open the hidden/not loaded images in another tab window. Another problem was sometimes, that the "run code" in stepik worked find, but some errors were shown for "send"

por Renée H

15 de Jun de 2020

If you have no experience with programming, I definitely recommend completing the Learn Python course on Codecademy first. I think Biologists will find the concepts introduced later in this course difficult to grasp, and I still don't fully understand them. Nonetheless this course is a good introduction into programming for bioinformatics.

por Nethraa K

14 de Jun de 2017

It's a great course for people who know Python or have some sort of a background in coding. However, for starters, it is not only tedious to learn both Python as well as this but is quite challenging and time consuming as well. Please mention Python as a prerequisite for this course-- it would definitely get 5 stars then.

por Laura B

7 de Jul de 2020

I'd give it a 2.5, but I managed to learn something in the end, even though it was through the other students rather than through the course lecture itself. The professors should really consider renaming the course to be a more accurate representation of the content. We learned more about DNA that coding in this course.

por Xiaoyu L

31 de Mar de 2018

The content is interesting, but the staff does not provide helpful feedbacks, and I really do not like the fact they assume the test case is always right, where it might not be. Quite frustrate when struggling on one question when the code is absolutely right.

por Prashant M

23 de Jul de 2017

Further reference material needs to be added in my opinion. There can be participants from only Computer Science background and there can be students from only biology background. Hence i think reference materials could aid a participant's understanding a lot.

por Josh S

28 de Dez de 2020

This was a good course for someone with a fair amount of programming background and a biology degree. But it was difficult to follow at times and I could see how one could easily get lost. Definitely feels more of an intermediate course than a beginner one.

por Grzegorz A K

4 de Nov de 2016

Pros: a lot of programming in automated online environment.

Cons: inconsistencies in code like changing parameter order in often used functions, changing structure of some variables (arrays become dicts). This can be unneccesarily misleading.

por Clive T

26 de Mar de 2020

Disappointing lack of feedback from any course organiser (most recent response seemed to be about two years old). The biological content tailed off to become much more of course in programming for search algorithms

por Akinyi O

19 de Mai de 2020

Some background knowledge on coding is definitely needed for this course, despite the info saying none is needed. The progress expected is way too fast for an actual beginner with no coding experience.

por Barby S

9 de Jun de 2021

The course is EXCELLENT. But... It's not for beginners!!! If you don't know anything about programming, python and bioinformatics it's nearly impossible to do without help.

It was really frustrating.

por Saadman K

26 de Mai de 2020

This is not for beginners. You need to know more about python to complete it easily and the time limits of Stepik is not correct. It needs far more time than mentioned.

por Ajith M

20 de Jul de 2020

This course is definitely not for beginners. I was on the verge of giving up throughout the course. But once you get ahold of the concepts, it is very interesting.

por James O

16 de Set de 2019

The course tries hard to balance programming and biology but the programming can become quite a challenge for people with little to no experience in programming.

por Sanjit R

21 de Dez de 2020

Although this course was uniquely interesting and insightful, I did feel at times that the lesson material was insufficient to fully understand a concept.

por Preethi N

24 de Fev de 2021

Although this course is possible for beginners, some of the programming problems were frustrating and a hint would have been appreciated.

por Pablo R M

13 de Mar de 2020

Not truly for beginners. If you don't have previous knowledge of Python and algorithms expect to invest a lot more than 4 hours a week

por Merna F

4 de Set de 2020

this course was very useful for me but it is very very difficult for a beginner, I was suffering from trying to understand it

por Chahat B

26 de Jul de 2020

Very difficult for no coding background people. It would be really helpful if you could describe the error in better ways

por Christopher C

3 de Abr de 2021

This course requires advanced programming skills, the first week has taken 3 weeks from me and I am still stuck.

por Osi A

28 de Abr de 2020

This course although well taught does not take into account those that know nothing about programming

por Linyi Z

21 de Jun de 2017

the instructions in the stepik notes were unclear. i would say the optional lecture video was better

por Nesrine K

16 de Nov de 2020

quite difficult for a begginer we have to practice python first before starting the course

por ISIAKA B A

18 de Jun de 2020

This course is not for beginners. It is for those with background computer knowledge