Chevron Left
Voltar para Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.3
estrelas
1,150 classificações
345 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Melhores avaliações

DL
17 de Abr de 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL
15 de Ago de 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 340 Avaliações para o Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

por Mariane M R

18 de Dez de 2020

/Não é nada fácil e muito menos nível iniciante, mas consegui pensar bastante.

por Juan J M

1 de Ago de 2020

This is a challenging course for absolute beginners, but definitely rewarding!

por Helena C P d A B

31 de Jul de 2016

It's good, but I would prefer that the python was taught within the course.

por Zein A Z

6 de Jul de 2020

too hard for beginners, it started simple and escalated to hard very fast

por Abraham M E

1 de Jul de 2018

It is a little bit basic, but a great introduction to bioinformatics

por María A B

17 de Fev de 2019

I have learnt a lot, but sometimes I missed some help or feedback.

por Kirolos M

31 de Mai de 2020

Great for beginners ,yet with some to-be-cleared concepts

por marty

27 de Abr de 2020

A little difficult for beginners but definitely worthy!!

por David G

18 de Jul de 2019

Very interesting course. Thanks for putting it together.

por Jixiang P

15 de Set de 2019

The course is too easy even as a beginning level course

por Yash G

10 de Jul de 2019

A lot to learn, but still not very east for sure

por Abderrazak I

27 de Dez de 2016

I really enjoyed this course, thanks to coursera

por Xue, L

22 de Out de 2019

lecture video will be better than words

por Nitika B

30 de Jun de 2020

nice course but need litle more detail

por 高文强

15 de Ago de 2019

循循善诱,解释较为清楚,但感觉对于编程初学者并没有特别友好。

por Fikrat T

1 de Jan de 2017

The course was amazing!

por david h

9 de Out de 2016

very challenging course

por Michelle B V

27 de Jul de 2019

It was a great course!

por Mario E S

23 de Jun de 2016

VERY GOOD. CONGRATS!

por Nabisubi P

24 de Out de 2019

tasky

por Miles D R

31 de Jul de 2019

Fun!

por Helena M

19 de Dez de 2019

This course is pretty interesting, but I wouldn't say it's a course for beginners. It gets into some quite complex algorithms without a huge amount of explanation and expects you to do a lot of extra work in CodeAcademy (though if you have programming experience, you can obviously skip this). With the work in CodeAcademy, I'd say this course takes 2-3 times longer than it recommends. I'm not a computer scientist so did find some sections quite hard to follow, and the explanation isn't always great (I couldn't figure out one of the answers in the final quiz, even after going through all the explanation and FAQ again). However, the content is very interesting and I found the videos really useful.

por Roger T

1 de Mai de 2016

This is not a beginner's course unless you already have previous programming experience. The Python lessons are just samples taken from a completely different curriculum on Codecademy and poorly integrated into the bio-centric course content. The lessons are disjointed, taken out of context, and some of the examples are using the wrong version of Python and missing parentheses. It would be a lot better if they took the time to actually craft custom Python lessons designed specifically for this course instead of using ill-fitting lessons from other classes.

por Carla M C

20 de Jul de 2020

Es un curso que está bien para iniciarse en la Bioinformática con Python. Sin embargo, hacia la mitad del curso los contenidos son demasiado complejos para quienes no han trabajado anteriormente en este campo. Debería ser un poco más básico para que pueda seguirse hasta el final y aprender de verdad.

Además, creo que los problemas biológicos que se plantean son demasiado concretos. Estaría bien conocer, a un nivel básico, la utilidad de estas herramientas en Biología-Biomedicina.

por Keona B

6 de Jan de 2021

I have taken programming courses and a genetics course for my degree. This course has been good practice for me, putting my previous knowledge together. Unfortunately, the course includes terminology/concepts a true beginner would need much longer to grasp than the estimated time. Students need to be prepared to participate in discussions and search online if they want a deeper understanding. Code academy is also a necessary part of the process for true beginners.