Chevron Left
Voltar para Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.3
estrelas
1,150 classificações
345 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Melhores avaliações

DL
17 de Abr de 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL
15 de Ago de 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 340 Avaliações para o Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

por MacKenzie K

9 de Ago de 2017

You definitely need to complete the codecademy lessons or at least have Python experience before the end of week one for this course. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course.

por sleimi w

16 de Jun de 2020

well I'm a biologist & this is my first time learning python .. I 've loved this course even though it becomes kinda difficult after week 2 but I've learned a lot from it

por Igor K

16 de Ago de 2016

A good introduction to computational aspects of bioinformatics. However, the pace of the course might seem too low if you have a strong computer science background.

por Nelson C B

29 de Jun de 2020

It is a great course. But stepik platform needs to be edited. There are some chapters with hard problems and typos, but if you work hard, you will learn a lot.

por Greg T

28 de Out de 2019

A stimulating and engaging survey of elementary bioinformatics algorithms (searching and pattern matching) with the added bonus of practice with Python.

por Kyle B

5 de Jun de 2020

Difficult for beginners inexperienced in coding but so rewarding and extremely interesting! Awesome introduction into the field of bioinformatics

por Abdullah D S

5 de Jun de 2018

The course is alright. I learned a great deal from the challenges in the Stepik modules. The only issue is that the material is pretty dry.

por Rohan S

24 de Jul de 2017

Excellent course to learn Python programming and great way to learn very interesting topics in biology and be introduced to bioinformatics.

por dong c

5 de Set de 2017

Novel knowledge and require some python base.More useful for leaners if printable handout with summarized information provided .

por Will V L P

18 de Jan de 2021

Very technical.... I certainly would recommend this to someone with a prior experience in Biology. Regardless, very good course

por Caroline C

13 de Jun de 2019

I already have python background so it is good for me. Maybe not suitable for beginner who doesn't touch python before.

por Mohamed A

4 de Jan de 2017

Very good introductory course to new learners in bioinformatics or students who are just curious about this field.

por Afshin P

25 de Abr de 2017

Thank you.

This course was very effective for me.

It has a lot of details, and I need to review some issues agian

por Florent C

2 de Mar de 2020

Très bon cours malgré le fait qu'il faille passer par une plateforme externe de Coursera pour les cours

por Surabhi D

4 de Jun de 2016

Stepic issues with not syncing progress and assignment completion. All else was good. Well paced.

por itay b

19 de Set de 2016

very interesting!, i liked the stepik interactive lesson very much, i prefer them over lectures

por bpathakjee

26 de Mar de 2017

Limited intro course compared to one offered few years ago but still Great start , Thank you

por Tarik A

20 de Ago de 2020

Please add more video course and meaningful assignments instead of all readings. Thanks

por cristina g g

29 de Abr de 2018

It doesnt seem for begginers in coding but still there is a lot of helpful information!

por SABARI K B B

1 de Jan de 2020

Way more to be "digestible" to beginners in bioinformatics and non-computer students.

por Paul J

27 de Jul de 2017

First time coding, so found some parts challenging, but worked it all out in the end!

por Daniel H

12 de Fev de 2019

A very interesting course, but perhaps not necessarily for "begginer" programmers.

por Michael E L

4 de Jul de 2017

Great intro course even if tedious for those who know next to nothing about coding

por Hamza A D

28 de Fev de 2020

Good course although could be improved with more simplicity and less complexity.

por María J F P

14 de Nov de 2018

This is definitely NOT a beginners course. Very interesting and useful, though.