Chevron Left
Voltar para Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.3
estrelas
1,224 classificações
371 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Melhores avaliações

DL
17 de Abr de 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
14 de Abr de 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 369 Avaliações para o Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

por denglh

18 de Abr de 2020

Nice beginner's course about bioinformatics. You have to have some Python programming basics in order to smoothly complete all the coding tasks. What I learned most from this course is how to split your final tasks into several fundamental steps and them put them together to make things work. Appreciate all the provider for this course!

por Reina Y

18 de Jun de 2020

At the beginning of the course, I had zero knowledge of Python. I just followed the instructors' guidance and leaned how to code little by little. It took me a while to finish up this course, but I am satisfied with their guidance and how to teach from scratch to those who are totally new to bioinformatics.

por Harikrishnan R N

21 de Mai de 2020

It was a good course. I found it interesting because I was interested in learning more about the Biological aspect of Bioinformatics. I already had some experience in programming in Python so I could find the programming part not so difficult. For a beginner in programming, this may be a difficult course.

por Vidisha G

21 de Abr de 2017

Personally, I never believed I would enjoy coding, but I had a deep interest for biology. This course not only helped me develop an interest and grasp the basics of programming in python but also gave me an insight as to how I can use this knowledge I gained in various fields such as bioinformatics.

por José P S M

3 de Set de 2019

As a Computer Science undergrad that works with Python, I considered the programming tips very begginer-friendly and could easily follow the presented biological knowledge that was required to complete the course. The course certainly made even more interested in Bioinformatics and Biology.

por Jeremy P

4 de Ago de 2020

I found this course to be very engaging, and it helped my programming abilities immensely. I do wish that we would be able to see solutions on the stepik modules after a certain number of attempts, but this course helped me a lot and will definitely play a role it my career choices

por Dasha P

20 de Nov de 2018

I loved the course so much! I have never programmed before and I've always been afraid of mathematics, but this course happened to be so exciting! I liked, how difficult (for me, at least) concepts are explained step-by step. I am sincerely grateful to the authors of the course.

por AHMAD A Z

24 de Mar de 2020

Honestly, this course is very difficult and not suitable for a beginner. This course is suitable for matured programmers and biologists. More time is needed to answer all the exercises and quizzes. So far, thanks to the teachers and friends for helping me with this course.

por Jordi M

25 de Dez de 2016

Challenging and interesting. Only downside is the lack of help in the programming sections. I had been stuck on one of the last code challanges for more than a month without anyone of the staff answering my messages in the comments. Besides that, great course and content.

por Ebrahim B

27 de Set de 2018

I found the course extremely challenging, having no background in programming. But I loved engaging with math's and statistics, and being introduced to some very difficult but fascinating concepts in bioinformatics. I hope to pursue this career path further.

por Sri M K

18 de Nov de 2016

I had great fun learning each week of the course. For students interested in understanding DNA, I would sincerely recommend. Also was the best experience I had learning Bioinformatics and python simultaneously. I believe in learning contextually. Thanks

por Joao V P d S

29 de Jun de 2020

The course presents several challenges for students from the biological field of sciences. Nevertheless, It was fun to challenge myself and the practical examples used for teaching code were really good. I extremely recommend the course!

por Marc S

7 de Ago de 2017

As a computer scientist I really enjoyed this course.

Learning about the complex problems, that biologists face, when analyzing DNA, was quite fascinating. I actually think, I will check out the specialization they are offering, as well.

por 刘瑞阳

23 de Set de 2017

This course really fits for beginners with zero coding background... Personally, I struggled at first for a while(and the exercises took more than 4 hours per week, as suggested in the webpage), but things are getting better then.

por Hugo M

9 de Jul de 2020

This course needs a lot of time and dedication. You will learn a lot in only 4 weeks, I really recommend it. If you are a teenager in 11th or 12th grade interested in biological sciences, you must do this course during vacations!

por Grey B

21 de Dez de 2019

Great intro to python, still need essential backup reads on coding but the pace is good and the explanation of bioinformatics and how coding comes into play and is very useful is perfect if you want to do this specialization..

por Angelo A d F

3 de Ago de 2020

An experience I will always remember. I was introduced into a 'landscape' of bioinformatics, a valuable sharing of map for beginners like me so that I may be able to find my way whenever I get stuck in my own 'local optimum'!

por Jessie G

12 de Jan de 2017

It's a great introductory course for Python and Bioinformatics. I found the platform for completing assignments, Stepiks, to be very slick and easy to use. Completing this course was so satisfying, informative and fun!

por Dunja P

27 de Abr de 2017

Great course for biologists and non biologists. Materials well explained and interesting, stuff very helpful and eager. It opens a window to bioinformatics and is a good first step towards it. Very recommended!

por Manuel A

31 de Jul de 2016

Very good course, and very similar to the first course of the Bioinformatics Specialization. However be warned, it takes a lot of time and effort to complete this course (definitely more than 10 hours a week).

por Do H L

18 de Abr de 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.

This is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.

What's not to love?

por Maria Z

15 de Abr de 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

por Felipe S

5 de Set de 2020

A nice and satisfying course aimed for beginners in programming and biology, but you need to be prepared to use google and do some research on your own to fill some knowledge gaps.

por Irith K

15 de Jul de 2020

I learned so much in this course and it was so cool to see the intersection between computer science and biology! Thank you so much to the instructors for making this course!

por Tianyu Y

8 de Ago de 2018

As the title saids, this course is pretty good for beginners. I major in biology and have no programming experience. Now I have more confidence to challenge advanced courses.