Chevron Left
Voltar para Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.3
estrelas
1,255 classificações
379 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Melhores avaliações

DL
17 de Abr de 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
14 de Abr de 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

Filtrar por:

351 — 375 de 377 Avaliações para o Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

por Kyle S

6 de Out de 2020

Programming Level is NOT FOR BEGINNERS. The Codecademy was useless when compared to the coding assignments given.

por Ojochenemi E

12 de Set de 2020

the coding aspect were neither clear nor easy enough for a biologist who is new to programming to grasp

por Shana M

20 de Mar de 2021

Steptik images in week 4 aren't showing up which means its impossible to understand what's going on

por dheeraj K

23 de Dez de 2020

in my opinion, this course is hard for beginners. i do not have computer background in programming

por Celine A

16 de Jul de 2020

Too complicated for a beginner's course, the quizzes don't match the stepik chapters.

por Inukonda J H

6 de Jul de 2020

It is hard for beginners. Especially for some who has no computer lesson background.

por Víctor R D

15 de Ago de 2020

It has been the most stressful and frustrating course, certainly not for beginners.

por Spencer P

16 de Jun de 2020

Its called Bioinformatics for "Beginners", when it is still extremely difficult.

por Vidya B

15 de Jun de 2020

This course is not for begginers. please change tag line.but good to learn

por Nabeel A

16 de Nov de 2021

this course is too tough for the python and bioinformatics beginners.

por Jad A

19 de Jan de 2021

Takes A LOT more time than they say and the explanations aren't clear

por beatriz.rdias@hotmail.com

5 de Nov de 2020

Really not for beginners. Wish i would know this before engaging.

por Vaishnavi I

8 de Jun de 2020

This course is definitely not for beginners.

por Lina S P R

9 de Jan de 2021

Is NOT FOR BEGINNERS, WAS SO HARD.

por Kaelyn B

8 de Nov de 2020

This course was supposed to be for beginners, but I found that this is not the case at all. I had to spend about 10 hours a week for about four months outside of the course using other resources to actually be able to complete it. The fact that each question in the interactive learner does not show the full code is extremely limiting and frustrating for people completely new to learning to code. I would not recommend this course to others as a result.

por Berea R A

20 de Jan de 2021

As a biologist, I find this course way more avanced than for beginners.

The Codecademy links provided are useful and do teach the basics of programming, however the Stepik tasks associated are far beyond what's explained on Codecademy, giving me the impression that to be able to pass this course you need to have a basics on programming more than on biology.

Mad respect to the biologists that are able to finish this course without going crazy.

por Charly C

9 de Jun de 2021

Terrible el curso, mucha información está mal, loe ejercicios pesimamente explicados. Si sabes copiar y pegar puedes hacer el curso.

No lo recomiendo para nada, es una pérdida de tiempo, todo mal hecho. un asco de curso.

por George K

26 de Nov de 2020

This course is definitely not for beginners. It takes too much more time than it mentions and fails to guide beginners in the bioinformatics field properly. Would not recommend it at all.

por Nicolás F T O

19 de Fev de 2021

This course is terrible, it's poorly explained and it's by no means for beginners, a lie, I can't find a way to quit this course but if I knew I would do it immediately.

por Kushagra J

18 de Ago de 2020

The course is surely not for beginners and it takes a lot more time than 4 hours a week.

por Hesham A

27 de Ago de 2020

Not for beginners and the output window is badly programmed.

por sree s

5 de Abr de 2021

I am a beginner and this is very difficult to understand.

por Yusuf M A

19 de Out de 2021

Too tough for someone who does not know programming.

por Litasha G

18 de Abr de 2021

This course is not at all beginner level.

por Nour A M

27 de Jun de 2021

I​s very difficult for biggeners