Chevron Left
Voltar para Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.3
estrelas
1,238 classificações
375 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Melhores avaliações

DL
17 de Abr de 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
14 de Abr de 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 373 Avaliações para o Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

por Stuart W

14 de Jun de 2020

I enjoyed this course a lot. It was very challenging. I am an experienced Python programmer so the programming side was pretty straightforward however the exercises took a lot of determination to complete. I can definetely say that I learnt something.

por Huaiji G

26 de Set de 2021

Overall it's a good foundation course for those who haven't known Bioinformatics before. But it could be better if some concepts can be more detailed explained, and some tests' complexity could be more progressively increased.

por Ziliang L

13 de Jul de 2018

overall, it's a good course. But it has many places to improve. It's better if you have the biological and programming background, or you gonna struggle. And some tricky and sometimes misleading parts can cost you a long time.

por Surur K

11 de Jan de 2021

Coding questions should require a larger breakdown of the solution you intend to get for the datasets. I come from a cs background however I can see how otherwise, students will struggle immensely in this course

por Florencia M

9 de Nov de 2020

This is a very challenging course which taught me plenty but failed to explain some statistical thing with precision. Though, I really recommend it, but I would also advise people to lean some Python in advance

por Srinidi V

27 de Mai de 2020

Its a really interesting course.. Being from a computer and math background with interest in biology, this was a great inspiration. The tool helped me work and understand a lot. Its surely good for a beginner!

por Nielay S

19 de Abr de 2020

It was a very informative course!! but some technical and biological terms were hard to understand. It would've been much better if more detailed explanation was provided regarding the coding and the terms.

por Veronica Y

8 de Abr de 2020

It was challenging, but I learned a lot of tricks while coding. It will be useful if you teach how to install Python (Anaconda Spyder or Jupiter)

It took me more than 4 hours to complete all the tasks

por Ivan L

21 de Mar de 2018

A good course that gives an introduction to bioinformatics by applying programming in python. Overall, some of the challenges became difficult towards the end, but I definitely learned something.

por Jane D

26 de Jan de 2018

It was a challenging course but the support was good for the most part. There were some that I struggled a lot with and had to ask external help, but as a whole, the community was super helpful.

por Elias S

26 de Ago de 2019

Had a lot of fun doing this =)

Despite the fact that the images in the stepik.parts havnt been loaded at some times and the quizes kept annoying, when my computed answer should´ve been wrong :/

por Laura L

31 de Jan de 2017

Really liked the course and love the topic, however the algorithms section was very difficult and could use some more in depth explaining. Without that, I would not quantify it as "beginner".

por Marek B

18 de Mai de 2017

It's quite hard to complete this course without any knowledge of Python. I don't recommend it as introduction to programming. BUT as a course about bioinformatics it's great!

por Patrick V E

6 de Jun de 2020

In general a very good course. The problem is actually more that one is doing the programming too "mechanistically" by copy-pasting rather than having to think for one-self.

por Ioanna B

4 de Ago de 2020

Although a very good course, material and interesting topic, it can be quite challenging for a beginner. Nevertheless very happy and satisfied to have done and completed it!

por MacKenzie K

9 de Ago de 2017

You definitely need to complete the codecademy lessons or at least have Python experience before the end of week one for this course. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course.

por sleimi w

16 de Jun de 2020

well I'm a biologist & this is my first time learning python .. I 've loved this course even though it becomes kinda difficult after week 2 but I've learned a lot from it

por Igor K

16 de Ago de 2016

A good introduction to computational aspects of bioinformatics. However, the pace of the course might seem too low if you have a strong computer science background.

por Nelson C B

29 de Jun de 2020

It is a great course. But stepik platform needs to be edited. There are some chapters with hard problems and typos, but if you work hard, you will learn a lot.

por Greg T

28 de Out de 2019

A stimulating and engaging survey of elementary bioinformatics algorithms (searching and pattern matching) with the added bonus of practice with Python.

por Amanda F

8 de Jul de 2021

Great course, easy to follow. However, if you are new to coding, this can be a headache. Otherwise, awesome material and the videos were very helpful!

por Kyle B

5 de Jun de 2020

Difficult for beginners inexperienced in coding but so rewarding and extremely interesting! Awesome introduction into the field of bioinformatics

por Abdullah D S

5 de Jun de 2018

The course is alright. I learned a great deal from the challenges in the Stepik modules. The only issue is that the material is pretty dry.

por Rohan S

24 de Jul de 2017

Excellent course to learn Python programming and great way to learn very interesting topics in biology and be introduced to bioinformatics.

por dong c

5 de Set de 2017

Novel knowledge and require some python base.More useful for leaners if printable handout with summarized information provided .