Chevron Left
Voltar para Métodos de bioinformática I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Métodos de bioinformática I da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
estrelas
1,542 classificações
352 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2022....

Melhores avaliações

SA

11 de jul de 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

BA

2 de nov de 2021

Bioinformatics 1 was very interesting and enlightening for me. I learnt practical skills which I can now apply in to ace an impactful career. Thank you so much Coursera for this amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

301 — 325 de 345 Avaliações para o Métodos de bioinformática I

por Sourav P

11 de jul de 2017

It Was A Very Interesting Course For My First Introduction To Bioinformatics. It Changed My Views That Biological Discoveries Only Involves Working In A Laboratory With Chemicals And Biological Samples.

It Felt Really Interesting That Even In Biology We Can Use Computer Software's To Generate Results Which Are Of Immense Importance To Scientists & Researchers.

por Daniel O

24 de jul de 2017

A nice introduction to bioinformatic methods. I learned some useful skills from this course that I'll be able to implement in my future research. I would recommend that people who take the course do some reading outside of the course material as sometimes the lectures skim over things with an expectation that you know it all.

por Teresa S A

10 de jul de 2019

Sometimes the information It's not that clear, they show basic information and then is hard to underestand everything to set it toghether. Any way, so usefull and interesting and a good way to get close to this tecniques that are becaming son important nowdays.

por Carlos M H

5 de fev de 2019

It was easy to follow, although some answers to the tests were wrong due to updates in the databases were are suposed to use. I wish it was a litlle more challenging (optional), but it porvided me with the basic knowledge to start my own learning.

por Patrick O

29 de nov de 2017

Great course for learning about current analysis methods and wonderful way to discover the amount of information you can extract from a DNA or protein sequence. Good explaining and summarizing of important bioinformatic content for begginers

por Maria C C

9 de jul de 2017

I enjoy this course, it will be very helpfull for my academic project and give new ideas of studies. I have some difficulties to follow the steps in the few labs exercises, but it does not comprimise the whole course.

por Prashanta C

24 de jul de 2020

There should be a lab review after each lab.If the 'Selection Pressure' segment was a bit more simple, it would be easier to understand. Discussion on other databases like TAIR,,FlyBase etc should be included.

por Nour S

3 de out de 2015

A thorough course for beginners with very interesting labs! I was pleasantly surprised with how much and how easily I learned bioinformatics skills with this course. Well done!

por DANG T

1 de mai de 2020

This is a great course, It helps me know more knowledge.

But it is very difficult to understand. To need the method to help students easily.

Thanks will run so much ..

por Anne-Karina P

13 de out de 2015

There was a lot of stuff I could immediately use for my work. some of the other stuff was good to know to better understand what can be done behind the scene.

por Thomas B

10 de out de 2016

Very good starting point or restarting point for working with sequence data as a compuational biologist. Very clear course with good lab sessions.

por Carlos P L

1 de ago de 2018

Creo que es un curso interesante para introducirse y empezar a ver lo que es la bioinformática y la utilidad práctica que puede llegar a tener

por Huseyn G

20 de jun de 2017

The course teaches to work with nice public databases and tools. The teaching can definitely get better adding more examples to the lecture.

por Apurva A M

18 de set de 2017

It is a good beginners' course, but I think you must provide some reading materials for experimental techniques discussed during lectures.

por Teresa R

6 de abr de 2021

The content was good. I definitely learned enough from the course to have more competent knowledge in bioinformatic analysis.

por Corrin M

18 de jun de 2020

The lab format was sometimes a little hard to follow, but overall I think this was a very informative course and I enjoyed it.

por Pranshu

6 de dez de 2020

some of the things were difficult to learn and needed more explanation, especially while understanding how a database works.

por Rui W

21 de set de 2018

Highly simplified introduction of bioinformatic methods which is easy to understand even for beginners.

por Roberto P

20 de abr de 2017

Very nice, I would have liked to go deeper in NGS and RNA seq but is good as starter, I recommend it!

por guangyuan l

24 de jul de 2019

an introductory course, but if you wanna delve into detail, you need to spend way more time on it

por Katherine B

16 de out de 2017

Was a great course for beginners and those wanting a refresher on bioinformatic concepts.

por Rohit C

4 de jun de 2020

Good course for anyone looking to get an in depth understanding of bioinformatics tools!

por Carlos M G V

1 de mar de 2017

Nice course, useful to know the most common tools used to do Bioinformatics

por Javier M C

5 de set de 2016

A very interesting course and a great starting point towards bioinformatics

por PEEYUSH Y

8 de abr de 2017

It is a very nice course for beginners. I learnt a lot from it. Thank you!