Chevron Left
Voltar para Métodos de bioinformática I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Métodos de bioinformática I da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
estrelas
1,542 classificações
352 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2022....

Melhores avaliações

SA

11 de jul de 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

BA

2 de nov de 2021

Bioinformatics 1 was very interesting and enlightening for me. I learnt practical skills which I can now apply in to ace an impactful career. Thank you so much Coursera for this amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 345 Avaliações para o Métodos de bioinformática I

por Ana P

22 de out de 2020

As an undergraduate biology student with no experience in this field, it helped me a lot and gave me a glance in the world of bioinformatics. Amazing lectures, well explained and very interesting. My recommendation !

por Jude C F

27 de set de 2020

Thank you very much Dr. Provart for delivering and presenting the course in easy manner. I am hoping this would help me to be a better future scientist. I lreally love this course! Thank you University of Toronto!!!

por Halil A P G

18 de nov de 2020

Supere buen curso, todo lo que enseñan era nuevo para mi, quizás sea para principiantes en el tema de bioinformática, pero creo que necesitas una buena base de biología y genética para poder entender este curso

por Mujeeb S

4 de jan de 2020

This is arguably the best online course I have taken so far. There's flexibility in the course modules completion which enabled me to incorporate the Bioinformatics Method I course into my busy schedule.

por Dayana T

6 de abr de 2021

I am a beginner in bioinformatics and I loved the course. I really liked the format of the classes and lectures. The labs were excellent! Thank you for this opportunity. Congratulations to all involved!

por Bidemi A

3 de nov de 2021

Bioinformatics 1 was very interesting and enlightening for me. I learnt practical skills which I can now apply in to ace an impactful career. Thank you so much Coursera for this amazing opportunity!

por Angélica O

29 de ago de 2021

This course is really useful, the teacher explains clearly and He uses real examples. Additionally, the tools that are reviewed are efficient and interesting for current bioinformatic analysis

por Deleted A

11 de jul de 2017

Useful and informative. This is the best bioinformatics course I have taken so far as it focusses on the practical applications instead of the theory which is much more relevant! Thank you!

por Padma S

9 de jul de 2017

A fully recommended course for those who wish to understand the basics and strengthen their skills in Bioinformatics. A well-designed and precise course. Thank you Dr. Nicholas Provart. :-)

por Ramsha Q

14 de dez de 2020

Great Course. I love the way it is designed, delivered. I learned a lot. The most important part is that I enjoy every bit of the session and completed everything for less than a week. :)

por kim t c

11 de set de 2017

The course is very useful and practical, especially the lab and the lab discussion. The materials are very clear explained. I would like to thank the instructor for such an useful course!

por William R

19 de jan de 2020

Great tour through the main areas of bioinformatics. I learned to use a lot of powerful tools for bioinformatic analyses as well as important topics like phylogenetics and metagenomics.

por Sourodeepa R

15 de set de 2021

Explanation was on point. As a beginner didn't have to face much problem to understand terminologies and concepts and PDF of the study materials played an important role to understand.

por PRANAV S G

22 de jan de 2019

This course is so accurate and useful to the bioinformatic students and the science students who needs help with the computational biology. I would recommend this course to everyone.

por Ali

17 de jan de 2020

I think this course is the best introductory course in Bioinformatics. I liked the structure of the course and the instructor is performing very well. thank you for this experience

por Miguel Á P P

30 de nov de 2018

Considero este curso de enorme utilidad para aprender de forma eficaz diversos aspectos de la bioinformática. Muy didáctico y bien organizado, por lo que lo recomiendo totalmente.

por Artur H B

23 de abr de 2017

I learned many concepts in molecular biology and also how to use some tools to run genetic data. I'm so thankful for the opportunity to have been engaged in this amazing course.

por Anjie L R E

3 de out de 2020

This is course is very helpful to me. The learning material is so easy to follow and the concepts are well explained by the instructor. He is very responsive to answer queries.

por Shaurav B

27 de set de 2020

The course content was very good and the arrangement of the course structure was very systematic. The delivery of the lecture and the videos were quite nice & understandable.

por Dimitrije V

26 de jan de 2022

Great course for beginners! Easy to follow and prof. Provart explains everything in great detail. I can't wait to continue learning other courses within this specialization!

por Deleted A

31 de jan de 2020

Procedures are very well explained. Would be helpful to have some pipeline diagrams on the best way (software and breif methods) to solve a problem (e.g. for the assignment)

por Ahmed A

15 de mai de 2020

Highly recommended for anyone who wants to get into research in Biology. This course gives walkthroughs of complex analysis by the use of important bioinformatics tools.

por Joan R

22 de fev de 2021

I really enjoyed this course. It is a very organized and well structure course which I found interesting. Thank you for making the course understandable for a beginner.

por Betti L

17 de set de 2015

Excellent course! The course is enjoyable and thorough, and at the same time, it does not require any deeper molecular biology knowledge or extra computational skills.

por Yuvashankar

20 de mai de 2020

A wonderful course highlighting the basic working of essential bioinformatics tools in biological research. Luck to have taken part in this and highly Recommended!!!!