Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução a Big Data

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução a Big Data da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.6
estrelas
9,131 classificações
2,172 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Melhores avaliações

HM
8 de Set de 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

AR
30 de Mar de 2020

One of the best course to start learning new cutting-edge technology and to get deeper insights into Big Data. Thanks to the great instructors for amazing explanations of each module and e-materials.

Filtrar por:

2051 — 2075 de 2,105 Avaliações para o Introdução a Big Data

por Aditya A

28 de Mai de 2020

You can easily get away with skipping the first two weeks of the course. Only the last half the third week seems to contain any real technical information about hadoop.

por César G M

16 de Jul de 2017

I guess I shouldn't be pissed at an 'Introduction' course to be too basic, but still... It's completely skippable, even if you don't know anything about big data.

por Pavindu L

26 de Dez de 2018

This is more focused on theory than practical experience.Its better to shorten the video duration so that it will not be boring to listen to lectures.

por Quji B

27 de Nov de 2020

The introduction is too theoretical and the practice starts too late. The last assignment is actually where I truly felt I started learning Big Data.

por Robert B B J

10 de Mai de 2020

Worst introduction. The Instructors are very promising don't get me wrong. The structure of the course and the presentation and editing is awful.

por Joanne D

16 de Out de 2020

Content is outdated. Especially the hands on work given towards the end of the course, It was not self-explanatory

por Joachim S

3 de Ago de 2020

There should be more hands on experience in the first classes, so the pupils have something to tie the knowledge.

por Matthew W

30 de Set de 2018

Would have been fine as a 1 week introduction to the material but as a stand alone course was insufficient.

por Alejandro R

1 de Set de 2016

Most of the course is providing useless statistics, i didn't enjoy it and it's a really basic course.

por Sergei P

29 de Jul de 2019

A very basic and still confusing set of slides. It's much more productive to google Hadoop wiki.

por John B

14 de Ago de 2020

Some very basic information, minimal hands-on work, and very picky tests/quizzes

por Pavitra

8 de Set de 2020

I want to enroll this course ....and I'm unable to do it

por Brendan P

22 de Nov de 2016

Quite poor. Just a lot of talk and nothing practical.

por Jaivardhan D

9 de Jul de 2020

Nothing Practical just talking and lots of talking

por Mehedi H P

3 de Jul de 2020

The last quiz i think that should not given

por MH N

16 de Mar de 2017

In my opinion, a very basic course...

por Damon A

1 de Jul de 2017

This course was really basic.

por 🍞

19 de Fev de 2018

too broad of explanations

por Maurvin S

28 de Jun de 2020

theory-oriented course

por Petar S

19 de Set de 2016

Too philosophical.

por Khaled

30 de Nov de 2016

very boring

por Richard C W

22 de Jul de 2019

The initial presentation is a bit bloated, naming all the ways big data can be useful could have been 5 minutes. The default configuration of oracle VB and cloudera quickstart did not work for me at all (windows 7 64bit, 32g of ram), I had so many issues that I spent much more time trying to get that to work than I did everything else in this class. Finally, the course at no point mentioned any of the potential social/legal issues of using dig data, just what the value of tracking information. I have done a few certificates from either EDX or Coursera, and this was the worst one.

por Travis U

22 de Jul de 2020

These UCSD "big data" course series is not great. I am pretty sure the "instructors" are reading straight from a public wiki. The dropping of acronyms and buzz words indicates the instructors are not familiar with the core content nor able to actually instruct. Glossing over actual execution and installation of sample virtual machines is abhorrent and completely ruins what minimal value a student may have learned. There are many free YouTube videos on Hadoop that are more informative than this course series.

por Jason R

20 de Out de 2017

I found this course mostly vague and the videos highly redundant and unorganized into a useful building of knowledge. This quizzes were hard but not because the material is difficult, but only because it quizzed you on subjective things the lecturer said instead of objective big data knowledge. Only useful thing I took away from this courses was a general view of the Zoo and the cloudera install. I think this course can be combined with the second course int he specialization and then cleaned up.

por POOJA Y

23 de Set de 2019

this course is really all about theory. Initially i liked the course but then i realised instructor is just reading a book instead of explaining the topics practically. I wont reccommend this course if you want to learn it practially. I suggest dont buy course in first glance, first go with the audit mode and see if you really liked the content or not.