Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução a Big Data

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução a Big Data da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.6
estrelas
8,955 classificações
2,133 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Melhores avaliações

HM

Sep 09, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

PB

May 25, 2018

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.\n\nVery smooth learning experience.

Filtrar por:

2001 — 2025 de 2,069 Avaliações para o Introdução a Big Data

por Lakshmi M

Oct 06, 2017

Good overview

por Manoj S

Oct 29, 2017

Pretty basic

por Sanjay

May 12, 2018

nice one

por Safoora

Feb 06, 2018

Good st

por Raizza S d S

Jul 15, 2020

I had quite some high expectations for this course however Week 1 videos were already such a turn-off. The videos were so slow-paced that it actually became just like a lecture at uni (boring). However, at first, the content was indeed interesting for Big Data introduction. The first quiz was horrible. It was so hard, half of the questions had nothing to do with the content (in my opinion). I had to research the subjects on another websites as I honestly did not see half of them on the videos. All other tests were more reliable to what was previously learned. But the part that made me more upset was having to download and install 2 applications (this was not explicit on the programme) for the final assessment understanding and answering a 2-question quiz in which one of these applications had FOUR GBs to be downloaded. Up to this point, I did download the file. Overall I do not recommend this course to anyone. Reasons are clear: the "sluggishness" of the videos and presenter and the final/ultimate 4GB gift. They should create an online environment for this task/application. I do give a star for the assessment where we had to create a presentation of how MapReduce works. I liked that interactivity.

por Petter B

Aug 08, 2016

The content of the course is ok. The main problem is that the way the information is presented. Ilkay Altintas, who is the main lecturer, is a sweet woman, but lecturing from a manuscript is not her strongest side. It is clear that she is reading from a screen while she is looking into the camera. Anyone could do that job, and they should have chosen more of an "news anchor" type of person with better pronunciation and more flow. It's simply very uninspiring and boring to listen to. Also, 59 dollars is far too expensive for such a short course.

por Michał S

Jan 06, 2017

It covers theoretical part of "What big data is" and basic info about Hadoop. Quality of presentation slides is below average. Most of them are not readable - many fonts, many colors, some with complicated pictures, some with no information at all. Part with Map reduce is just slightly touched, not explained in details, without examples. Practical tasks from hadoop are very easy and they show nothing (just how to navigate over hadoop file system.

por Evženie T

Apr 05, 2018

The basic concepts were mentioned but not explained deeply enough, so I was mostly memorizing rather than understanding. The presentation was boring, and the tests did not really test anyone's understanding of the subject matter but rather if one memorized correctly the information from the videos. I would recommend finding a more engaging course.

por Adrián C

Jun 11, 2020

There is a big learning gap between the first two weeks and the third one. Some key concepts are poorly or never defined throughout the course. By the end of this course, I lack the knowledge to perform a basic big data analysis. The tools we learn how to use during the course are not particularly relevant.

por Faisal A

Jul 12, 2020

Decent overview of things but the presentations seemed outdated. The material is a bit too basic and could benefit from more practical aspects. It felt like not a lot of effort was put into making the course. I hope the next few courses in the specialization are better :)

por Jochen D K

Sep 27, 2017

No clear guideline of how to use Cloudera proparly. Some functionalities you need to complete the final weren't even mentioned during the lectures! It took me several hours to find useful information about it online.

por Robert H

Sep 09, 2017

Tedious exercises through VM where instructions oftentimes do not work out of the box. It is a hassle to download the slides in small sets and their design awful. Definitely one of the worse courses I have taken.

por Lourens A

Oct 25, 2019

There is a lot of terms that is not needed, the presentation of the course does not inspire to want to know more and is very one tone. If you know a bit about data and some concepts you do not really learn a lot

por Chris R

Feb 20, 2020

The material was pretty out-dated and extremely basic. Given the technical nature of the later courses, this material would only be useful for people are incapable of finishing the specialization.

por Onur O

Oct 10, 2020

It is old fashioned and much theoretical. Does not mention any details about hive, spark etc. But if you want to learn the history of bigdata its good for it and understand main need.

por Kee K X

Jun 04, 2020

I have problem at the last hadoop part, which requires a lot of laptop performance and eventually let my laptop went into repair.

Do be careful while sign up for this course.

por Aditya A

May 28, 2020

You can easily get away with skipping the first two weeks of the course. Only the last half the third week seems to contain any real technical information about hadoop.

por César G M

Jul 16, 2017

I guess I shouldn't be pissed at an 'Introduction' course to be too basic, but still... It's completely skippable, even if you don't know anything about big data.

por Pavindu L

Dec 27, 2018

This is more focused on theory than practical experience.Its better to shorten the video duration so that it will not be boring to listen to lectures.

por Robert B B J

May 10, 2020

Worst introduction. The Instructors are very promising don't get me wrong. The structure of the course and the presentation and editing is awful.

por Joanne D

Oct 16, 2020

Content is outdated. Especially the hands on work given towards the end of the course, It was not self-explanatory

por Joachim S

Aug 03, 2020

There should be more hands on experience in the first classes, so the pupils have something to tie the knowledge.

por Matthew W

Sep 30, 2018

Would have been fine as a 1 week introduction to the material but as a stand alone course was insufficient.

por Alejandro R

Sep 01, 2016

Most of the course is providing useless statistics, i didn't enjoy it and it's a really basic course.

por Sergei P

Jul 30, 2019

A very basic and still confusing set of slides. It's much more productive to google Hadoop wiki.