Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução a Big Data

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução a Big Data da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.6
estrelas
7,694 classificações
1,834 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Melhores avaliações

HM

Sep 09, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

PB

May 25, 2018

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.\n\nVery smooth learning experience.

Filtrar por:

1626 — 1650 de 1,781 Avaliações para o Introdução a Big Data

por Tejal C

Jun 09, 2020

Good

por Chirag P

May 15, 2020

Good

por SUTHAHAR P

May 13, 2020

Good

por Hyungje W

Oct 31, 2018

Good

por Mahmoud T F T

Jul 06, 2017

good

por Kirk S

May 06, 2018

Quizzes appear to have been written by someone who simply went through the videos and slides and looked for things for the student could parrot back rather than by someone who was asking questions based on understanding of the material.

Videos is not a great medium for this kind of thing. It is slow and hard to review. I understand the desire to replicate a classroom experience, but without the ability to interrupt and ask a question, that isn't what you are creating. The transcript system is quite helpful in this regard, but really, if you just gave me a short text to read that clearly stated the things discussed in the video it would be more efficient.

por Michael L

Feb 28, 2020

The course is gives a good overview on big data as a topic. I personnally found the questions in the reviews sometimes arbitrary. I would have liked more implementation and a bit more technical flavour. At the same time the technical infrastructure (Cloudera virtual Machine) needs to be updated. It is bit messy working on a machine with such a bad screen resolution. E.g.: Unfortunately, installing the guest additions affects the functionality of haddop on the virtual machine. Thus, in the practical part one bothers more with technical issues than the actual implementation.

por Zsolt B

Sep 05, 2016

The content of the course is alright and up to date. The instructors are also good, passionate and has a great knowledge.

What brings everything down is the video editing and the slide design/quality. They are terrible and clearly not in the field of profession of the creators.

All in all, it is an average course, but I can recommend it to anyone interesting in the topic, because it does its job. If someone could improve the slides and the video editing could reach the youtube video reviewer/critic level, it could easily do a 4 out of 5.

por Juan P

Jul 16, 2016

This is an introduction course, and no advanced concepts are seen. I think it provides a good background, that is all. If you have a solid technical (programming, databases, etc.) knowledge maybe you will miss more hand-ons. For me, for an introductory and theoretical course I expected more resources, for example additional suggested readings, optional exercises...

Lectures are well structured (intro and summary at the end), but I have missed presentations from some of the most interesting videos (week 6).

por Kjell L

Aug 25, 2016

The course is ok but I found that there were some technical quirks that could be ironed out first. Example is to download the text files in the final assignment the command wget is invaluable. How to leave safe mode if the Name node is in safe mode. VirtualBox is default to 32 bit/ubuntu when the image is 64 bit/Centos/Redhat.

In addition the course content is a bit little. It says 3 weeks but I finish it in 2 days. Perhaps it is about quality and not quantity.

por 朱梓勤

Jun 01, 2019

Really difficult to understand for the new hand who don't knowledge the knowledge about programming, computer science, etc.

One of the difficulty is the many technique words. I suggest that providing the animation video to present some concept such as MapReduce should be more understandable.

However, after this lesson I can have a foundation perception in Big Data. Thanks for the Coursera, the University and course lecturers.

por Foram K P

Nov 07, 2018

I faced lots of issues using VirtualBox and Cloudera as it kept on throwing several errors and not all errors are captured in FAQ document that exists in one of the Weekly Topic + also whomever I approached for this error were also not aware on how to resolve it + Coursera Help Center was also not able to me provide resolution!! :(

But, after trying hands on activities, it was satisfying that I got to learn something new!!

por Erik P

Sep 19, 2017

I think this course was a great introduction the data science.. but needs some updating in terms of instantiation of the Cloudera image.. Docker was a much cleaner way for me to get up and running with the image.

Also this course was mostly about the methods of Data Science, not necessarily about big data.. but a great foundation has been laid and still looking forward to more coding with hadoop in future courses.

por Robert S

Dec 06, 2017

A little too much dull talking. The content is (slowly) read from the promter and it shows. The materials lack diversity and creativity. Too much fancy words (eg. We have 5 V's? - Let's introduce the sixth and seventh one!) instead of some meaningful science. That said, it is indeed a gentle introduction to the subject which everyone can understand backed up with a lot of interesting real-life examples.

por Jeffery Y

Aug 23, 2017

Overall it is a good course introducing Big Data concepts. However, there is no technical help on how to get the tools working. Some posts in the forums help. The course designers should mine the forums for problems and solutions and develop FAQs or technical tips for the tools. I had to change settings in windows control panel, app features based on a cryptic (but helpful) post and finally g

por Tamalika M

Nov 18, 2016

The course was very useful with what knowledge it provides. However, it would be better if there were more hands-on exercises on relevant stuff. The exercises are too easy and boring. Tougher exercises should be added and more time should be spent on the Hadoop Ecosystem part. Knowing the history helps but it should not replace more important topics.

por David T

Oct 28, 2016

A good introduction to big data (last time I was working with it was in the 1990s when a few 10s of MB was a huge dataset!). Slightly let down by the forums, despite loads of mentors there seems to be almost no presence of the teaching staff beyond setting up a few posts to spark discussion which in reality just prompt short responses and no replies.

por Philippe H

May 29, 2017

Week 3 should have been broken down into at least 2 weeks and probably 3 weeks. We probably needed more guidance on using Hadoop as there were a lot of technical issues such as removing directories and local files that were not explained. It is easy to spend numerous hours running the same program over and over and not realizing the problem.

por Madhura B

Aug 19, 2017

The installation part was tough and there were many issues with starting Virtual Box. Crossed each and every step by searching for the answers in discussion forms. Many are unanswered there so had to google extensively. Finally I am done with this course and I hope the rest of the courses are not so technically challenging.

por Emily V

Mar 04, 2019

Sometimes difficult to follow. I'm a computer person but the program discussed were completely new to me and I found I struggled with the material at some points. A lot of new terms as well but overall do-able. I feel like I learned something but not confidently enough to list any skills on a resume or anything like that.

por Matt S

Jan 27, 2017

The first week or so feels inconsistent and oversimplified. After that, when you get into the actual content, it gets much better. It then ends on a peer-graded assignment. While the assignment itself is creative and fun to complete, I've never been a fan of peer-graded assignments so early in an introductory course load.

por Sudipta M

Aug 09, 2017

The course is well structured with relevant theories & definitions. However, my opinion there was too much stress upon theory and less focus on practical. It didn't cover all possibilities where Hadoop Code might not run, given the fact that almost most of the learners were using Hadoop for the first time.

por Rebecca C

Jan 09, 2017

I little slow to start but the pace picks up nicely. Content is generally easy to follow. Some differences between spoken and voice recognition subtitled text. Practical tests were interesting but not particularly well explained for the MapReduce shapes task, which seemed to leave a few puzzled.

por Jefferson C B

Aug 27, 2019

Bom curso, por ser um inicio ao haddop e nao informar que é direcionado para pessoas que tenham um conhecimento prévio, precisa procurar na internet comandos e dicas sobre como atuar em algumas situações que nao ão discutidas em aula, mas no geral material muito bom.

por Jorge L

Aug 29, 2016

I believe this course can be performed much faster, beware that it is really an introduction, and IT professionals persons may feel it slow, in addition the presenter speaks English very slowly, good for non English proficient persons, but bad for the others.