Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução a Big Data

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução a Big Data da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.6
estrelas
9,574 classificações
2,259 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Melhores avaliações

HM
8 de Set de 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

PB
24 de Mai de 2018

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.\n\nVery smooth learning experience.

Filtrar por:

2051 — 2075 de 2,191 Avaliações para o Introdução a Big Data

por Marta L M

30 de Out de 2017

Interesting concepts and basics about Big Data. However, it could include more practical exercises or quiz to continuously learn and evaluate the student.

por Federico A G C

25 de Set de 2016

A little bit too conceptual and very basic. Hadoop hands on and HDFS should be much more intensive. However, good material, well presented and explained.

por Akash C

20 de Nov de 2018

The Content of the Course is Very Good.But the examples are very Outdated. And the English Slang they Spoke is Difficult for an Indian to Understand.

por Rao, R X

17 de Out de 2018

It was a good Course.. we should have some kind of a helpline or a chat bot which will help in the installation process of virtual box or Hadoop etc.

por Kashif H

17 de Nov de 2018

Too much theoretical descriptions video lectures . very less programming approach and videos. It should contains more programming practices videos.

por dan s

3 de Mai de 2018

I thought the material was really relevant and timely, however, it would have been nice to have some more assignments to help internalize it.

por Stefano B

25 de Jul de 2017

Very basic stuff. It's nice to have a very easy, very general introduction to the thematic, maybe it's not worth so many lessons though.

por Kim U

17 de Jan de 2018

We get a superficial introduction to tools used in the big data field, but all in all, the course feels a bit like a catalogue.

por Maria S

30 de Mai de 2020

It was very good until the last part of the course, when you have to install de VM and run hadoop. I found it very unclear.

por Lucas P

20 de Nov de 2016

There should be some reading material to assist learning. The course was too expensive for the small content it provided

por Tushar S

15 de Set de 2016

I'd recommend this course be taken as audit. Doesn't add specific value to your skill set! But, it's good to know :-)

por Sukanta C

7 de Ago de 2020

Very long lectures. Can be short with more examples. Felt too many jargons in the very beginning of the course

por Stefano F

21 de Jul de 2020

I was hoping for something more in depth but if you don't have any basic knowledge this course is right for you

por Damien G

1 de Jun de 2018

A lot of theory, at a quite slow rate. I hope we will go deeper in the following courses of the specialization.

por Sara M

23 de Nov de 2020

Great for basics, but needs to be updated. So much of the material was from 2013-2015 and cites "by 2020..."

por Krishan G

4 de Nov de 2020

Data presented are bit old. The newest data and trends will help specially for highly changing technologies.

por Pana A

18 de Out de 2018

Too slow and broad for technical guys. Ok if you have really no idea what is big data or the concept behind

por Francisco J H

20 de Ago de 2019

It was very elementary and buisness oriented concepts. I was expecting more content on technical aspects.

por Byron F

27 de Abr de 2020

I suggest to have best support of the technical exercises. It is difficult if you do not have experience

por Li J

20 de Dez de 2018

thanks for the efforts of making this class, but I feel like the first 3/4 of the contents are tedious.

por Nesrine E

23 de Out de 2016

Good introduction to big data. I would prefer that the hadoop lesson have more practical exercices;

por André F

27 de Ago de 2017

Should spend more time explaining the commands in hadoop and also have more practical exercises

por Emily C

5 de Jul de 2017

Good course, but peer-reviewed assignments make it difficult to learn from feedback.

por Gabriel E

22 de Mar de 2017

Good course if you do not have any idea about Big Data and the technology used.

por akhil r k

16 de Set de 2016

It's a good introduction, but more optional hadoop exercises can be added.