Chevron Left
Voltar para Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven da instituição Instituto de Música Curtis

4.8
estrelas
537 classificações
129 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Our relationship to Beethoven is a deep and paradoxical one. For many musicians, he represents a kind of holy grail: His music has an intensity, rigor, and profundity which keep us in its thrall, and it is perhaps unequalled in the interpretive, technical, and even spiritual challenges it poses to performers. At the same time, Beethoven’s music is casually familiar to millions of people who do not attend concerts or consider themselves musically inclined. Two hundred years after his death, he is everywhere in the culture, yet still represents its summit. This course takes an inside-out look at the 32 piano sonatas from the point of view of a performer. Each lecture will focus on one sonata and an aspect of Beethoven’s music exemplified by it. (These might include: the relationship between Beethoven the pianist and Beethoven the composer; the critical role improvisation plays in his highly structured music; his mixing of extremely refined music with rougher elements; and the often surprising ways in which the events of his life influenced his compositional process and the character of the music he was writing.) The course will feature some analysis and historical background, but its perspective is that of a player, not a musicologist. Its main aim is to explore and demystify the work of the performer, even while embracing the eternal mystery of Beethoven’s music itself. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson. The Dolfinger-McMahon Foundation supports Curtis's lifelong learning initiatives....

Melhores avaliações

JR

Aug 23, 2016

Fascinating trip through the marvellous Beethoven sonatas.\n\nAlthough I love them since many years, I'm very happy to see that It's always possible to progress.\n\nMany thanks Jonathan.

JN

Apr 14, 2020

Excellent coverage of the essentials. Provided me with a lot of understanding that I didn't find elsewhere. I would recommend this to anyone interested in knowing about the sonatas.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven

por Salvador R

Apr 25, 2016

In depth analysis in a field that I was not familiar with. I recommend it to everyone whether they have an interest or not.

por Eamonn P

Nov 04, 2015

Wonderful journey getting to know these sonatas with a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. Thank you for this.

por Emily F

Jul 05, 2017

Excellent course that is accessible and easy to understand. A wonderful combination of music history and listening.

por Fok s k

Aug 14, 2015

Very good demonstration and analyse on Beethoven sonata and raise your interest in further exploring classical music

por Angelina W

Nov 25, 2016

In-depth lectures about Beethoven's life and music. I'm still not a Beethoven fan, but I appreciate his music now.

por Grace V

May 01, 2016

Going through it for the second time this summer. My all time favorite Coursera course, and I've done almost ten...

por John R

Oct 01, 2015

Enjoyed this course. Looking forward to listening to Beethoven's piano sonatas with a slightly more educated ear.

por Anna W

Jan 08, 2016

Excellent course. I think I began to understand and — what is most important for me — feel the music. Thank you!

por William D

May 19, 2016

Outstanding introduction to Beethoven's Piano Sonatas. It has sparked a great interest in me for these pieces.

por Benjamin G

Mar 11, 2017

organized, insightful. Mr. Biss clearly has a passion for the music which comes through in his teaching

,

por Kathleen C

Oct 22, 2015

Great lectures, great playing, excellent and enjoyable course. Thank you, Mr. Biss and Curtis Institu

por Do H L

Jun 22, 2016

I have always wanted to learn deeply about Beethoven's Sonatas as I listen to them on a daily basis.

por Sebastian N

Oct 18, 2015

Extremelly interesting! I am so unhappy I don't have enough time now to attend the course properly.

por Axel E M A

Oct 27, 2015

Fantastic course. Thank you so much for sharing all this wonderful insight into Beethoven's works.

por eugenia g c t

Jan 05, 2017

muy pronto regresare a terminarlo solo que primero debo estudiar ingles para entender el idioma

por Nelly M C C

Sep 03, 2016

Although I have completed the course I still go back to it to listen to Prof. Bliss teachings.

por Miriam P S

Jan 30, 2016

Fantastic, excellent musician and incredible mastery of the subject. I enjoyed it enormously.

por Sebastián A P

Jun 05, 2017

Mindblowing, exquisite explanations and a broad look on Beethoven's work. Simply magnificent.

por Vedran S

Sep 13, 2015

Jonathan Biss is a superb musician and instructor! This course is a wonderful resource!

por Yvonne N

May 06, 2020

Excellent course. Enthusiastic, knowledgeable tutor. Brilliant pianist too.

por Alfredo B

Sep 22, 2015

excelent course, gives me the inspiration and motivation that i need!!

por Patricia A C

Sep 19, 2015

Excellent course. Jonathan is a great pianist and a great instructor.

por Peggy E

Aug 14, 2015

Excellent, great fun, Jonathan Bliss is a top teacher, thanks !!!!!

por Joe A

Jan 06, 2019

The lecturer lives and breaths Beethoven. Highly recommended.

por Anna N

Oct 03, 2015

Jonathan Biss is really Beethoven Geek of all Geeks. Thanks!