Chevron Left
Voltar para Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven da instituição Instituto de Música Curtis

4.8
520 classificações
122 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Our relationship to Beethoven is a deep and paradoxical one. For many musicians, he represents a kind of holy grail: His music has an intensity, rigor, and profundity which keep us in its thrall, and it is perhaps unequalled in the interpretive, technical, and even spiritual challenges it poses to performers. At the same time, Beethoven’s music is casually familiar to millions of people who do not attend concerts or consider themselves musically inclined. Two hundred years after his death, he is everywhere in the culture, yet still represents its summit. This course takes an inside-out look at the 32 piano sonatas from the point of view of a performer. Each lecture will focus on one sonata and an aspect of Beethoven’s music exemplified by it. (These might include: the relationship between Beethoven the pianist and Beethoven the composer; the critical role improvisation plays in his highly structured music; his mixing of extremely refined music with rougher elements; and the often surprising ways in which the events of his life influenced his compositional process and the character of the music he was writing.) The course will feature some analysis and historical background, but its perspective is that of a player, not a musicologist. Its main aim is to explore and demystify the work of the performer, even while embracing the eternal mystery of Beethoven’s music itself. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson. The Dolfinger-McMahon Foundation supports Curtis's lifelong learning initiatives....

Melhores avaliações

JR

Aug 23, 2016

Fascinating trip through the marvellous Beethoven sonatas.\n\nAlthough I love them since many years, I'm very happy to see that It's always possible to progress.\n\nMany thanks Jonathan.

JM

Oct 16, 2015

I highly recommend this course to anyone that wants to look DEEPER into music. Believe me, after you are done with this course. You will see classical music completely different.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven

por Harry Y

Jan 26, 2019

Jonathan Biss communicates, so profoundly, the essence of the musical experience. He does it with consummate authority, both as an exceptional pianist and as a lover of Beethoven's music. So many MOOC courses end up sagging. This one never sags; it soars to and through its finale.

por Joe A

Jan 06, 2019

The lecturer lives and breaths Beethoven. Highly recommended.

por elizabeth c

Feb 07, 2019

Phenomenal!

por Adrienne F

Aug 26, 2018

This course presents a totally interesting view of the Beethoven Sonatas, zeroing in on a few of them since an exhaustive view would take so many more hours to present. Jonathan Biss is a wonderful pianist and lecturer and the course is fascinating. It has helped me tremendously in both my enjoyment of the importance and variety of the sonatas and in re-evaluating my own performances. Thank you so much for this insight, Jonathan Biss - it is invaluable.

por Steven P

Aug 12, 2017

Just fantastic. Love the info and love the playing!

por Miriam P S

Jan 30, 2016

Fantastic, excellent musician and incredible mastery of the subject. I enjoyed it enormously.

por Michael S

Feb 22, 2016

Fantastic course! Very informative.

I think the second part of the course was improved. Jonathan demonstrating more on the piano (as opposed to just explaining -- as he did more of in the first part) was a great addition.

Looking forward to Jonathan's next concert!

por William D

May 19, 2016

Outstanding introduction to Beethoven's Piano Sonatas. It has sparked a great interest in me for these pieces.

por Gerardo C

Sep 21, 2015

Amazing course!!! Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

por Ji Y

Aug 15, 2015

Pretty good!

por Joy S

Dec 18, 2017

I signed up for this because I took a longer class on classical music and loved Beethoven week. This course did not disappoint: instructor's knowledge is comprehensive and his ability to just sit down and play any bit of Beethoven at whim is impressive. Truly enjoyed by me.

por Peter E

Sep 02, 2015

Just superb. Is there a better, more passionate and lucid guide to this extraordinary music than Jonathan Biss? The whole series is utterly compelling. It's made me listen to and absorb the sonatas in a whole new way, and it's opened my eyes to the full scope and scale, beauty and humour of Beethoven's genius in a way I'd never imagined possible. Can't wait for more new lectures in the future.

por Richard S

Aug 08, 2016

Enjoyable and enlightening. I found prof. Bliss' straight forward lecture style very concise and his insight and passion for the material clear.

por LUANA M L

Sep 03, 2016

Great course!

por eugenia g c t

Jan 05, 2017

muy pronto regresare a terminarlo solo que primero debo estudiar ingles para entender el idioma

por Sebastian R B

Dec 15, 2015

This course provides an excellent overview of Beethoven's most important piano sonatas and the innovations that he made. It is the point of view of a player, not a musicologist, and this makes the lessons quite enjoyable and closely related to the music itself. I loved it.

por Kathleen C

Oct 22, 2015

Great lectures, great playing, excellent and enjoyable course. Thank you, Mr. Biss and Curtis Institu

por Maggie J

Jul 25, 2016

Love love love this course!!!

Jonathan Biss is very well-acquainted with Beethoven's sonatas. His explanations are beautiful and I love how thorough he is! He goes through the fine, minute details of Beethoven's sonatas without sacrificing the zoomed-out view of Beethoven's life and influences as well.

Besides that, Biss is an extraordinary pianist and clearly loves and admires Beethoven's sonatas. I hope he'll keep on adding to this course!

por isabella

Nov 07, 2015

Amazing course! I can now understand Beethoven's Sonatas in a much deeper level, as well as how performance and innovation evolved throughout time.

por Francisco P M

Jan 09, 2017

Really interesting. Highly recommendable.

por Luis C P D l R

Aug 14, 2015

A must-take for all classical music lovers.

por RISSER-MAROIX

Sep 24, 2015

Hughly rated course; all mélomanes" should apply!

Excellent cours d'analyse musicale. Une première pour moi et aussi l'occasion d'écouter le passionant parce que passionné Jonathan BLISS. Merci à lui, à Coursera et à l'Institut Curtis.

por Abraham L

Sep 14, 2015

Thanks for the Wonderfull information, I love it.

por JK

Aug 18, 2015

I rediscover the beauty of Beethoven's piano sonatas through Mr. Biss clear, interesting and engaging lectures. I like the fact that he himself is a performing pianist that made all the demo very enjoyable and convincing.

Also, I did not quite understand the greatness of Beethoven's late sonatas before and now I almost cannot pass by a week without listening to one. Thanks for introducing me to the world of late period of Beethoven. Now there is much more to be explored: string quartets, piano trios, missa solemnis, etc.

por Hsiang L L W

Mar 13, 2018

This is a fabulous course with insight to Beethoven's sonatas. I've been playing piano for 27 years, and I am learning so much from this course! It was a very enjoyable learning experience. I would recommend this course to everyone.