Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
estrelas
1,909 classificações
497 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JH

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

Filtrar por:

426 — 450 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por Alaa A

Feb 28, 2017

I could say , it is the best bayesian stat I ever experience till now.

por Abhimanyu R

Feb 22, 2019

This is a good course if you know probability and want to practices

por Kamil S

Apr 29, 2018

Excellent course, but the lack of the written notes is a big minus

por David I M

Sep 19, 2017

Satisfied with the course in general. Good investment of my time!!

por Eddie C

Jan 09, 2020

Quite harsh but give me some insight on prediction and estimation

por Eddie G

Apr 21, 2019

It would have been better to have more data analysis applications

por Chunhui G

Mar 07, 2019

These are a lot of stuffs that the professor didn't say clearly.

por Aravind M

Apr 17, 2019

Good introductory course. Could provide more hands-on examples

por Wate S

Dec 23, 2017

For me Chinese, it 's not easy to understand the quiz.

por Gil S

Mar 03, 2019

Clear and consise introduction to Bayesian statistics

por Yuanruo L

Nov 05, 2016

Good and simple introduction for Bayesian statistics.

por Sunsik K

Aug 24, 2017

well instructed basic course of Bayesian statistics.

por Alexei M

May 13, 2018

More examples are required as well as more practice

por Venkataraghavan P K

Feb 11, 2019

Loved the theory & analytical part of the course.

por Bishal L

Mar 07, 2017

It is a nice introductory course on Baysian s

por Carson M

Oct 27, 2017

Pretty good overview of Bayesian statistics.

por xuening

Jan 26, 2017

from week 3, the learning curve become steep

por Wenbin M

Feb 09, 2020

The normal distribution part lacks detail.

por Ezra K

Feb 13, 2020

Good overview of Bayesian statistics.

por Xindie H

Jan 27, 2019

Nice and easy introduction course.

por Witold W

Aug 29, 2017

Liked it and can recommend it.

por Chuck M

Jan 11, 2017

A good course - recommended.

por Valentina D M

Mar 29, 2018

Need more material on R.

por Spyros L

Sep 20, 2017

Very good introduction!

por Johannes M

Jun 06, 2017

I am working in the field of epidemiological, medical research. Overall I would recommend taking this course. It needs to be pointed out, however, that if you are outside of the field of mathematics this specific course entails a lot of research (using google etc) that needs to be undertaken to understand the course material. Maybe in the future the course directors can compile a summary of all important formulae etc so that professionals from sectors other than mathematics can follow more easily and can focus much on this particular course on Bayesian statistics and not so much on conducting additional research to understand the basic course material. Furthermore, alongside a summary formula sheet it would be good to have all explanations included, what the parameters (alpha, beta etc) stand for with regards to the specific context. Thank you very much for this course!