Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
1,647 classificações
433 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JH

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

Filtrar por:

401 — 424 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por Jens L R

Jan 31, 2017

It was pretty intuitive and easy to follow the first couple of weeks, but then the assumed knowledge of beta and gamma distributions and their frequentist usage, stood in the way of me fully grasping the Bayesian part of it. In the end I just copied the examples from the lectures and passed the tests ... without really getting it.

por Augusto S P

Sep 24, 2017

The course is good for beginners in statistics. In my opinion it would be better to invest more time explaining different topics about bayesian regression and bayesian time series.

por Ahmed S

Jan 04, 2017

This course requires solid grounding in mathematics. No meant of Social Science graduates without proper training in statistics/mathematics. The course was good in the sense that we could how probability distributions are used to model real world problems.

Study material was certainly not adequate.

por Johannes M

Jun 06, 2017

I am working in the field of epidemiological, medical research. Overall I would recommend taking this course. It needs to be pointed out, however, that if you are outside of the field of mathematics this specific course entails a lot of research (using google etc) that needs to be undertaken to understand the course material. Maybe in the future the course directors can compile a summary of all important formulae etc so that professionals from sectors other than mathematics can follow more easily and can focus much on this particular course on Bayesian statistics and not so much on conducting additional research to understand the basic course material. Furthermore, alongside a summary formula sheet it would be good to have all explanations included, what the parameters (alpha, beta etc) stand for with regards to the specific context. Thank you very much for this course!

por Francois S

Sep 05, 2017

Nice introduction to Bayesian concepts. Presentation sometimes focused on the details of the calculations and could gain from more perspective. Sections relating to Normal variables - variance unknown and Linear Regression could be more explicit. Useful overall as an introduction, but require to get additional external material to get to the bottom of it.

por aref h

Aug 24, 2017

better to come up with more examples and more mathematical details

por sokunsatya s

May 31, 2018

Overall, it's Ok. but the explanation is too short and incomplete.

por Ken M

May 01, 2019

It would have been great if more graphs had been provided, for easier visualization of the e.g. distributions, or concepts.

por Tawan S

Jun 03, 2019

For some derivations, the explanations are too sparse.

por yogi t c

Jun 22, 2019

I don't have background in math and statistics, in the first week of the lecture i can catch up with the lesson, but coming into week 3 and 4 it's really hard to me to understand what's happening, since the lecture / videos only talking about the formulas and only taught us how to use the formula. Actually for person like me who want to know Bayesian Statistics application in the real world and also fundamentals of it it's quite not recommended to took this lecture, honestly. However in the general understanding this lecture quite can help me how Bayesian thinking works what is the connection between likelihood, prior, how to choose prior, etc.

por Victor D

Jul 09, 2019

Very informative as an introduction to concepts, but nowhere near the deep dive I'm now interested in taking.

por Max H

Jul 14, 2019

It would be much better if there was a more sufficient introduction to the various distributions used in the course.

por roger

Jul 24, 2019

It would be better to add more explain about those equations and connect the math stuffs with the real world samples

por Tianchi L

Aug 15, 2019

-1 star: Some discussions and derivations do not have adequate context and background. I expected more thorough explanation on concepts and more advanced topics. There are also a few minor typos that confused me. It is only a helpful introductory level course on Bayesian without depth.

-1 star: quizzes are not challenging enough and they only require plugging in numbers into equation. Not a good way to study

por Jorge P

Feb 02, 2017

Some matters were just given formulas and there was a lack of practice. The course should cover less materials or be longer to be effective in teaching.

por Fabian K

May 01, 2017

Not very much in depth and does not offer complete lecture notes, which are necessary for answering the quizzes...

por Martin E

Apr 13, 2017

I get lost a bit too often.

The teacher sometimes explains easy concepts and omits the difficult ones (e.g. exponential distribution is explained as "for example if you are waiting for a bus that comes every ten minutes" and then he tells you how to compute expected value and moves on, but he does not say WHAT IT MEANS - is it the probability that I will meet an oncoming bus? is it probability of waiting ten minutes for the bus? is it the average waiting time? is it average number of buses that come every hour? - but there is detailed explanation of what A squared means in lesson two (!))

The teacher often makes me confused as to where he got the numbers he is plugging in the formula or what answer the formula gives.

But I take it as a challenge and I intend to finish the course despite all of that. Sometimes it is fun to decipher the mystic equations. And maybe it is me, maybe I was not born to be a statistician. Maybe there are people that find this stuff easy and understand it right away.

I really like the quizes. They are HARD.

One last thing: Wearing white shirt and using white marker makes it impossible to read what he writes. But I take it is part of the challenge ;-)

por Jane B

Jul 31, 2018

There should be more focus on understanding the equations. The R and excel videos were incredibly blurry.

por Mehrdad P

Jul 04, 2019

it was an okay course, I liked that they used R occasionally in the course, but I did not like how the concepts were discussed

por Patrick K W

Jul 28, 2019

It's alright because it gives you an overview of what is covered in a Bayesian Stats class, but the material is presented quite poorly and I had to do a lot of second hand reading to answer the questions. It is not particularly enlightening even and the formulas are presented without proper grounding, context, and intuition. I can recommend this only for dedicated self-studiers who already have some sort of grounding in Bayesian reasoning.

por Benjamin H

Jan 05, 2019

I was baffled after the first lesson. There is no explanation or answers given.

por Emine Ç Ö

May 23, 2017

Almost no intuition is given. I really got bored while watching the formulas to be written on the board without giving real meaning behind them. I would not have taken this course I was aware of these.

por Voo T V

Jan 29, 2017

I have studied some Bayesian Statistics before. I feel like the materials itself is not sufficient for entry level, and will actually confuse some of the learners. Anyway, this is just my two cents. :)

por Sathish R

May 19, 2018

Herbert Lee is teaching by seeing books and write lots of equations doesn't explain how theory and equations related to real world applications. Its more like class room lessons , not like something that can be applied to real world scenarios.