Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
1,695 classificações
440 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JH

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por Brian J

Mar 18, 2018

Great course, I learned a lot. Challenging!

por Juan M R

Aug 26, 2017

It is very useful to acquire a basic knowledge about Bayesian statistic.

por Devesh S

Jun 30, 2017

A well organized course, learned important concepts in statistics and probability that will definitely help anyone wanting to specialize in machine learning or take up data science. Clear and concise explanation of theory focusing on application that is adequately tested in the exams.

por Paulina S

Mar 10, 2017

This is my first course on Coursera and I am delighted by the construction, how it was led by the instructor and what I learned. Quizzez are great, I spent on some quite a bit of time, but I feel they really checked if I understand the concepts and calculations. The questions during the video are also an excellent idea to check if you follow. All in all I am very happy I took this course!

por Anupam K

Mar 16, 2018

Extremely useful course. The way concepts are taught is amazing. However, if you are like me, you will have problems following the lectures at the speed at which the professor proceeds. It's a minor 'subjective' issue. The second issue is that sometimes, the equations in the quizzes may appear in the form of "cryptic codes", for the lack of better words, and you'll know it if you face it. A change of browser solves the problem, for me a shift from Chrome to Safari did the trick! Hope this helps.

por Roderick R

Apr 12, 2017

Excellent course!!

por John H

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

por Frank K

Jul 01, 2017

Taking this course hase been fun. The material is presented in a clear and structured way, the Tests help to understand and deepen the knowledge. I can recommend it.

por Benjamin A A

May 21, 2018

j

por Sergio G

Jul 25, 2017

Wow!!! it was great!

por Antoine N

Aug 21, 2017

Great introduction to the Bayesian framework! The exercises are relevant and I look forward to the second part (Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models).

por Sean E

Mar 12, 2018

Great introduction to Bayesian Statistics with some easy-enough-to-follow mathematical insights.

por KJ B

Jul 14, 2017

This is a good course. The instructor offers additional material that help with the understanding of the material, along with enough quizzes to help with practical use.

por Clive S H

Jan 15, 2018

Interesting, challenging, informative, entertaining, Herbie Lee is an excellent presenter of a very well prepared introduction to what seems to be a more rational and coherent approach to extracting, understanding and evaluating quantative information from data

por Madhu S

Feb 17, 2018

Nice introductory course. Some mathematics skills needed to fully appreciate.

por Evgenii L

May 02, 2018

A very good course. Even better if you continue with the 2nd course that teaches about how to implement Bayesian data analysis in JAGS

por Kevin P B

Feb 15, 2018

A good introduction to the concepts conveyed by revealing the equations and expressions on a whiteboard. Minimal work with data and programming - much less of this than other Coursera classes on the same topics. Also unlike other Coursera classes on the same topic, the quiz answers/hints are useful and contain the relevant equations or R commands - not merely "correct" or "you should not have chosen this answer." I found this very helpful for self learning and confirming solution approach.

por Jose P C

Nov 07, 2017

I've learned how to process data and analyze data from studies, that's a wonderful ability I think everybody should try to learn in order to not get manipulated by the media. Thanks for this course!

por Mehdi H

Nov 11, 2017

I really liked the course and the instructor.

por Yitian L L

Jun 25, 2017

VERY INSIGHTFUL AND INSTRUCTIVE

por Tetsuhiko O

Jan 20, 2018

I studied basic theory from these lectures. I will try again and again until I understand Baysian Statistics concept completely.

por luiz.cunha@axa-im.com

Mar 22, 2018

A great course, very clear, well presented. Most of knowledge for the time invested

por Efren S

Dec 18, 2017

Great stuff!

por Бызов А

May 27, 2018

Marvellous course! Thank you very much! I would really appreciate, if you'll create an advanced version of this course

por Jack

May 17, 2018

The teacher is excellent and charming and the course is also easy to follow. However, with more exercise will be better!