Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
estrelas
3,040 classificações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

31 de ago de 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

16 de out de 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 780 Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por Shakir B

3 de ago de 2020

Initially I was a bit put off. But what a compilation of well thought set of lectures and quizzes! Thoroughly enjoyed.

por Byzov A

27 de mai de 2018

Marvellous course! Thank you very much! I would really appreciate, if you'll create an advanced version of this course

por Flavio P

10 de ago de 2017

Very interesting. It can help taking notes during the course... to avoid going again through it and take them ex-post.

por kacl780tr

6 de jul de 2017

Excellent course, although it would have been nice to get more content on uninformative priors and Fisher information.

por 张宁

24 de set de 2016

This course are excellent and Thanks for Prof for offering the course. I've learned a lot from the course. Thank you.

por 郭冰

10 de mar de 2017

I have learned a lot from this course. As there is not course like this one in my univeristy, I really appreiate it.

por M J H

22 de ago de 2021

Great starting point to study bayesian statistics, though it requires some previous knowledge on basic statistics.

por Zach K

3 de ago de 2020

I learned a ton about statistics and probability distributions. It was great prep for my machine learning classes.

por Xilu W

19 de nov de 2016

I'm a graduate student in mechanical engineering. Thanks for the open course, it is really convenient and helpful!

por Artur A B

21 de ago de 2019

Very useful course, described a basic understanding behind Bayesian theory and sequential updating of posteriors.

por Harsh V D

6 de ago de 2017

A very well designed and productive course for anyone looking to brush up his/her concepts on Bayesian Statistics

por Andrew N

22 de out de 2016

wrote in my comment.

The course is extremely well presented and the difficulty level of the excercises is perfect.

por Stephen

17 de mar de 2019

A very nice introduction to Bayesian Statistics in a couple of hours. The course is quite intuitive and concise.

por Travis M

27 de dez de 2020

4.6 Stars. Thank you Dr. Lee for taking the time to provide this class for the World for free, I learned a lot.

por Erkan K

17 de dez de 2019

A very nice brief overview of the concept. Good for beginners and for people who want to refresh their memory.

por Maojie T

2 de dez de 2019

A good course, even it's not very deep, it still can teach people something fresh and comprehensive knowledge.

por Adam B

4 de jun de 2017

Great course as an introduction to Bayesian Statistics. Interesting material and the pace was very reasonable.

por Zoylo M R

8 de dez de 2022

It was an excellent course, I understood Bayesian statistics and will continue to delve into this vast field.

por Mrinal

4 de ago de 2020

Excellent material, examples, and quizzes. Does not trade technicality for practicality, both being abundant.

por NoneLand

6 de fev de 2018

Very good! Going through this course, one would get basic idea about Bayesian Statistics and conjugate prior.

por Huang h

23 de mai de 2017

A Good Introduction to Bayesian Statistics. I always get quick response after I post a question on the forum.

por Satish N

23 de ago de 2020

Very Good Course. It is decently paced and comprehensive enough to get you started with Bayesian Statistics.

por Soonkyo J

18 de fev de 2018

The coolest part of this lecture is mathematical explanation of concepts, especially about conjugate priors.

por Gowri T

5 de fev de 2020

I liked the quizzes, detailed feedback. The lectures were a bit hurried, but a lot of good content in them.

por matthew

30 de jul de 2017

I strongly recommend this course. Clear structure and insightful questions. Thanks for instructor's inputs.