Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Methods for Machine Learning

Bayesian Methods for Machine Learning, National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.6
315 classificações
88 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

People apply Bayesian methods in many areas: from game development to drug discovery. They give superpowers to many machine learning algorithms: handling missing data, extracting much more information from small datasets. Bayesian methods also allow us to estimate uncertainty in predictions, which is a desirable feature for fields like medicine. When applied to deep learning, Bayesian methods allow you to compress your models a hundred folds, and automatically tune hyperparameters, saving your time and money. In six weeks we will discuss the basics of Bayesian methods: from how to define a probabilistic model to how to make predictions from it. We will see how one can automate this workflow and how to speed it up using some advanced techniques. We will also see applications of Bayesian methods to deep learning and how to generate new images with it. We will see how new drugs that cure severe diseases be found with Bayesian methods....

Melhores avaliações

por JG

Nov 18, 2017

This course is little difficult. But I could find very helpful.\n\nAlso, I didn't find better course on Bayesian anywhere on the net. So I will recommend this if anyone wants to die into bayesian.

por VO

Apr 03, 2019

Great introduction to Bayesian methods, with quite good hands on assignments. This course will definitely be the first step towards a rigorous study of the field.

Filtrar por:

84 avaliações

por Igor Buzhinskii

Apr 18, 2019

A wonderful course to improve the theoretical understanding of machine learning and recap probability theory. The lecturers did their best to drag the listener through the math of the EM algorithm and more. The transition to Google Colab indeed simplified online work with Jupyter notebooks.

por Ануфриев Сергей Сергеевич

Apr 07, 2019

So far the most interesting course in specialisation

por MASSON

Apr 06, 2019

Good course.

Too much theory, not enough practice

por Kuldeep Jiwani

Apr 04, 2019

Various advanced Machine Learning topics like Bayesian interpretation techniques, probabilistic modelling, variational auto encoders, etc. have been explained in a very intuitive and simple manner. Then the assignments are well designed to make sure one is able to work on the existing packages available.

por Vaibhav Ojha

Apr 03, 2019

Great introduction to Bayesian methods, with quite good hands on assignments. This course will definitely be the first step towards a rigorous study of the field.

por Karishma Dixit

Mar 25, 2019

Lots of maths! :). Assignments were very interesting as well.

But overall, this has been my favourite course so far. I like how in depth the lectures went into the maths (made me feel like I was back at uni). However, if I did not have a maths + stats background (from university), I think I would have struggled to keep up with the content

Couple of comments though:

1) For the MCMC week, it would have helped my understanding if we had to fit a Bayesian model to a dataset from scratch via our own implementation of Metropolis Hastings for example in addition to using the pymc3 library.

2) For the Gaussian Processes week, it would have helped my understanding if we had to fit a GP to some data via our own implementation in addition to using the GPy library.

por Maciej

Mar 24, 2019

Overall it's good. My problem is that most of this material is better suited to lecture notes and not a video. They're forcing it into a video since it's coursera. Couldn't get through a lot of the lectures, used a textbook instead.

por Erwin Poeze

Mar 17, 2019

This course provides a comprehensive overview how Bayes stats can be used in ML. I'm better able to value the different concepts like EM, GP and VAE and put them into perspective. Depending on you previous math and stats skills the assignments can be challenging and it took me some stamina to complete. The "Russian English" is sometimes a bit of a hurdle when watching the videos, but you get used to it. The concepts are well explained and the references to the additional materials useful.

por François Lecerf

Mar 07, 2019

Very tough but very interesting

por Jordi Warmenhoven

Feb 28, 2019

This is a challenging course, but well worth it! One needs to be able to manage both the lecture content and the practical side of the course, namely the Python modules/environment. The Python ecosystem is developping fast and some modules changed since the assignments have been created. This means that you need to be able handle deprecations within Python modules and your own Python environment if needed. But this is an advanced course, so I think that is fine. Things have been made easier now that the course creaters have moved assignments to Colaboratory.