Chevron Left
Voltar para Estatística básica

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Estatística básica da instituição Universidade de Amsterdã

4.6
estrelas
4,135 classificações
1,026 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Melhores avaliações

PG

20 de abr de 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

DA

28 de jan de 2021

great course with good videos and examples. Very good course for learning the basic statistics. Unfortunately the week 3 is the most misunderstanding module, nevertheless very good and understanding

Filtrar por:

1001 — 1016 de 1,016 Avaliações para o Estatística básica

por yazhini c

16 de ago de 2016

R labs are too tedious for people with medical or science background! we need explanations rather than trying to figure it out on our own!

por Mayssaa D

17 de set de 2021

The lecturer is very good but there is no reason putting R language in a basic statistics class.

por Stuart M

21 de abr de 2021

Unfortunately, this class wasn't useful in teaching me basic statistics.

por Lai J

29 de abr de 2020

shitty final exam questions. confusion on sample std or population std

por Tobias R A

23 de mar de 2020

If you don't pay it you can't do anything

por Mayank G

5 de mai de 2021

Very lenghty R labs to complete

por Ivan C

7 de jan de 2016

Damn R-Lab

por Gannon O

29 de jan de 2021

It started off well enough. Loved the visuals. Week 3 probablity was really confusing and my thoughts on the course started to change quickly. The R work helped a little, but I still didn't understand a lot. I feel like forumulas are thrown at you very quickly. It's almost like 'how much can we put into 5 minutes as quickly as possible?'. I'm at the end of week 4 now and quitting. I am not getting much out of this and tired of rewatching videos 5 or 6 times hoping to understand or memorize something. There is probably better use of my time. I will try Duke's version now.

How to improve this? Put some questions after each video. Waiting till the end to give the students some questions which causes them to go back and replay all those 'super fast' videos again - Feels a bit lazy as way to teach. Maybe its me.

Can someone on Coursera just simply teach stats without trying to tie in a programming language? Since its obvious by now, you guys can't teach both well in one course how about just focusing on one well? (I'm looking at you Stats w/ Python Univ of Michigan).

por Kleuber R A

20 de mai de 2021

The fact of aborting the subjects in a very fast and superficial way leaves something to be desired and ends up generating a lot of confusion both in the course and in the programming part. I would need more examples and activities so that knowledge could be absorbed more easily and intuitively. There are some calculation errors in the videos and the lack of some references associated with tables Z and T that generate a lot of doubts and confusion. Anyway, I expected the course to be more organized.

por Alyxx S B

27 de jun de 2020

The information was amusing sometimes, but the first 2 chapters are sexist. That aside - the "R Lab" is not relevant to the class. Also, the order is backwards - all the interesting theory parts are the last 3 chapters!

por Muhammad U Q

16 de nov de 2020

R Labs are a total waste and these should not be the part of the course as we are not here for the programming language, the sole purpose was to learn basic statistic not some programming language. going to unroll

por Assad N

6 de out de 2020

please write the requirement necessary to complete this course, one can chose if he is capable of doing the lab. although statistics is basic but i wonder the computer skills are not.......

por Robert W v Z

5 de mai de 2021

No interest in or use for R, ever. Moving to another course on statistics that does not require silly programming.

por Iván A

20 de mai de 2020

It should be named 'Basic', or say that it doesn't require previous knowledge because it does.

por Deleted A

2 de mar de 2021

Very long and I was feeling unmotivated to complete the course

por Anshika C

26 de set de 2020

i want to unenroll from the course, I am not able to do it.