Chevron Left
Voltar para Estatística básica

Estatística básica, Universidade de Amsterdã

4.7
1,927 classificações
515 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Melhores avaliações

por PG

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

por CD

Mar 06, 2016

This course is really awesome. Designed well. Looks like a lot of efforts have been taken by the team to build this course. Kudos to everyone. Keep up the good work and thank you very much.

Filtrar por:

496 avaliações

por Francisco Manuel Amezola Chávez

Feb 21, 2019

This is an incredible curse. It has a lot of information, but they manage to deliver it in a dynamic, fun, and quite intuitive way, so it is really easy to develop an inner logic for all of the statistical concepts. Thank you very much.

por Ashfaqur Rahman

Feb 20, 2019

Great course for researchers

por Abhay Kashyap

Feb 17, 2019

Excellent course structure! Very well presented with adequate visual teaching aids and examples!

por Olokojo George Edward

Feb 13, 2019

I find it mind blowing and i love the tutors style of demystifying statistics using daily life examples/cases

por Syberen van Munster

Feb 09, 2019

The instructional videos are clear, nicely illustrated, and contain good examples that make you get an intuitive grasp of the course material. Exams are good and the feedback provided references the lecture in question, so that you can re-watch it, very nice.

The biggest drawback of this course are the R labs. The questions are extremely sloppy, full of spelling errors. Most of the questions could have been asked during the regular exam, since all you are doing is submitting answers, no programming needed at all. If there are multiple questions in one section, there is no way of knowing which one you got wrong, it will simply say "something isn't right", which is very infuriating.

I hope they will shift these questions from the R lab to the regular exam. Given that I'm paying a considerable monthly fee to take this course, I would have definitely expected this aspect to be better, and feedback to be taken seriously, which I don't think it is unfortunately.

por

Jan 30, 2019

I really enjoy to watch each class.

por john newton

Jan 25, 2019

took the free option. It has been good so far, learning a ton. I find the videos move quickly and after watching them I had to re-read the material, overall i would recommend this course.

por Sandeep Lakshmichand

Jan 23, 2019

First 3 modules are very good. Going from basic statistics to basic probability. 4th module onward it is not basic anymore. I would split it into 2 parts.

por Alden Mendoza

Jan 17, 2019

Excellent explanation. A few minor mistakes in the tables but nothing that tips the scale. Great course overall.

por Rebecca Taylor

Jan 14, 2019

I found it extremely difficult, but it was quite well taught and I feel I have a much better understanding of statistics now.