Chevron Left
Voltar para Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization da instituição Universidade de Melbourne

4.8
estrelas
346 classificações
92 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Optimization is a common form of decision making, and is ubiquitous in our society. Its applications range from solving Sudoku puzzles to arranging seating in a wedding banquet. The same technology can schedule planes and their crews, coordinate the production of steel, and organize the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Good decisions in manpower and material resources management also allow corporations to improve profit by millions of dollars. Similar problems also underpin much of our daily lives and are part of determining daily delivery routes for packages, making school timetables, and delivering power to our homes. Despite their fundamental importance, all of these problems are a nightmare to solve using traditional undergraduate computer science methods. This course is intended for students interested in tackling all facets of optimization applications. You will learn an entirely new way to think about solving these challenging problems by stating the problem in a state-of-the-art high level modeling language, and letting library constraint solving software do the rest. This will allow you to unlock the power of industrial solving technologies, which have been perfected over decades by hundreds of PhD researchers. With access to this advanced technology, problems that are considered inconceivable to solve before will suddenly become easy. Watch the course promotional video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hc3cBvtrem0&t=8s...

Melhores avaliações

KG
7 de Nov de 2020

Excellent course! I learned a lot. Although the assignments were sometimes hard to fathom, and its online nature mean getting hints was difficult, there's enough there to help get through.

BO
26 de Jul de 2019

Thank you so much for the course. I had to fight my coding habits, programming CP models is quite different from the traditional programming I'm, and it could even be more fun!

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 87 Avaliações para o Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

por Михаил С

22 de Set de 2018

Great course, but huge gap in difficulty between weeks two and three, as it seemed to me. Knowledge given by course is applicable both for a work and a hobby for me.

por Adel F

22 de Dez de 2020

Excellent course, gives you a whole different contextualization of 'for loop' and formulation and solving a descrete optimization problem. Fun and challenging

por Hala A

2 de Set de 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

por Jaydeep M

29 de Jul de 2020

Great course for introduction to discrete optimization. Video lectures were engaging and the assignments were challenging but fun.

por Philippe C

14 de Jan de 2018

Great course to learn modeling discrete optimization problems. Excellent pedagogy and amusing problems to model using MiniZinc.

por Clot J

30 de Mai de 2019

Good teachers. They go gradually from very easy to challenging concepts. Also a good intro to the main optimization problems.

por Nikolaj V C

18 de Mai de 2020

This course is really great. You get to model a lot of different problems, which are both fun and challenging.

por David B

11 de Jun de 2020

Very good assignements, it is a good introduction to CP, so i hope to continue to the next level soon.

por Olivier C

13 de Out de 2020

Interesting course, constraint solving systems are way different from usual programming languages.

por Charles E T

8 de Jun de 2019

Certainly more effort went into this course than I was expecting; well worth the $0 cost of entry.

por Filip S

15 de Out de 2020

Teaches the basics of modelling really well. I'm looking forward to the follow-up course.

por Keane J

10 de Jan de 2021

Great introduction to modeling for discrete optimization. Very engaging and challenging.

por Tino W

26 de Nov de 2017

It's a fun course and can be applied on many optimization problems in the real world.

por Cyprien P

10 de Jun de 2020

Awesome content and teachers, Minizinc is great to design contraints-based problems.

por Cristian R A

9 de Out de 2019

This course is very useful for learning basic CSP Modelling with Minizinc

por Ferry d B

3 de Mar de 2020

Great course, quality of the lectures and exercises was outstanding!

por Dharyll P A

24 de Jun de 2018

A creative way of teaching discrete optimization. Well appreciated.

por Juan L R A

26 de Set de 2017

A very good course. Thank you to the teachers and Staff in general.

por Duany D B S

29 de Mai de 2017

It's a great course! Professors explain the content in a easy way!

por Cameron D

9 de Mar de 2019

Great course, provided a nice introduction to discrete modelling

por Julien E

23 de Ago de 2018

Excellent course ! Great programming assignments using Minizinc

por Cristina P

18 de Fev de 2018

Really engaging. Also challenging assignments for weeks 3 and 4

por Diego P R

8 de Fev de 2021

I really enjoyed all the course, and learned a lot of course.

por Abdrakhmanov V

12 de Fev de 2021

It was pretty hard for me, but very interesting and useful!

por CHRISTIAN H

5 de Dez de 2019

It has amazing knowledge, and both instructors are funny.