Chevron Left
Voltar para Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization da instituição Universidade de Melbourne

4.8
estrelas
310 classificações
81 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Optimization is a common form of decision making, and is ubiquitous in our society. Its applications range from solving Sudoku puzzles to arranging seating in a wedding banquet. The same technology can schedule planes and their crews, coordinate the production of steel, and organize the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Good decisions in manpower and material resources management also allow corporations to improve profit by millions of dollars. Similar problems also underpin much of our daily lives and are part of determining daily delivery routes for packages, making school timetables, and delivering power to our homes. Despite their fundamental importance, all of these problems are a nightmare to solve using traditional undergraduate computer science methods. This course is intended for students interested in tackling all facets of optimization applications. You will learn an entirely new way to think about solving these challenging problems by stating the problem in a state-of-the-art high level modeling language, and letting library constraint solving software do the rest. This will allow you to unlock the power of industrial solving technologies, which have been perfected over decades by hundreds of PhD researchers. With access to this advanced technology, problems that are considered inconceivable to solve before will suddenly become easy. Watch the course promotional video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hc3cBvtrem0&t=8s...

Melhores avaliações

BO

Jul 27, 2019

Thank you so much for the course. I had to fight my coding habits, programming CP models is quite different from the traditional programming I'm, and it could even be more fun!

HA

Sep 02, 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 77 Avaliações para o Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

por Hala A

Sep 02, 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

por Jaydeep M

Jul 29, 2020

Great course for introduction to discrete optimization. Video lectures were engaging and the assignments were challenging but fun.

por Philippe C

Jan 14, 2018

Great course to learn modeling discrete optimization problems. Excellent pedagogy and amusing problems to model using MiniZinc.

por Clot J

May 30, 2019

Good teachers. They go gradually from very easy to challenging concepts. Also a good intro to the main optimization problems.

por Nikolaj V C

May 18, 2020

This course is really great. You get to model a lot of different problems, which are both fun and challenging.

por David B

Jun 11, 2020

Very good assignements, it is a good introduction to CP, so i hope to continue to the next level soon.

por Charles E T

Jun 08, 2019

Certainly more effort went into this course than I was expecting; well worth the $0 cost of entry.

por Tino W

Nov 26, 2017

It's a fun course and can be applied on many optimization problems in the real world.

por Cyprien P

Jun 10, 2020

Awesome content and teachers, Minizinc is great to design contraints-based problems.

por Cristian R A

Oct 09, 2019

This course is very useful for learning basic CSP Modelling with Minizinc

por Ferry d B

Mar 03, 2020

Great course, quality of the lectures and exercises was outstanding!

por Dharyll P A

Jun 24, 2018

A creative way of teaching discrete optimization. Well appreciated.

por Juan L R A

Sep 26, 2017

A very good course. Thank you to the teachers and Staff in general.

por Duany D B S

May 30, 2017

It's a great course! Professors explain the content in a easy way!

por Cameron D

Mar 09, 2019

Great course, provided a nice introduction to discrete modelling

por Julien E

Aug 23, 2018

Excellent course ! Great programming assignments using Minizinc

por Cristina P

Feb 18, 2018

Really engaging. Also challenging assignments for weeks 3 and 4

por CHRISTIAN H

Dec 05, 2019

It has amazing knowledge, and both instructors are funny.

por Jiayi W (

Jan 13, 2020

Got some hand-on experience with constraint programming.

por Gilles L

Aug 31, 2017

Really interesting course with challenging assignment!

por Carlos A

Nov 16, 2017

Different teaching way and really interesting course

por Daniel V

Jan 27, 2018

Wonderful. It changes the way of solving problems.

por jquaranta

Jun 12, 2020

Very informative and interesting. I recommend it.

por Munasinghe A B J R

Feb 18, 2020

Great course with an interesting story line

por valon

Aug 16, 2020

it really made me ready for the next step