Chevron Left
Voltar para Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization da instituição Universidade de Melbourne

4.8
estrelas
318 classificações
83 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Optimization is a common form of decision making, and is ubiquitous in our society. Its applications range from solving Sudoku puzzles to arranging seating in a wedding banquet. The same technology can schedule planes and their crews, coordinate the production of steel, and organize the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Good decisions in manpower and material resources management also allow corporations to improve profit by millions of dollars. Similar problems also underpin much of our daily lives and are part of determining daily delivery routes for packages, making school timetables, and delivering power to our homes. Despite their fundamental importance, all of these problems are a nightmare to solve using traditional undergraduate computer science methods. This course is intended for students interested in tackling all facets of optimization applications. You will learn an entirely new way to think about solving these challenging problems by stating the problem in a state-of-the-art high level modeling language, and letting library constraint solving software do the rest. This will allow you to unlock the power of industrial solving technologies, which have been perfected over decades by hundreds of PhD researchers. With access to this advanced technology, problems that are considered inconceivable to solve before will suddenly become easy. Watch the course promotional video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hc3cBvtrem0&t=8s...

Melhores avaliações

BO

Jul 27, 2019

Thank you so much for the course. I had to fight my coding habits, programming CP models is quite different from the traditional programming I'm, and it could even be more fun!

HA

Sep 02, 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 79 Avaliações para o Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

por Munasinghe A B J R

Feb 18, 2020

Great course with an interesting story line

por valon

Aug 16, 2020

it really made me ready for the next step

por Andrew S

Aug 11, 2020

Awesome, exactly what I was looking for!

por Justin F

Jun 17, 2018

Challenging, but easy enough to be fair.

por Michael F

Jan 02, 2018

Fantastic course -- highly recommended!

por claude c

Aug 19, 2017

Nothing but great!

por Girish B

Sep 29, 2019

Excellent course!

por Ajit C B

May 21, 2018

excellent course!

por Chen H

Jan 14, 2018

Good perparation!

por jerome

Oct 29, 2017

Interesting & fun

por Rmn A

Jun 24, 2020

Very good course

por Dominik T

Feb 17, 2018

Terrific course

por Martin J

Feb 22, 2020

so very good

por Johan F M G

Aug 03, 2020

I loved

por Olivier M

May 17, 2020

Awesome

por breezef

Sep 29, 2019

上手有点难h

por Kenny T

Feb 15, 2017

C

por Paul T

Apr 11, 2020

MiniZinc is an extraordinarily useful tool, and I definitely feel I learned a great deal here that will be hugely useful in countless situations in the future. I'm also definitely moving on to the next course in Advanced Modeling ASAP. And while I found most of the general concepts fairly straightforward (I've solved most of these sorts of problems before in Excel Solver in some form or another), I was also frustrated by large gaps between the content taught in each section and the workshops at the end of that section (things I learned in each set of videos were often totally irrelevant to the later workshops and assignments), unnecessarily vague variable names (such as lower-case 'l' which looks just like the number '1' and is used in several examples), lack of downloadable example files to support the various videos, a fairly obtuse help system in MiniZinc itself that makes looking up keywords fairly difficult, sudden jumps in difficulty between the sections, too much time spent on topics irrelevant to the course (such as formatting of "output" statements, which takes the whole second half of the video for the week 4 workshop), and lots of little discrepancies between the PDF files for the various workshops and assignments and the actual workshops and assignments. This is a good course but would be a stellar one with a bit more polish to the MiniZinc help system, more polished examples, a better learning curve, and downloadable MiniZinc samples to accompany each video (really, just providing the MiniZinc files that are shown in the videos, along with a bit of reasonable sample data, would help a lot here).

por Kittiphon P

Jun 25, 2018

The stories and examples used in the course are great and creative. I would like to thank both professors and all TAs for creating wonderful online course and for their hard work. However, some programming assignments are too tedious with too much constraints, like PA 3.

por GUILLAUME P

Feb 17, 2020

Super interesting. Would be nice to have corrections of the assignment too but overall, super fun.

The pdf description are sometimes unclea (constraints are sometimes put in the data description.)

por Shambo R C

May 29, 2019

great course for beginners and those who are looking for applications of optimisation. the only problem is it forces you to work with minizinc and may consume extra time than expected

por Michael M

Feb 24, 2019

Challenging programming assignments and helpful workshops. Good video material. Hoped to have some more real world examples, rather than just fable-based examples.

por Bhavik J

Jul 11, 2020

A classic combination of the story mode pitched in learning. I wish that the topics covered in the course were more elaborated.

por Esteban

May 06, 2017

Very interesting, but I miss some theory explaining how the optimizations work behind.